We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jais Aben Resort

North Coast Road | Riwo Village, Madang 511, Papua New Guinea
Jais Aben Resort
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
2
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

If it wasn't for the beach, the stay would have been terrible. After re confirming our booking for the amount of guests, they gave away our room. The solution offered was 'sleep on the floor'. Wow! The service is terrible and slow. No staff have any training in hospitality and no sense of urgency. The restaurant was out of just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jais A, Manager at Jais Aben Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, although we respectfully beg to differ. This booking involved an extension of stay which does not match with this poor review. Additionally, our kitchen is run by a professional chef and it is a rare occasion indeed when we are out of a single item, never mind the excess referred to. We make every effort... More 

Madang, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Nice place to get away from it all, briefly. We took a weekend out and went with a large group (11 of us) to Jais Aben for Saturday-Sunday. All in the group from the local Madang area. The resort is a little way out of town so it feels a bit like you're going on a journey. The staff is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Traveled with family of 6. Rooms were filthy, cockroaches, bathroom so black with grime and mould that we didn't use the shower. Dangerous entry to our cabin, but others looked better. Thin sheets and towels that were not really clean, terrible conditioner noise and one that didn't work in my son's cabin. I would not stay here again. Small pool,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers are raving about these Madang hotels

Cairns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed a few times with international groups, always looking forward to relaxing at this beautiful resort overlooking the lagoon and nearby islands. Especially peaceful after travelling from the Highlands. On the weekends the resort bar is especially popular with local families enjoying Sunday afternoon with music and fun. Atmosphere of the South Seas for everyone to enjoy. Friendly staff, good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jais A, Public Relations Manager at Jais Aben Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time with your comments, and we are grateful that you appreciated what we have to offer. More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The resort is nice enough considering the location in PNG. It's a ways away from the main town which means not much to do for activities if you're not in the water, but also that it's relaxing and quiet. Staff work hard to ensure your needs are met, rooms are cool (good AC) and clean. A small tablet of soap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lae, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

ITS A LOVELY QUIET AND PEACEFUL RESORT FOR RELAXING ON A HOLIDAY... I've spent my holees there and it was just fun as i thought it would be with friends around and the things for your kids to love... its just soo lovely with the most beautiful clear glass sea that you could see every spieces in the sea. It's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just spent 5 days at this beautiful resort - What a amazing place the whole family enjoy the stay from the snorkeling & kyaking to the friendly staff to the host Jerry. The rooms are fantastic with veiws of the ocean when you get up in the morning. The Bridge Bar is the place to hang out in during the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I spent Christmas at a birthday party in Jais Aben Resort. It was packed with a great band as a backdrop to this unique landscape. The Manager couldn't do enough for us. The staff were great, as always. I'm a frequent visitor to this last bastion of real life. Such a perfect spot to relax far from the madding crowd.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Five amazing friends, decided to spend Christmas together, away from the busy working centre of Lae. After a bumpy five hour drive, we arrived at the scenic Jais Aben. One couple decided to go to their room and found trouble upon opening their door, as their key didn't work (door wouldn't lock, even after receiving help with a master key).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jais A, Manager at Jais Aben Resort, responded to this review

This review is based not so much on the resort and service, but on a personal matter involving the guest and management. Unfortunately, Trip Advisor does allow personal slurs against individuals even thought their policy indicates otherwise. We apologize, dear public, that you are exposed to this, and encourage you to read all reviews. More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here, but on the Sunday morning of Father's Day when the fans at our flat in Madang town suddenly stopped due to a power outage we knew *exactly* where we were going to be spending the day. Jais Aben! We staked out a table in the outdoor bar by the beach and enjoyed swimming in the pristine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madang
0.0 mi away
Madang Resort Hotel
Madang Resort Hotel
#2 of 6 in Madang
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#1 of 6 in Madang
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coastwatchers Hotel
Coastwatchers Hotel
#5 of 6 in Madang
3.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madang Lodge
Madang Lodge
#3 of 6 in Madang
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tawali Resort
Tawali Resort
#1 of 2 in Alotau
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Gardens Hotel
Pacific Gardens Hotel
#1 of 2 in Goroka
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top