We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capital Hostel

Hotel website
Malaya Ordynka St., 5/6, bld. 2-3, Moscow 119017, Russia
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Capital Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

I specified I wanted a window when I booked, but did not have any when I arrived and there was no way to change it. The staff was kind of OK, but the female owner was more than cold and worst was her extremely arrogant French husband who dared to make some rather disagreeable and provocative politic comments out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sacha M
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Located quite conveniently near Tetrakovskaya Station, in walking distance of Red Square and many other sights. Fine facilities. HOWEVER, all the reception staff (we met three) were rude and off putting, with none of the understanding and chirpy attitude usually found in hostels. They were very inflexible when they found out we made a booking error online, making us pay... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank polarbowler
innabuge, Manager at Capital Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! I'm really sorry you had an unpleasant stay. The regulations you faced were due to the fact that we are a small hostel and can not afford to have too many clients on the spot when they are not supposed to have checked in yet (for the comfort of other clients, especially in summer). When it comes to the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The place is a little hard to find at once but once you found it, it is very easy to remember. The location is fantastic. not only is it very central but the area has many bars and restaurant and is pretty lively. 2 metro lines and amazingly close as well. The price is definitely great for Moscow. I stayed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LoumaB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Do never stay at this hostel! You will have to share the bathroom with a big amount of strange people, everything is very dirty, people at the reception are quite arrogant and the room doesnt even have a single window! I would have change my room at the same moment I arrived there! I asked for a towel and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ivantxu09
innabuge, Manager at Capital Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your comment! Our site, just like Booking.com or other channels perfectly indicates that we have all types of rooms, private as well as dormitories. As in any Hostel (and not Hotel), you share your space with other guests only if you choose to do so. However, it is always good to receive any comments in order... More 

Italy
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Starting from the positive aspect of this accommodation: it's in a very good location and well signposted. When I checked in, I specified to the female owner about the possibility of staying only one night. She showed me the hostel, she sounded ok, but she was not able to give me proper information about Moscow (easy questions about public transport... More 

Helpful?
Thank inabigcountry
innabuge, Manager at Capital Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you fro your comments. I'm sorry to hear that your stay ended up on this unpleasant incident. It was necessary last summer as we are a small business and can not afford to keep the luggage of everyone. However, we made some space and changed the regulation so you can of course drop your luggage before the time... More 

Riyadh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

As they advertise in their website, it is more like a guesthouse than a hostel. The hostel is not crowded like typical hostel, so it is good for you who need a good rest after wandering Moscow. The location is excellent, only 2 minutes walk to metro station. You can take the metro to the red square, or just walk... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Seveight
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Presnensky
Novotel Moscow City
Novotel Moscow City
#33 of 272 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Zamoskvorechye
108 Minutes Hostel
108 Minutes Hostel
#41 of 1,149 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Zamoskvorechye
3 Penguins Hostel on Pyatnitskaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Patriarch Ponds
Gindza Hostel
Gindza Hostel
#61 of 1,149 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Apple Hostel
#39 of 1,149 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Art Space Hostel
#118 of 1,149 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Zamoskvorechye

Neighborhood Profile
Zamoskvorechye
It wouldn’t be a mistake to call Pyatnitskaya street the main axis of this neighborhood – turn one direction and you’ll find the Tretyakov Gallery in Lavrushinsky Lane, turn another – a hip Scandinavian restaurant. Old churches now embrace contemporary life with style and grace. Going to Zamoskvorechye is like visiting during the times when it was a medieval Russian quarter, but with a modern twist of 20th century buildings pushing themselves into the 21st century with new businesses opening weekly. Stroll down Pyatnitskaya to taste dozens of global cuisines – from Ukrainian and Georgian to Thai and American.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay