We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bambu Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Calle Virgincita | San Mateo neighborhood, David, Panama
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bambu Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bambu Hostel
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    40
    12
    10
    9
See reviews for
2
45
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a lot of fun at tgis hostel. Great location great staff and the owner is very nice . The pool is great when it is too hot in david. Lots of shade and comfy beds. I hade made another review but the last reviewer did not log out. So its under a wrong name. To bad they did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had an overnight stay on the way btw Bocas and Paama City and we're not disappointed. The owner is really friendly and the facilities are nice. However it sucks that you have to pay $5 extra to use them after check out time if having to kill times while waiting for a bus etc. The pool and kitchen are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lapkin, Manager at Bambu Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for spending a few days with us, and I'm glad that you enjoyed the laid back 'vibe'. If a guest wants to hang out here an hour or two after check out time, we won't charge you, but if you are catching the night bus to panama city we charge a 5 dollar day pass. This allows you access... More 

Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you like to be on the edge of town, this place fits the bill. Quiet neighborhood and yet only 10 mins. walk to a big supermercado and some OK places to eat. The owner Greg is very accommodating and the place is clean enough with some various amenities. Has a dipping pool and a kitchen to use. Unlike most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lapkin, Owner at Bambu Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, and I appreciate that you said, "for a hostel". I want people to know that we are not a hotel, resort, or quaint country inn. Bambu is a backpacker hostel. Sometimes folks want the fun, internet wifi, social life, and low prices of a hostel, but are not willing to accept the fact that hostels have more noise,... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I admit it took me a while to adjust to Hostel living but once accustomed to the atmosphere, this was a nice place to stay. Service was good, staff was friendly, room was clean, and guests were eclectic. I would stay here again without reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lapkin, Owner at Bambu Hostel, responded to this review

thank you!! We just had an improvement analysis done by a consultant. He detailed several ways to make Bambu even better, things I might not have noticed. So we are making those changes now in the hopes of making Bambu GREAT!!!! More 

Baden, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I booked a bed in the tree house dorm. When I arrived they mentioned the noise of rooster and neighbourhood as there are open windows. For me the noise was totally ok, actually I enjoyed to sleep in an open room. The only thing was that the beds were not that stable so when I or my bunkbed mate moved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boquete, Panama
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Bambu for 10 days. Greg (the owner) was so helpful and informative -- super nice guy and great resource. The pool and garden area is beautiful and immaculately maintained. The kitchen has all you need to prepare a meal for yourself and your new found friends. While staying there, we saw old couples, young... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lapkin, Owner at Bambu Hostel, responded to this review

We are having our best high season yet. The "vibe" has been wonderful. Thank you for being part of it! More 

New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

we enjoyed this hostel and David we ended up staying a little longer than we expected. The hostel has a nice pool, decent little bar, ping pong table and hammocks. The kitchen is well equipped and is big enough to support a few people cooking at the same time (8 gas burners) They also have a BBQ pit if your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lapkin, Owner at Bambu Hostel, responded to this review

What a great year its been!! As I write this guests are swimming in the pool, cooking together in our outdoor kitchen, and watching the cool animals in the garden with cold drinks. Some folks just took the bus up to the canyon swimming. Life is great, and thank YOU for being part of it!!! More 

Granada Department, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Hostel Bambú is a very welcoming place in David, the staff is very friendly. I stayed in the airconditioned 3-bed dorm, which has a good value and is very silent - as long as you do not bump your head on the bunk bed above you :) The great downside is the toilet situation. Please correct me if i am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lapkin, Owner at Bambu Hostel, responded to this review

We have 3 toilets and 2 showers for 13 people. Another 6 bed dorm has its own bathroom. We are in the high season now so the hostel is often very busy, and we do are best to keep up with the cleaning. The cleaning staff first cleans the toilets and showers at 700am and again at 200pm Perhaps the... More 

Randers, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Stayed here with a couple of friends over new years and it was a blast. ( A/C dorms ) Not only was the NYE party a great come together but the atmosphere both before and after really lent itself to recharging your batteries and planning your activities in and around David/Chiriqui. Greg the owner and his cool staff are very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is an alright place if you need somewhere to stay. Pretty clean, friendly staff, but disorganized. If you stay in the dorm, there is a rooster literally outside the window on the property next door. It "crows" all hours of the night, and heavily around 4-6am. You will not sleep. It's not a terrible place, but if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lapkin, Owner at Bambu Hostel, responded to this review

this is why we offer lots of options. The jungle house dorm where the reviewer slept is dirt cheap at $11 dollars a person. It is a charming bamboo forest house on stilts, great for budget backpackers. complete with the sounds of the outdoors, roosters, and other animals. We explain this to everyone who stays there, so you know upfront... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question