We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riad Bab Essaouira

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
35 biss derb Abderahman Eddakhil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Special Offer
ESSAOUIRA COOLEST DEAL
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Bab Essaouira
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Riad Bab Essaouira
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    4
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
39
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our one night stay at Riad Bab Essaouria was great. Hassan was extremely kind to pick us up from the Supratour bus station, which is a short walk away from the medina, which the riad is conveniently located. The staff were extremely friendly, the breakfast was delicious, the room was clean, and they have an extraordinary patio with a view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Misleading information about the rooms . Loft apartment means room in stairwell . Can't fault the manager and the cook . Dark and depressing African art . Approach to the riad was gloomy but we expect that . Normally you open the door of the street into a bright new world . Sorry disappointed and not good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Bab Essaouira, responded to this review

Hi to the reviewer and thanks for the post in any case even.it is a very pessimist view.. (indee!) of our riad and even if we don't agree at all with the comments here. I will not try to demonstrate what is the reality or not but would just say that at the opposite a huge majority of guests did... More 

Ostrava, Czech Republic
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Riad is located in small tiny street but just a few step from centre of medina. Room was comfortable and enough space. We were satisfied with hospitality of Hassan who gives a lot of advice and information about Essaouira. We enjoyed our relax time on the roof of riad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

After a luxury sojourn in riad dar najat in Marrakech, and a big root trip via Ouarzazate, Mehmid, Taliouine, we were really happy to recover luxury, in bab essaouira, we weren't homesick, it was the same atmosphere... (same owner than in marrakech with same nice decoration). Our children were really happy to recover good breakfast, with unique marrocan fresh orange... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Great location in the middle of the medina, step out into the market stalls and the bustling streets but set back down a side street so a lovely quiet nights sleep. Only 5 minutes walk from the square and the fishing port and less than 10 mins from the beach. Loads of space - each room-suite is a floor of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Once again I have stayed at Bab Essaouira....I like it because it's very conveniently situated for the shops and restaurants and a short walk from the main square and harbour. I was lucky enough to be able to stay at the top of the Riad...it's a lovely area with complete privacy...and has it's own small terrace for sun bathing. Hassan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014 via mobile

Although entering this Riad may not be for the squeamish traveller, a tiny dark alleyway is not for everyone, once you enter the dim incense scented beauty of the tiny Riad you will feel the craziness of the Medina slip away. Hassan is a wonderful gentle host and makes sure you have everything you need. Although to be honest I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Very friendly manager, Hassan, but privacy may be an issue for some guests. It's a little unnerving to hear others whispering in bed or brushing their teeth. The windows open onto a tiny courtyard well and bathrooms and private seating areas are screened only with curtains. Wi-Fi during our visit was rather unreliable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Bab Essaouira, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your kind post especially the part dedicated to the team! I would just say.. that in any riads, you might encounter some "raisonnance" and can hear sometimes.. or the medina or some people in.. which should not be annoying too much dear friend! Regarding the Wifi, the reviewer is right and the problem is fixed. Cheers,Oliver&Hassan. More 

Kingscliff
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The alley the Riad is in smells like a toilet! The owners are very welcoming but it was a bit claustrophobic. After my shower I had to get into the bedroom to dry off as I could not do this in the bathroom (really just a toilet with a tiny shower attached). The only ventilation was with a window onto... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Bab Essaouira, responded to this review

Hi and first thanks for your review. To answer.. the guest is pretty right as there was a huge problem of water in all Essaouira at the period of his stay. Means.. no pression in all the city for four days which explains the problem. sorry about it! Even if not the guilty ones.. we understand. the problem is solved... More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at this Riad and were extremely impressed by the hospitality of the hosts. Hassan was very accommodating and let us stay late into the afternoon on the day of our journey back. When you book make sure you ask for directions though, as it is almost impossible to find independently as there is no sigh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay