We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 David accommodations

The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel

Calle C Sur y Avenida Sexta Oeste | San Mateo, David, Panama
Hotel amenities
The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014
telemarkg Walnut Creek, California
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
4
25
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the Purple House last month while driving from Panama City to Bocas del Toro. It took a bit of driving around to find the place as our map was not very good and the street signage in Panama in general is very poor if it exists at all. We asked a few people including taxi drivers to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you here! More 

Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for our one night layover in David. The good points is that the hostel lies walking distance from grocery store and a few restaurants, it's relatively cheap and the lady who owns it is very nice and helpful with everything you need. However it could use a good remodeling… It was kinda dark and felt sort of claustrophobic,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Martine: Thank you so much for your nice comments! It's funny that you mention that we should "re-model" because the room you were in was scheduled to be painted the day after you left! It would be helpful if you could be more specific about what you meant about the kitchen. (Perhaps you could email us privately about that).... More 

Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I went there for my birthday in march. Friendly staff. Close to the city and a walk from the feria de david. We really appreciate our stay there. The hotel is a bit hot so plan to reserve an air conditioned room when you go there

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review and for spending some days with us during the Fair. As I mentioned to you, by the end of this month we will have an air-conditioned dormitory option for just a few dollars more. And we'll keep another dorm with fans for you tough guys! Merci! More 

Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights it was a great safe place to stay, I really liked the dog, don't believe the bad reviews on here Sometimes the backpacker crowd can be very tight with their money and overly critical of added fees for extra things that may be used. You want to play ya gotta pay! I would stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks to the reviewer for his fresh perspective regarding his stay at the hostel. Thanks also for acknowledging our staff member Gustavo. He is a great guy and we are very fortunate to have him and other responsible and honest people working here. They take pride in their jobs and understand the importance of their role in making the hostel... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I think those who enjoy a hands on owner will like the one on one attention that Andrea provides. We booked a private room with private bath and AC and the value was ok. Didn't really enjoy the fact that the room was in the kitchen, nor that the second we left our room we were hovered over. Skip it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks to the reviewer for her acknowledgement of our good value and the personalized service that we strive to provide to our guests. Before I was a Peace Corps volunteer, and before I opened The Purple House, I was a Corporate Events planner for a large investment bank in NYC. My clients were very wealthy and demanding people who were... More 

Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Okay, so the purple walls, purple sheets, purple everything in a confined closed in space was kinda weird. I guess it was okay for one night, there was a decent outside patio to chill on to escape the claustrophobic inside. The staff was friendly and helpful, there is no doubt about that. The kitchen is small for how many people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments about the staff here. We are very proud of our staff, our friendliness, and our desire to offer our guests an enjoyable and pleasant visit. One would think that anyone that takes the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, is also someone who takes the time to read TripAdvisor reviews BEFORE they make... More 

Beaverton, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was my second stay at The Purple House, and coming back felt just like it had 3 years ago. Secure parking for our motorcycles, a comfortable room (with option air conditioning), and a friendly and open atmosphere. I cannot attest to the dorms, but the private rooms (with shared bath) are spacious and comfortable. Andrea, as always, was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

It was great being able to host you again, and it's always very nice to have travelers who choose to return for the second time around, sometimes even years later. We've been fortunate to meet many people over the years, who are traveling with on motorcycles. It's a varied group, we've had people from all walks of life, all ages,... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night whilst in transit, it served it's purpose. The room was a little on the small side, as was the bathroom; you had to sit on the toilet sideways - much to our amusement (see photo)! It's very purple, somewhat a little over bearing, a bit like all the information put upon you on arrival!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Hayley: Thanks for taking the time to write a review and post a photo. Yes, it’s unfortunate that the original constructors of this building designed the bathroom in Room D that way. We don’t know what they were thinking! Over the years we have investigated several options to reconstruct it but it involves a complete demolition of that part... More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Going to the purple house feels a little bit like home. The host is very friendly and the place is very nice en close to shops and everything you need! Perfect place to relax for a few days! Also it's not so far from the bus terminal. To take a taxi is about two dollars. The rooms are nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for commenting that The Purple House feels like "home." That's what we were going for! Wishing you safe and happy travels! More 

Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

While on a cycling trip through Central and South America, we were lucky to find the the Purple House. Andrea was incredibly accommodating and let us lock our bikes up in her back shed. There is fresh coffee nearly all day and there is also 24-hour support at the front desk. It's a very well priced hostel for the area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Adam, You're exactly what WE are looking for in a guest! It's great that you enjoyed yourselves here and we are so happy that we were able to help you with the logistics and bike storage during your trip. It was a pleasure having you. Safe riding! Andrea More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel

Address: Calle C Sur y Avenida Sexta Oeste | San Mateo, David, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel Panama/David

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay