We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Moiki Reki Emb., 62/2-9, St. Petersburg 191000, Russia
Hotel amenities
Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Rhodene K
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
47
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

5+ hostel - best hostel I've stayed in by far! Helpful friendly staff - super clean rooms, bathrooms and shared area - comfy bed - central location close to city centre 😀 Got treated to homemade apple pie on my first day - additional bonus is the availability of very good coffee

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joensuu, Finland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed there 4 nights with classmates and it definitely felt like a home! Very lovely atmosphere and hostel stuff were super friendly as well :) I can warmly recommend this hostel and I would definitely come back to this hostel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brilliant, thoughtfully designed hostel. It's probably the best i've stayed in. From the moment you walk in it is chic, cool, designer, relaxed, comfortable, functional and just too cool for school! Staff were very helpful, giving you the tour, providing a free map with all the hotspots for sights, food, cafe's and bars. An organised trip to a Soviet Arcade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thought through all the way, in pretty sure i wont be satisfied at any other hiotel ever again. The rooms are amazing and they have everything here. The athmosphere is great and i hope to have some great days here. Just perfect. Very rustic and cozy, and nice staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Soul Kitchen is easily the best hostel in all of Russia! The hosts are very helpful and friendly. The kitchen and common room are huge and fully equipped - all kinds of food, crockery, entertainment systems and books are available. Ideal place to interact with hostellers from other countries!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I agree with everything that has already been said here about the hostel. It truly is a wonderful place - everything about it has been carefully planned, designed and executed. Experienced travellers will definitely appreciate this place the most as it somehow ties the best parts of hostels all over Europe into one amazing bundle. Everything that ever made it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
West Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

...but it is well deserved and accurate. We had a private room with en suite. The room is small, but offered a great view of the canal. The layout of this hostel is perfect. The main 'gathering' room was wonderful for getting to know other travelers and swapping stories. I would echo this for the kitchen. We arrived LATE (I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

I am submitting the first poor review for Soup Kitchen, thus would like to start by establishing some credibility. I've been backpacking through Europe for about 5 months now, staying almost exclusively in hostels - 31 countries, 86 cities. My style of travel has been to plan as I go and have minimal bookings for utmost flexibility. It has worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sergey53, Owner at Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are terribly sorry for your bad experience, it’s totally our fault you didn’t know that we don’t accept walk-ins at night. Thank you for your feedback, we’ve just updated the policy of the hostel on our website so that the guests will be informed about that since now on. We take front door security very seriously, that’s... More 

Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

What can I say... You need to stay there at any cost if you're planning to visit saint Petersburg. This is definitely the best guest house in the world... I still can not believe how great was our stay there. If I had to live in this city I would not rent an apartment, I would just stay with them.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Wonderful hostel, with friendly staff, right in the center. I stayed for only one night in the 5-bed room, my friends stayed for more, and we really liked everything. The guys at the reception are really nice and helpful. There is a kitchen were they prepare some waffles in the morning and you can drink tea or coffee or prepare... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (16)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question