We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nissho Besso

13 Nakanocho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8083, Kyoto Prefecture
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nissho Besso
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Nissho Besso
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything we had hoped for in a Ryokan experience we found at Nissho Besso. And the bonus... it's in a central location so we could easily get to anywhere in town by walking, biking or subway. As for the Ryokan experience - the service was over the top, the breakfast was extremely traditional, our room was converted from sitting room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

I'm an Englishman who spent three days and two nights at this hotel over the course of one weekend with his girlfriend. 1. Presentation/cleanliness - Could not see a single spec of dust anywhere. Even the zen garden in the hotel was well-kept and cultivated. 2. Service - Very receptive staff who did their best to help me. They were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We spent 2 night in Nisso Besso. The stuff there can communicate with English and they serve drink when we check in to our room. Toilet and bathroom are separated. There is quite near shopping area. Walk 5 min from the hotel then there are many shopping complex and restaurants. It is quite romantic and peaceful when walk along the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Great location and it brings a real Japanese experience. You'll have a real Japanese room with on floor mattress, floor made of tatami, low table, green tea and the technological Japanese toilet (I love it). I really recommend that place if you're planning to visit Kyoto.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Part of the reason we travel to Japan year after year--besides the fact that my wife was born and raised there and that the country is endlessly fascinating and beautiful--is that without fail, the service at hotels, restaurants, shops, every kind of business, is extraordinary, easily the best in the world. We unfortunately learned that this is not always the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
goodin2013, オーナー at Nissho Besso, responded to this review

Your wife gave the note of the same contents to us by Japanese.I regret it about this staying very much.It is prevalent now to stay like the person who lives in Kyoto where remodel old Machiya in Kyoto, Japan.The plan that you stayed this time was just the thing.Because it is a purpose to stay to live in Kyoto, what... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We were visiting Kyoto 24 hours, so had been around many of the temples before we arrived at the Ryokan. It doesn't have a sign saying Nissho Bisso but I'd printed out the image of the building from google street view and I'd recommend you'd do the same! It's not near main transport links and we were travelling light so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed for one night to have a traditional Ryokan Japanese experience and was no disappointed. The staff were extremely friendly. Although English is not the first language for some of them, they tried to understand and made sure you had a great stay. The Ryokan is in a convenient location close to the markets and walking distance to some attractions.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Pros: Location - It was near the shopping district (near shijo). But it is still far from the subway and any buses. Hence it might be inconvenient when travelling with luggages. The Cons: Staff was inexperienced - On the day of check out, I wanted to leave my keys on the reception as I wanted to have my breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here with my family (kids 6 and 9) two nights during new year 2012/2013. It was our first Ryokan experience and it was a very great introduction to traditional Japanese hospitality. The friendly service was great and the language barrier didn't matter. The kids were treated extra well and loved the beautiful robes that they got dressed in. Traditional... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

i totally disagree with the earlier traveler. i actually stayed during cherry blossom time in 2010 so it was hard to find an available ryokan last minute. It was conveniently located and within walking distance of so many places (loved the manga museum). For its price, it gave the authentic experience with beautiful garden view for my room. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities