We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Colon hotels

Melia Panama Canal

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Antigua Escuelas De Las Americas | Lake Gatun, Colon, Panama
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Melia Panama Canal to your Saves list
Melia Panama Canal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
49%
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Colon
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
ChantalB4 Orlando, Florida
  • Overview
  • Reviews (202)
  • Photos (233)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (18)
  • More
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    59
    38
    30
    39
See reviews for
58
58
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When visiting Colon, before shopping i stop at the Melia for a breakfast. ..I think it's the best in town a variety of everything you can think of not the ordinary continental breakfast...they have a cook on site who makes your own signature omelette an array of different sausages, cold cuts, cheese's pastry's , bread, tropical and exotic fruits, yogurt,all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MeliaPanamaCanal, Director General at Melia Panama Canal, responded to this review

Dear Chantal B, Thanks for your kind comments about our breakfast. Honestly you make an interesting and detailed description. It's a pity you didn't book your room among us, even probably you could score about us higher. But after having a breakfast I'm sure next time you won't miss the chance to discover our treasure in the middle of the... More

Malibu, California
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
46 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Check-in with a large group. Front desk clerk greeted us promptly and with a smile and checked-in 44 people as quickly as she could. Her name is Tanisha and she did a terrific job! Staff throughout property were smiling, polite and wanted to make the stay pleasant. I was greeted every time i passed someone. The staff get excellent reviews.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MeliaPanamaCanal, Director General at Melia Panama Canal, responded to this review

Dear SanMo, First of all I'd like to thank you for chosing us for your holidays. Your comments about our staff in general, and our receptionist Tanisha in special, are really appreciated and will be given to all of them. Our hotel is in a big updating, and if you could be so kind to send me an email to... More

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a great place to unwind. The hotel is exceptional. The staff is exceptional. The rooms are spotless and so are the grounds. The pool is amazing. If you are looking for a very quiet place to spend some time I highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeliaPanamaCanal, Director General at Melia Panama Canal, responded to this review

Dear Jlg07, Thanks for your kind review concerning to your experience among us. Specially thanks for chosing us. On behalf of the entire staff I'd appreciate your comments and I agree with you about this special and magical place to unwind, due to our facilities and landscapes. Kind regards Alberto Jerez General Manager Meliá Panamá Canal More

Panama, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Awful!! I got there after 4 pm. At the check in time the reservarion agent told me rhat rhe disco had been closed for almost 8 years!! I asked about that at the time of thereservation and was told that they would have a band. That never happened. Second, when I went up to the room and open the qater... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MeliaPanamaCanal, Director General at Melia Panama Canal, responded to this review

Dear Sorhay, I'd like to thanks for your comments which we respect and consider as others really helpful. Nevertheless I'd like to explain several points: First, it's not undestable that any travel agent informed you about we'd open any disco, when it's not open since many time. On the other side we didn't receive any comment about brown water. So... More

Puttershoek, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

we had a very pleasant 2 nite stay, good service, very nice pool, only negative is that the hotel is a little quiet. we donot understand the negative reviews, we didnot experience any of it. the hotel is close to the gatun locks, portobello is another nice half day trip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MeliaPanamaCanal, Director General at Melia Panama Canal, responded to this review

Dear Henk001, Thanks for your kind review. It's an honour you've stayed among us and chosen us for your holidays. We're considering your comments concerning as a quiet hotel, despite being located in an absolutely amazing area for relax and enjoy about eco-activites (such as canopy, kayac, boat trip round Gatun Lake, etc) or visit cities as Portobello, San Lorenzo,... More

Akron, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I don't know where to begin...when my husband and I first arrived at Melia with our birding group, we were very impressed. Knowing the building's interesting history as the School of Americas was exciting and our first impression was positive. We pulled up in front of the hotel and were very pleased with the opulent appeal and friendly greeting from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MeliaPanamaCanal, Director General at Melia Panama Canal, responded to this review

Dear Jitterbugjamey52, Thanks for your comments concerning to your experience among us. After reading with interest your review I'm so ashamed about all those incidents and I apologize for not being able to give you an appropiate service as we usual make under Meliá's standards. In fact I urgently had an interview with my assistants and responsibles in detailed departments.... More

Reston, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We flew from Virginia and stayed 2 nights at Melia seeking quiet and relaxation from the hectic Carnaval activities in Panama City. We are familiar with the Melia brand from our trips to Europe. My wife and I are seasoned travelers and have been to the Melia Panama Canal many times over the years. The hotel is truly a unique... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MeliaPanamaCanal, Director General at Melia Panama Canal, responded to this review

Dear JosephM, Thanks for your kind comments...just one point. I wish I stayed here since 9 months, but it's only since January. Anyway, I agree with you about beautiness for the lake, gardens, pools, etc. But JosephM, be sure we're keep working to improve and update rest of areas. Our best reward is knowing about feedback from our guests are... More

Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

As did another reviewer here, I stayed a night with a Road Scholar tour. I wish we could have stayed longer as I liked everything about this hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the interior is lovely. My room was large and comfortable, overlooking the garden and swimming pool. The buffets - dinner, breakfast, lunch - provided a variety of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeliaPanamaCanal, Director General at Melia Panama Canal, responded to this review

Dear Billfromguelp, Thanks for your kind comments. It's a pity you've only just one night in our hotel. At last, you could enjoyed about our sightseeings, buffet, garden and the mistic ambience! Your comments about our staff will motivate them for sure. So I'll let them know. Please don't hesitate to contact us in your next visit to Panamá.... Definitely,... More

Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel is located in the former Escuela de las Americas, where the military groups from Central and South America were trained in the "anti comunist" tactics, torture and contra insurgency... So their ghosts are around in the hotel...the building is nice, the views of Gatun Lake are beautiful, is far from Colon and not easy to reach. No restaurants... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeliaPanamaCanal, Director General at Melia Panama Canal, responded to this review

Dear Mxmale, Thanks for your comments and specially thanks for trust us for spend your holidays among us. Certainly, this building was before the well known as "Escuela de Las Américas", but believe us...there's no reminiscence or any ghost between it walls. I agree with you according the hotel still need to be update, and this is pur main focus... More

long island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from honeymoon trip. Don't believe all the negative reviews! The hotel is really beautiful and spotless. The pool complex is amazing. The hotel upgraded us to an executive room at no additional charge. We had a corner room with wonderful views of the lake. The only negative is the wait staff and bartenders don't speak much English so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MeliaPanamaCanal, Director General at Melia Panama Canal, responded to this review

Dear Litravelguy, Thanks for your kind comments and specially conratulations for your Honeymoon. We're so glad your experience among us was so satisfied. About your tip concerning to english level I agree with you and that's the reason because we'd started several english courses to asist them and improve their level. I hope next time you'd visit us you'd check... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Melia Panama Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Melia Panama Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Panama Canal

Address: Antigua Escuelas De Las Americas | Lake Gatun, Colon, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Colon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Panama Canal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Melia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Melia Panama Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Panama Canal Hotel Colon
Melia Hotel Panama Canal
Melia Hotel Colon
Melia Panama Canal Colon

233 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (93)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On a peninsula in the Gatun Lake, surrounded by marvellous tropical vegetation. Just 8 minutes from the city of Colón and its free trade zone, center of Panama's economical growth. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
285

See which rooms travelers prefer