We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capital Hostel

Hotel website
Malaya Ordynka St., 5/6, bld. 2-3, Moscow 119017, Russia
Capital Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #245 of 841 Specialty Lodging in Moscow
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014
LoumaB Paris, France
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
5
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I specified I wanted a window when I booked, but did not have any when I arrived and there was no way to change it. The staff was kind of OK, but the female owner was more than cold and worst was her extremely arrogant French husband who dared to make some rather disagreeable and provocative politic comments out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Located quite conveniently near Tetrakovskaya Station, in walking distance of Red Square and many other sights. Fine facilities. HOWEVER, all the reception staff (we met three) were rude and off putting, with none of the understanding and chirpy attitude usually found in hostels. They were very inflexible when they found out we made a booking error online, making us pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
innabuge, Manager at Capital Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! I'm really sorry you had an unpleasant stay. The regulations you faced were due to the fact that we are a small hostel and can not afford to have too many clients on the spot when they are not supposed to have checked in yet (for the comfort of other clients, especially in summer). When it comes to the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The place is a little hard to find at once but once you found it, it is very easy to remember. The location is fantastic. not only is it very central but the area has many bars and restaurant and is pretty lively. 2 metro lines and amazingly close as well. The price is definitely great for Moscow. I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Do never stay at this hostel! You will have to share the bathroom with a big amount of strange people, everything is very dirty, people at the reception are quite arrogant and the room doesnt even have a single window! I would have change my room at the same moment I arrived there! I asked for a towel and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
innabuge, Manager at Capital Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your comment! Our site, just like Booking.com or other channels perfectly indicates that we have all types of rooms, private as well as dormitories. As in any Hostel (and not Hotel), you share your space with other guests only if you choose to do so. However, it is always good to receive any comments in order... More 

Italy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Starting from the positive aspect of this accommodation: it's in a very good location and well signposted. When I checked in, I specified to the female owner about the possibility of staying only one night. She showed me the hostel, she sounded ok, but she was not able to give me proper information about Moscow (easy questions about public transport... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
innabuge, Manager at Capital Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you fro your comments. I'm sorry to hear that your stay ended up on this unpleasant incident. It was necessary last summer as we are a small business and can not afford to keep the luggage of everyone. However, we made some space and changed the regulation so you can of course drop your luggage before the time... More 

Riyadh
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

As they advertise in their website, it is more like a guesthouse than a hostel. The hostel is not crowded like typical hostel, so it is good for you who need a good rest after wandering Moscow. The location is excellent, only 2 minutes walk to metro station. You can take the metro to the red square, or just walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay