We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

Hotel Presidential

Hotel website
Aba Port Harcourt Express Road, Port Harcourt 5141, Nigeria
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Presidential
Professional photos View all
Hotel Presidential
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
2
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Port Harcourt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I stayed in july 2014, the hotel has luxury instalations, lobby, etc, but the rooms are disgustin, the sheets has stains of blood, you could feel the dust in the sheets, the Tv was very basic, from 1980. The worst thing, the water to wash your hands was competly brown. So I culdnt take a bath. Worst experience ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Province of Naples, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

It’s now twenty years that I come to Port Harcourt for job, and I have frequently been to the Presidential Hotel either for sleeping or, very often, just to take a visit and enjoying good atmosphere. I have read several mixed reports about this hotel, but honestly I could not understand why. My experiences here have always been positive: swimming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsHP, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Giovanni, Greetings from Hotel Presidential! Thank you for your review and for the positive feedback that you have shared. As a matter of fact we might be a little bit more expensive than other hotels as we are the oldest and biggest hotel in Port Harcourt having 241 rooms and 53 suites in addition to several recreational areas... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Premise: Hotels in Nigeria, especially in Port Harcourt and lagos are very very expensive. This Hotel is supposed to be one of the best two/three Hotel in Port harcourt. The structure is very very old and would need a complete refurbishment. The service of the personelle is very poor.. the rooms inside are old and would need, as everyhting, a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This is one of port harcourt's biggest and oldest hotels. Its old but still meets standards. Its neat, large parking lot, easily accissible and I like it a lot. I love the life bands in the evenings and d serene pool side also the karaoke. The buffet here on sundays is something else, I wouldn't miss it come this sunday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anambra State, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

It was an awesome experience to be here, quality service, good sightseeing and the food was very good, internet service was excellent, room service and reception was very impressive. The pool, the lounge, the environment is serene.It is a good place to be though with high budget but it is worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review

Dear sir, We thank you for your review of our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we will be really honored to receiving you again in the future. More 

Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was in this hotel last 04 june 2014. It is big and several rooms are inside. I got room in first floor. The A/C was working fine, the bathroom had a good shower and good sink. Some tiles was down. WIFI in the room is not good and it does not work always. Food is good, specially on friday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review

Dear sir, We thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We assure you that the gym is part of our renovation plan. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards. More 

CHICAGO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. I made a reservation over the phone and when I checked in the front desk argued that I never called the hotel, after some back and forth they 'found' the reservation. The room was old and smelly. The bathroom looked like something from the 70s (the toilet had some parts that were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review

Dear sir, We thank you for your review. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed at the Presidential for 5 days on completion of business in Port Harcourt. Although the hotel is advertised as 5 star it is far from it. Some parts have been renovated and look fine at first glance, but this simply makes the rest of the hotel look worse. The staff were mostly rude and unhelpful, with the Rivers restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I had the unfortunate luck to stay in this hotel. On checking in the service was terrible, the credit card machine would not work and they demanded cash in local currency. I asked about their exchange rate and was given day light robbery rates. I went and sourced a cash machine and returned with local currency. The rooms are poorly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review

Dear sir, We thank you for your review and we regret that you didn't like the hotel. However i would like to mention to you that if there was a problem with the credit card machine, I'm sure it was a network problem or probably a bank communication problem. We don't control the GSM network that is used for communication... More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

First time at this hotel and Nigeria. Found that the hotel had an old world charm about it! Room was fine, A/C worked well but power would go on and off sporadically! Great shower in room. Internet is free and worked well. Food in Chinese restaurant was fantastic! Give it a try if you stay here. Found service to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel-Presidential, Manager at Hotel Presidential, responded to this review

Dear sir, We thank you for your review. Best regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question