We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve

PO Box 296, Sur 411, Oman
Hotel amenities
Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 4 Sur B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
geologist74 King's Cliffe, United Kingdom
Share an Experience

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    71
    46
    14
    6
See reviews for
75
75
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (195)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (60)
All months
King's Cliffe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

During our visit to Oman we stayed one night at the Science Centre in the hope that we would see turtles. Our accommodation was one of the Eco Tents. These have air conditioning, an in built loo / shower and also a TV. Buffet type meals (good quality) are provided in the dining room. We were very fortunate to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and made your holiday a truly memorable one. It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another... More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had two lovely days here. Room spotless and adequate. Food good value and actually excellent. Staff were delightful and went out of their way to be helpful. The information centre is good and gives an overview of the protection and preservation of the green turtle. The early morning and late evening excursions were superb! What a priviledge to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. We were thrilled to know that you were extremely comfortable with the product and service we have offer, and were contented with the personalized service standards extended by our dedicated team. Thank you once again for your compliments... More 

Yorkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Rated as 4 star by travel agent, actually has a plaque in reception showing 1 star-interesting!! Room is large and clean with a TV, Just remember you are here to see the turtles not holiday in luxury. We slept very well, we did have freak weather for a few days of our trip and the wind sounds were very loud... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and made your holiday a truly memorable one. It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night in the tents. They were fantastic! Wish we had of stayed longer! The tents had all the amenities you need, and we're quite luxurious. Remember first and foremost this is a scientific research centre not a hotel, the building isn't fancy (I wouldn't expect it to be but clearly some people do!!) The buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your compliments on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. We were thrilled to know that you were extremely comfortable with the product and service we have offer, and were contented with the personalized service standards extended by our dedicated team. Thank you once again for your compliments... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an amazing place, we recommend to sleep in the tent! We saw turtles during an evening and morning guided excursions. Very professional and informative. This is the only place to stay in the area! Very clean, great food, very helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and made your holiday a truly memorable one. It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another... More 

Reading, Berkshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is all about the turtles when you stay here. The hotel is not really hotel, more like university accommodation. The rooms are a reasonable size, but with a tiny long window that makes it feel prison-like. None of the rooms face the beach, which I assume may be to stop light affecting the turtles, but the hotel is such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us & we apologize for the same. It sounds as if your expectations were not met. Since this a Turtle Reserve, we have few limitations keeping in mind the guidelines of a nature’s reserve. The design of this building was... More 

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Turtle Reserve for one night in a room in the main building. The room was clean but basic. Water, tea and coffee were provided but the room wasn't really a place you would want to spend much time. A very narrow window meant there was little natural light and the transmission of sound around the building... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us & we apologize for the same. It sounds as if your expectations were not met. Since this a Turtle Reserve, we have few limitations keeping in mind the guidelines of a nature’s reserve. The design of this building was... More 

London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This is a review of accommodation - not Turtle experience - see elsewhere for that Positives: Only place to stay if you want to see the Turtles Evening meal will be a buffet - but if you enjoy curries and fish or pasta you will have a fine meal - very good curries in particular. Excellent large wardrobes. Free water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your constructive review for Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve, and also for your precious time giving your feedback. I am terribly disappointed to know that your stay was not to your satisfaction and that we could not come up to your expectations. We take our guest’s feedback seriously and act on... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I have visited the Ras Al Jinz beach to see the turtles 3 times and the last time we stayed in the reserve and not at the Rass Al Hadd resort. I will surely recommend this to avoid the drive - even if only about 30 minutes - especially for the very early morning tour. I have had the luck... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

The hotel on site offers rooms in its main building or tent rooms up the hill overlooking the beach. Rooms come with bed, breakfast, free museum and tour of the turtles nesting. If you want a picture, you must go at the 5 am tour. Dinner was buffet and nice, breakfast also buffet was good. We chose a tent cabin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your compliments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and made your holiday a truly memorable one. It would be great having you back with us for a longer time to give you another... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question