We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel

Calle C Sur y Avenida Sexta Oeste | San Mateo, David, Panama
Hotel amenities
The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015
yup66 Minneapolis, Minnesota
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    24
    12
    4
See reviews for
4
28
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Vaasa, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ok hostel to stay over night. The room was very small and there were some ants in the room even on the bed. Very nice and helpful staff. Nice garden to stay. Breakfast was included in the price, you got a fruit, porridge and coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We are never quite sure why a person chooses to get online to complain about a situation that they didn’t mention when they were physically here, particularly when it’s regarding an inconvenience that would have been easy to remedy, had we been made aware of the problem. In a tropical climate, ants, (and other creepy crawlies), are unavoidable - even... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Let me be blunt: the location isn't great but the staff, kitchen, and facilities are. It's a bit of a walk to the bus terminal but from there you can get to amazing spots all over the region. We cooked up amazing meals in the well-supplied kitchen, enjoyed ICE and POTABLE WATER - luxuries in Central America and I'm still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

The purple house overall is a very cute PURPLE. House.... We stay thee 7 days and met fantastik people the atmosfere was just spoiled by the ower who dont allowed drinking music parting( be happy in general...u will find note and post it everywhere and overall u feel u r in the army, apart for a very cuddling( no and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

This review is almost laughable, it's so obviously false. First of all, anybody who has even spent 5 minutes in the Purple House knows that Cute-si is the star attraction and constant belly-rubs and affection are required activities with her. Prevent a guest from petting her? Poppycock! We also have no limitations as far as partying and music goes. Our... More 

colorado springs, colorado, usa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We spent 2 nights at the Purple House in David enroute to Boca Brava. The room was clean and the staff working there was wonderful. However, one of the reasons we were stopping there was to get laundry done before heading to Boca Brava. Although they advertise that its possible to do this, we ended up using a private party... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

How strange that for your entire two day stay you didn't realize that we offer several different options to do laundry. We have informational signs posted in several areas. Hand-washing is completely free, 1 load washed and dried with the solar dryer (aka , the sun :) ) is $3.00, and 1 load washed and dried with our gas dryer... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

Andrea the owner is such a nice and helpful person. I got there in the middle of the night and the place was almost booked up but according to the staff , my "sad eyes" earned me the emergency bed available only for lonely girls looking for stayina place to stay at night. Not because of that big favor I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Luis, It was great having you here also. I think that the volunteer working here thought that you had very "handsome" sad eyes, and that is probably why you got the "emergency" bed, lol. I can't believe it but you actually left here without your key deposit, even after we talked about it! Well, now you know why we... More 

Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I stayed a night in The Purple House on my way to Panama City and I really enjoyed my stay. The hostel is not very luxurious, but it offers clean and comfortable rooms for a low price and including a basic breakfast. The hostel is small and that brings you together with the other people staying there quite fast. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Martin, it was very nice having you here also! Good luck on your travels! More 

Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the Purple House last month while driving from Panama City to Bocas del Toro. It took a bit of driving around to find the place as our map was not very good and the street signage in Panama in general is very poor if it exists at all. We asked a few people including taxi drivers to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you here! More 

Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for our one night layover in David. The good points is that the hostel lies walking distance from grocery store and a few restaurants, it's relatively cheap and the lady who owns it is very nice and helpful with everything you need. However it could use a good remodeling… It was kinda dark and felt sort of claustrophobic,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Martine: Thank you so much for your nice comments! It's funny that you mention that we should "re-model" because the room you were in was scheduled to be painted the day after you left! It would be helpful if you could be more specific about what you meant about the kitchen. (Perhaps you could email us privately about that).... More 

Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I went there for my birthday in march. Friendly staff. Close to the city and a walk from the feria de david. We really appreciate our stay there. The hotel is a bit hot so plan to reserve an air conditioned room when you go there

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review and for spending some days with us during the Fair. As I mentioned to you, by the end of this month we will have an air-conditioned dormitory option for just a few dollars more. And we'll keep another dorm with fans for you tough guys! Merci! More 

Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed here for two nights it was a great safe place to stay, I really liked the dog, don't believe the bad reviews on here Sometimes the backpacker crowd can be very tight with their money and overly critical of added fees for extra things that may be used. You want to play ya gotta pay! I would stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks to the reviewer for his fresh perspective regarding his stay at the hostel. Thanks also for acknowledging our staff member Gustavo. He is a great guy and we are very fortunate to have him and other responsible and honest people working here. They take pride in their jobs and understand the importance of their role in making the hostel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question