We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Sur B&Bs / inns

Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve

PO Box 296, Sur 411, Oman
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve to your Saves list
Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
58%
Ranked #1 of 5 Sur B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Ajay B Muscat, Oman
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
38
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stay in Oman and had guests from India early this month, tried these exotic tent stay at the Ras-Al-Jinz turtle beach resort. This was truly a lifetime experience for us staying in these comfortable tents which gives entirely different feeling. I suggest travellers to choose this place for family stay and enjoy comfortable, relaxed environment supported by excellent customer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vijay H, General Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! Thank you very much for your feedback posted on this website. Please visit us again. Best Regards, Vijay Handa General Manager More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a weekend stay, as group of 2 families including one child, got ourselves an eco family and an eco standard tent accomodation. The tents were luxurious, to say the least, with all modern amenities like attached bathroom & toilets with hot & cold running water, AC, LCD tv, intercom, mini-fridge with facilities to sit outside on the deck... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! Thank you very much for your feedback posted on this website. Please visit us again. Best Regards, Vijay Handa Genaral Manager More

Zurich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

- The scientific center tries to be a bit of a hotel but does not have the facilities and the knowhow to live up to the expectations (youth hostel quality) - Wifi did not work - canteen food was ok but the room was ugly and the lights in there weird - nice museum at the center, worth going there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! Thank you very much for your feedback posted on this website. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during you stay with us. At Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet up with your expectations. Upon... More

sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent a night here against our travel agent's advice. She was right! The building is unwelcoming, the staff no better, the food is poor, the dining room has been designed so one can't see the view, and there is nowhere comfortable to sit. We stayed in a large tent (the only one with a view, it seemed) which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! Thank you very much for your feedback posted on this website. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during you stay with us. At Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet up with your expectations. Upon... More

Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a great experience with the Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve. We arrived as dinner was finishing up and they kept the cafeteria open a bit late for us so we could eat something. Additionally, there was one less person with us than we originally planned for, so they switched us to a smaller eco-tent and charged us less. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! Thank you very much for your feedback posted on this website. Please visit us again. Best Regards, Vijay Handa Genaral Manager More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked this location because of the turtle excursions that are organized here. It's exactly what we expected of a visitor centre: simple, clean, standard but fine rooms, nothing special and not bad at all. Breakfast is included in the price. Dinner buffet is okay but quite expensive. There is a small shop and a turtle exposition (free for guests).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! Thank you very much for your feedback posted on this website. Please do visit again. Best Regards, Vijay Handa Genaral Manager More

Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I visited the centre this week (9th January) which is the low season for turtles so wasn't sure what to expect. On arrival they tried to charge me 20 OMR more than Booking.com had guaranteed and I had to log on to the only public computer (no WiFi) to prove what I had been quoted. The rooms are basic. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

It is low season and there were no turtles at either viewing. We are very tired and disappointed. They do not allow guests to go to the beach by themselves before 5:30 am. Rooms are fine and clean. Only complaints are the paper thin walls and lack of natural light. Would not recommend stay during low season

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The accommodation here is either in the building (Carapace Rooms) or in so-called luxury tents a windy and dark walk away. Our room was of a high standard with 2 chairs (!), a TV which worked, and a good-sized bathroom. But the window was like a slit, afforded no view of the area or the sea and made the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! Thank you very much for your feedback posted on this website. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during you stay with us. At Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet up with your expectations. Upon... More

Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed in one of the eco friendly tents which was very well maintained. Staying here helps in going for the night guided tour to the beach to watch turtles making their nests and laying eggs. The museum attached to this is worth visiting. The restaurant variety is below average and expensive. Not much vegetarian options. Better to carry some food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vijay H, Manager at Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Greetings from Ras Al Jinz Turtle Reserve! Thank you very much for your feedback posted on this website. Please do visit again. Best Regards, Vijay Handa Genaral Manager More

Been to Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve

Also Known As:
Ras Al-Jinz Turtle Reserve Hotel
Ras Al-Jinz Turtle Reserve Hotel Sur
Ras Al-Jinz Turtle Reserve Oman/Sur
Address: PO Box 296, Sur 411, Oman
Location: Oman > Ash-Sharqiyah Governorate > Sur
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ras al-Jinz Turtle Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.