We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Farallon hotels

Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca

4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 118 Panamerican Highway | Rio Hato, PA, Farallon, Panama (Formerly Royalton Panama Luxury Resort)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
51%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Farallon
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (385)
  • Photos (414)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (89)
  • More
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    129
    99
    43
    42
See reviews for
108
154
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just 1 hour away without traffic from Bridge of the Americas in Panama City and lots of green landmark to see, well kept installations with great customer service, 5 restaurants to enjoy, all included breakfast, lunch and dinner are awesome, lots of types of food and flavors to choose from, 3 bars and night disco at premisses, full equipped gymnasium,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, it wasn't easy to plan the wedding. Though I got extremely lucky to work with Alexandra, she was excellent. There is always going to be hiccups along the way. The hotel was beautiful. Food was awesome!!! Not having to cook for several days is a holiday for some people. The only reason I didn't give a five star, is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is good but this is what I have found: 1. Mosquitoes and flies 2. No water for 9 hours on Sunday 3. Wait on line for 35 minutes for bar beach food 4. Only 3 hotel employee can speak English 5. 13 hours of travelling with no major meals except salted pizza. 6, Sunwing flight has no ice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Panama City, Panama
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

El día que llegamos no había agua en las habitaciones. En la comida no hay variedad como en otros hoteles. Tuvimos que hacer fila para entrar al buffet ya que no estaba habilitado otro restaurante, no sabias lo que estabas comiendo, sin toallas limpias. No lo recomiendo. (When we arrived we noticed there was no water to flush or take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I say this because at Farallon you have at least 6 options of hotel-resorts. We picked this one basically to get acquianted, and although the rooms were superior to others in the area, the dining experience was bad. The menus were not good and the food lacked the quality you expected for what you paid, save for the Italian restaurant.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I checked the Playa Blanca Resort first, the Riu, but this one is the one that mostly met my expectations. Forget the other Decaneron-like all-inclusive hotels which look and feel more like your summer camp. This one is superior. Even without a reservation they got me a room (because I was going to the Playa Blanca in the first place.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rossetty R, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a great review. It is always important to learn about our guest's experiences, and it makes us feel extremely glad the fact that you had a great time with us. It will be an honor to host your conference, and we are looking forward to having you as our guest once again. Best Regards... More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

OK people... I was at this resort with family the last week of April, after two 2 days we had to move over to RIU. There was no power in the room, no AC and the food was horrible. The buffet was a single line with no real choice... you can eat this or you don't. I wish I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rossetty R, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry to learn you had an unpleasant experience at our facilities. Unfortunately, as you mentioned, there has been a regional power outage that also burnt our emergency electricity generators, leaving the hotel in a very extreme situation. We constantly try our level best to satisfy our guests, but sometimes it is out of our control. Nevertheless, we... More

Pennsylvania Furnace, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed at the Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca Panama February 11-16, 2014 for my wedding. I am not very picky so for me to have complaints they are real complaints. There is a bathroom near the pool and the entire 5 days I was there, there was no toilet paper, paper towels or soap. When asked to please replace I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

If you previously enjoyed your vacation time in Mexico, Cancun, Jamaica or Aruba do not expect much from this resort. Yes, their accomodations are very nice. It used to be a timeshare resort and suites with balconies, kitchen (useless space) are attractive and pleasant to stay in, if you have electricity and cold water. On a second day of our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rossetty R, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Our guest´s opinion is always important to us, and it helps us improve our overall service. I am sorry to learn that your experience has not been up to your standards. As you very well mentioned, our staff is being trained, and some of them might not feel comfortable yet, giving you a... More

toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

First we were undecided between this resort and the RIU right next door. And all I can say is we are sooooooooo HAPPY we chose this resort! It was FABULOUS in every way! The reason we chose this resort over the RIU is this resort provided full grown trees, shades, more cabanas, bigger pools and more of a warmer atmosphere.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rossetty R, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca, responded to this review

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a review. It fills us with pride to know that you had such a wonderful experience with us!! I feel in need to let you know that we have been providing our staff English lessons for the past 3 months in order to improve... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca

Address: Km 118 Panamerican Highway | Rio Hato, PA, Farallon, Panama (Formerly Royalton Panama Luxury Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Farallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton Panama Luxury Hotel Farallon
Wyndham Grand Playa Blanca Panama/Farallon

414 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (371)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (84)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (73)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment you step into the spacious and elegant lobby of the Royalton Panama Beach Resort, the simplistic, modern design of the furnishings, combined with the extensive use of beautiful wood accents, sets a tone of understated excellence for your stay. The resort welcomes you and immediately begins to restore and enrich your senses. All five senses will respond to the beauty and serenity. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
230

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer