We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel

Calle C Sur y Avenida Sexta Oeste | San Mateo, David, Panama
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lillooet, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you enjoy dorm rooms then my review is not for you. We don't like shared dorm rooms and sadly that was all we could get. The room we had (c) was rediculously hot. I mean like the bowels of hell hot. The bunks are rickety, noisy and covered in a terrible plastic sheet, so you sweat like someone has... More 

Helpful?
Thank wayrobinson
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Where to start? Well, first of all, we really want to thank this reviewer for honestly stating his position regarding dorm rooms. In fact, we all had a chuckle during check-in, because it was very obvious that this gentleman and his wife were not “dorm” people. But what he failed to mention is that the night they were here was... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

We were travelling with an English couple at the time we passed through here, it was a last minute stop and this seemed to suit all of our budgets. With the benefit of hindsight and after discovering that we could have gotten a bus onwards to Panama City that same night, we wouldn't have stayed there. The volunteer on site... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisNash1979
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Once more with feeling: It’s weird to respond to a review that’s been written many months after an alleged stay and with no way of identifying the specific circumstances. Nevertheless, we can’t help but wonder why someone who obviously uses TA for advice would still choose to stay with us after reading previous reviews.... More 

Travelers are raving about these David hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

The Purple House was clean and my friends and I had a good nights sleep in a private room for a good price. The location of the hostel is an advantage, 5 - 10 minutes walk from restaurants, a billiards club etc. However, I would never stay here again due the awful awkward atmosphere which the owner creates from running... More 

Helpful?
Thank TomElliott92
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

It’s weird to respond to a review that’s been written many months after an alleged stay and with no way of identifying the specific circumstances. Nevertheless, we can’t help but wonder why someone who obviously uses TA for advice would still choose to stay with us after reading previous reviews.... More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We were travelling around Panama's hostels for almost a month and had a wonderful time, that is until we got to David. Firstly, every surface of the place is purple; the utensils, the sofas, the walls. The decor was dated, and the whole place was depressing, dusty and tacky. We love dogs; however with Panama's rain and humidity, having a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank complete_chocoholic
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

This guest was disgruntled because we charged her for 4 people even though one didn't show up at the last minute. She was also angry because she couldn't take advantage of our special promotional walk-in dorm price of $9.00, since she had reserved and paid in advance via a 3rd party online reservation service. Her vengeful fabrications and false comments... More 

Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

My girlfriend and me stayed for one week in the Purple House in a private room for 23 $ per night and it was a very good experience. the hostel owner is courteous and friendly. in the hostel you can get a lot of important information about any contiguous place for travelers. The kitchen has everything you need. there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank adrian R
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review. We really enjoy it when we hear that you had a good stay. It was a pleasure meeting you and we wish you happy and safe travels. More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

I didn´t like this place very much. I was welcomed by a volunteer, who obviously does is best, but I don´t really like much hostels who instead of hiring local staff use the free labour of international travellers. I felt like once upon a time a lot of good intentions had been put in this hostel, but that neglect let... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank allardveronique
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

It’s always helpful when a person who leaves a negative review can be very specific about the circumstances of their stay so we have a context for the complaint. For example, did this guest arrive in the morning to an empty dorm and discover a dirty bathroom from the day before? Or did she arrive late in the evening into... More 

Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Ok hostel to stay over night. The room was very small and there were some ants in the room even on the bed. Very nice and helpful staff. Nice garden to stay. Breakfast was included in the price, you got a fruit, porridge and coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Marika H
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We are never quite sure why a person chooses to get online to complain about a situation that they didn’t mention when they were physically here, particularly when it’s regarding an inconvenience that would have been easy to remedy, had we been made aware of the problem. In a tropical climate, ants, (and other creepy crawlies), are unavoidable - even... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Let me be blunt: the location isn't great but the staff, kitchen, and facilities are. It's a bit of a walk to the bus terminal but from there you can get to amazing spots all over the region. We cooked up amazing meals in the well-supplied kitchen, enjoyed ICE and POTABLE WATER - luxuries in Central America and I'm still... More 

Helpful?
Thank yup66
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

The purple house overall is a very cute PURPLE. House.... We stay thee 7 days and met fantastik people the atmosfere was just spoiled by the ower who dont allowed drinking music parting( be happy in general...u will find note and post it everywhere and overall u feel u r in the army, apart for a very cuddling( no and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kanesc2000
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

This review is almost laughable, it's so obviously false. First of all, anybody who has even spent 5 minutes in the Purple House knows that Cute-si is the star attraction and constant belly-rubs and affection are required activities with her. Prevent a guest from petting her? Poppycock! We also have no limitations as far as partying and music goes. Our... More 

colorado springs, colorado, usa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We spent 2 nights at the Purple House in David enroute to Boca Brava. The room was clean and the staff working there was wonderful. However, one of the reasons we were stopping there was to get laundry done before heading to Boca Brava. Although they advertise that its possible to do this, we ended up using a private party... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lovecr_9
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

How strange that for your entire two day stay you didn't realize that we offer several different options to do laundry. We have informational signs posted in several areas. Hand-washing is completely free, 1 load washed and dried with the solar dryer (aka , the sun :) ) is $3.00, and 1 load washed and dried with our gas dryer... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these David hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
13.0 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#4 of 13 in David
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alcala
Hotel Alcala
#3 of 13 in David
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay