We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
No.10 Donghua Road | No.10, Guilin 541001, China
Hotel amenities
Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Daniel D
Add Photo

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    129
    58
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
52
47
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I went for 3 nights with 2 more friends and we do not have any complaints about this hostel. Location was perfect, near landmarks and nightlife areas. The room was clean and big enough. The service was friendly and effective. I truly recommend this hotel!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrive to Guilin Ming palace very late, however the women behind the counter tried very hard to get us on a tour for the next day and even came up to our room to confirm this wasn't possible And gave impartial advice about tours. The room was really nice, big with a telly and a huge bed and window.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MingPalaceHostel, Owner at Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. It’s good to know you enjoy your stay in our hostel and love our room. Our check out time is before NOON, but considering you arrived our hostel very late and we still had some rooms available in that day, we would like to let you have a good rest. Before 1:30pm we went to your... More 

Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good location in a quiet neighborhood but close to city center. the staff is very helpful, rooms are very clean and comfortable And i really don't like this stupid 200 characters rule since I have nothing to add.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Great staff that helped me plan my trips and gave great advice. The hostel has tour options (sadly wasn't able to take them because of the rain), but still good! Pretty good location about ten minute walk from the pedestrian street and easy access to the bus system. Maybe 30 minutes walk to the pagodas (not far). Right by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MingPalaceHostel, Manager at Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback! We really enjoy hearing back from our guests. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are always willing to help our guests and housekeepers clean the rooms on a daily basis and pay close attention to cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you again! More 

Jonkoping, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

One of the best hostels I ever stayed in. Awesome staff that give you information and help you with everything. You can use the washing machine for free, the room was clean and nice, location is good and they arrange trips to the rice terraces. Nothing at all to complain about. So stay at Guilin Ming Palace and you will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MingPalaceHostel, Manager at Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review. We’re glad you enjoyed your time in Ming Place and your stay with us. We offer an excellent value in a great location and we always welcome every guest to come and help everything we can.We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Shanghai Region, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Me and my friends stayed in Guilin for a night before going to Yanshuo and this place was a great choice. The staff was super friendly and helpful. In addition the hostel is in a very good location in Guilin.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MingPalaceHostel, Manager at Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We’re glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We offer an excellent value in a very convenient location. Our staff is trained to be as friendly and helpful as possible. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Xi'an, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

our two night stay was wonderful, we were in a twin room with bathroom, clean very tidy and great value. Staff were welcoming and friendly and speak brilliant English. We were happy with location and all services offered here from food, tours and advice. Would highly recommend this hostel for your stay in Guilin.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

During my trip around China, this was the first time I stayed at a hostel that made me feel like home! Angela, Jelly and Tina (the hostel staff) invited me to have a local dinner when I arrived and the next day we climbed a mountain where I saw how beautiful is Guilin from the top! Betty (the bar attendant)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

The friendliest staff I've met in China! They really go out of their way to help you. Our room was quite small, but clean and modoern. The location is really good, only 5 minutes walk from the main pedestrian street and close to sights. Nice lounge with good food too. I would highly reccomend this hostel to anyone staying in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

The staff are so friendly! I had a small medical problem, and they took me to the hospital and translated for me. It took almost an hour but they didn't mind at all. The rooms are fine, a bit old but totally OK. Cosy bar with decent food. Hostel is within walking distance of all major sights. Definitely recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay