We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Rate this Hotel

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    331
    127
    46
    13
See reviews for
184
226
87
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (706)
  • Mar-May only
    (200)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (155)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (192)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (159)
All months
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed five nights in this centrally located hotel across from Nijo Castle. We were given a room with the view of Nijo (nice!) with twin beds each big enough to accommodate two very skinny people. The hotel itself was quiet, but the external traffic had a regular ambulance screeching outside our open window. We kept the window open every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I paid JPY 15,000/night for bed and breakfast stay. The location was easy to get to: either a 5 minute taxi ride or there is a free shuttle service from the train station. I've stayed in other hotels in Kyoto before but wanted to stay somewhere nicer and as this was for a special occasion, I was expecting a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location right opposite the castle. Pick up service from bullet train very good - leaves from outside McDonald's. Restaurants in hotel quite expensive as is the lobby bar. Biggest issue was BBC and cnn have Japanese voice overs which makes it impossible to hear the channels and there is no cable TV.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A few weeks ago we (my wife, my 3 year old daughter, my wife’s parents and I) visited Kyoto. Arriving at about 11:30 AM in the morning after a red eye flight from Bangkok we used the shuttle bus from the station. That is a great treat and the driver is extremely professional and very friendly. May be he is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear szplsr, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We always strive to provide great service and comfortable accommodations to all of our guests, especially our loyal IHG Rewards Club Platinum Members and we appreciate your positive comments on the services rendered by our shuttle driver. However, it seems that we were not able to... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here recently for two nights. The locations ok, but not great, but the free shuttle bus helps here. Very helpful friendly staff. Very nice clean rooms, at a fair price. Didn't try the restaurants or room service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is lovely hotel to stay at of you are visiting Kyoto. It is conveniently located immediately opposite Nijo Castle (a must place for tourists to visit), is close to the Metro station, the rooms are large and well laid out. If you want a room with a view overlooking Nijo Castle, this costs extra. The breakfast (western style buffet)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very close to a subway station, and whilst not in the centre of the tourist attractions for Kyoto, public transportation makes it easy to get around. There's also a few cafés, bars and restaurants nearby if you need an alternative to the very nice, but expensive, hotel options. Staff were super helpful, and very accommodating with our one-year old child,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

My husband and I stayed here with our 8 month old baby in late January for two nights. The staff were extremely helpful and very patient with my sometimes slow Japanese! While I think every aspect of the service was excellent, the room was rather dated and unfortunately we were provided with two single beds as opposed to a double/queen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Kate D, I appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves in and it is nice to note that you have regarded our staff to be extremely helpful and very patient. However, we regret if you found the rooms not up... More 

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Having read a few negative comments I was a little worried, but once we arrived the staff couldn't be more helpful they allowed us to change our rooms from 2 doubles and a single to 1 double 1 triple. The hotel shuttle bus is a great extra and makes life easier particularly when you arrive with luggage. Once you have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

This was the worst experience during our entire November Japanese honeymoon. The hotel is OK and the location is acceptable only due to the free shuttle bus that runs often to the train station, though I thought if I heard that song about seeing the world one more time my head was going to explode. Every screen in the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Joseph L, Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind comments intended for the staff. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay, particularly with the restaurant hours.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

291 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (258)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question