We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 San Blas Islands accommodations

Yandup Island Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yandup Island Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Playon Chico | Kuna Yala, 0838, Panama
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Yandup Island Lodge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Blas Islands
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    52
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
59
125
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First an admission. I'm really interested in indigenous American cultures. I have wanted to visit Kuna Yala for some time and I finally had the opportunity to visit with my two late teen sons in August 2014. I would go if we had to sleep on a boat or in a hammock strung up in a local store. All things... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is fantastic. It's real paradisiac and savage even supposed to be an uncivilized land . It's also very easy to get there if you take the plane to playon chico with air panama . But as you get there you Could feel like trapped in a desert land and people of the staff are not used to Have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PrYa08, Owner at Yandup Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are sad you didn't enjoy our lodge and we apologize for any inconvenience. We are truly surprised about receiving a bad service and the perception that our staff is only looking to earn more money, as one of our most frequent positive comments is on the great... More

Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband, our three year old, and I really enjoyed our four nights at the lodge. The lodge is very rustic and removed from the modern world, which is part of the appeal. We enjoyed the opportunity to be far from the hustle and bustle of the cities and normal tourist-industrial complex. The morning trip to the snorkeling beach was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nipomo, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We booked two nights at the Yandup Lodge after reading the glowing reviews and were not disappointed. If you are planning on visiting San Blas, this is the place to go! Disclaimers though that this is not an exclusive lounge around beach resort with a party nightlife. Yandup is an experience for those who want to disconnect and experience some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We just returned from 3 days at Yandup. Originally, we had planned on 2 days there, but it was so wonderful we extended our stay - and would have stayed on longer if we could have done so but my husband had to return to our home in California. The flight from Albrook Airport, Panama City's domestic terminal, leaves very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We just returned from Yandup. One of the worst Lodges we ever stayed in our lives. We are European, world travelers. The reviews totally misled us . We were not seeking for any sophistication or modern coms , but given all the reviews and the price, we were expecting a comfortable room with a decent / clean bathroom area. Curtains... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PrYa08, Owner at Yandup Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are really sorry to learn about a bad experience at our lodge, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience. There’s no excuse if you found dirty rooms, however, it is important to be aware that due to the conditions and distance of the location there are some things that are very hard to manage, for example... More

LONDON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Yandop island Lodge for 2 nights last March. The location is secluded therefore very quiet and the island is very tiny and has a very small white sand beach. I would recommend for a short stay only if you are looking for some relaxing time, reading, swimming etc. The lodges are reasonably comfortable but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PrYa08, Owner at Yandup Island Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking a time to review the lodge as it helps us get better. We want to address some of the issues brought up. You are absolutely right about how hard is getting produce to the island. Since most of Kuna agriculture is for family use only, we need to send everything from Panama by plane... More

Hackensack, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband, 9 year old daughter and I just came back from a 4 night stay. What a wonderful experience. The area is beautiful, though the trip there on a tiny plane was a little scary. We stayed in an overwater cabin with the waves crashing under us. The room was fine for the amount of time we spent there.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had an amazing 2 night stay in Yandup Lodge. This is definitely the type of place to go if you want to turn off the cell phones, get away from it all, and fall asleep with the sound of waves. Do not expect luxurious rooms, nice bathrooms, and tvs because that is not what the Kuna Islands are about.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were assisted by Panama Unlimited in narrowing our choice as where to stay in San Blas, and they highly recommended Yandup. We came as a family of 3, as well as with my in-laws. We had a wonderful time, and are very glad we chose Yandup. If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Yandup Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Yandup Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yandup Island Lodge

Address: Playon Chico | Kuna Yala, 0838, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Guna Yala Region > San Blas Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yandup Island Lodge 3*
Also Known As:
Yandup Island Hotel San Blas Islands

464 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (460)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (35)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (234)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)