We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
52 Kasaboko-cho, Shijo-dori Aburanokoji Higashi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8494, Kyoto Prefecture
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    360
    78
    18
    9
See reviews for
166
254
117
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (789)
  • Mar-May only
    (201)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (199)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (205)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (184)
All months
Lyon, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Was disappointed by our stay at this hotel. Well rated by others i found it really average. Rooms are REALLY small even on superior ones. Superior meaning High floors (no specific interest with the view by the way). Staff had difficulty to understand us. It remains however well located and clean. But honestly for 300 us$ with no breakfast ...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It has the look & feel of a 1 star hotel. Rooms are extremely small, bathrooms are dirty (which is not normal in japan). The view consists of a grey wall (1 meter away) of the building nearby. And the rate 400 USD per night during the cherry blossom time, which is absolutely ridiculous. Staff barely speak English and are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel with strategic location. Near to subway and plenty of convenience store. Room can occupied for eigth people. Spacious and most important have cooking facilities. Staff are friendly but no WiFi in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel. Our hotel is located really good place to go around and take buses and trains. Super market is right nexxt to our hotel and convenience store is in front of our hotel. You could have used wifi in your room. If you... More 

Manila
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel only because we could not find any alternative in Kyoto during our chosen dates. No wonder: at about 25 minutes walk from the centre of the action in Gion it cannot really be defined as well located. The room itself was reasonably well sized, although with a rather small queen size bed. It had no wardrobe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love it. Stayed here for 6 days. Free Coffre and Matcha until 8pm.Staffs were friendly and helpful. Rooms were big and clean. We could buy the bus tickets from the reception. Supermarkets are nearby. Walking distance 5 minutes to the metro. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are glad to see your comment. The free coffee and Japanese tea are very popular for many people. We are happy to hear that you liked them. If you plan a trip to Kyoto, please stay here again. We are looking forward to seeing you next time. Thank you very much. Hotel... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are very disappointed with this hotel. The only positive aspect is that it is very well located for buses around the city. On the negative side it is a "factory" hotel. The room is tiny. We are staying here for seven nights and there is not enough space for our two cases. There is no cupboard for our clothes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We feel really bad that you had some problems staying here. We wish we could do much better to make your trip nicer one. As long as we can, We will try to make our service better one for our precious guests so please choose our hotel again if you are coming to Kyoto... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we checked into Mystays Kyoto we were given a much smaller room then we had booked and PAID for already. A double instead of a superior twin. When we went to the front desk to find out what happened we were lied to repeatedly and made wait for 20 minutes while the staff tried to fix the error. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are truly sorry to make your travel worse oneand wasted your precious time. We wished that we could give you the best time but that is a pretty shame since we could not do that ovbiously. We promise this is never ever going to happen to you again and will try to... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights in a superior twin room. The room was very comfortable and clean with fairly modern furnishings. Our room was a decent size, and had plenty of space for two people to store luggage and belongings. This was especially welcome after the shoe box we stayed in in Tokyo. The room was very quiet, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are very happy to see your comment. We also have have a microwave on 9th foorand vending machines on 9th and 2nd floor, so please use them whenever you need. We are glad that you satisfied with the location and transportation and enjoyed Kyoto. Our hotel is located near downtown area and... More 

Seremban, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We were there in a group of 7 and it was raining the day we arrived. Good location and the staff were friendly and helpful. Room amenities like slippers, comb and etc must be taken from the hotel lobby. Free welcome drinks provided like coffee and green tea latte at the lobby near the restroom. The room was small but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ms-kyoto-shijo, お客様担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel with such a big group! We hope that you had great time here. This is an eco-friendry hotel. It might bother you to come down to take those amenities but we do much appreciate for your understanding and cooperation. You can enjoy the welcome drinks on the floor as well. We all hope to... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

within walking distance to various train stations, which make staying here very convenient. cheap n good restaurant within walking distance too. just a few blocks away from Karasuma st, nishiki market. city bus stop is few steps away from hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ms-kyoto-shijo, 広報担当マネージャー at Hotel MyStays Kyoto Shijo, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam Thank you for staying with us and for your comment. Our hotel is located at convenient place as you mention. When you come to Kyoto again, please choose Mystays! We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you. Hotel MyStays Kyoto-Shijo Yuka Mizuike More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

211 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (187)
Viewed
Room/suite (73)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question