We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sands Suites Resort & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Wolmar, (Renovated in 2014), Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90516 (Formerly The Sands Resort)
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Panoramas (11)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Thank you to all the staff from the management team right through to the maintenance teams who were always polite professional and approachable for making our stay so perfect. If you are thinking of spending time here. Do ! You won't regret it. There are larger resorts (complexes) in the area. Thwy are also quite stunning. But if you're looking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete H
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel in a beautiful position. Nice room. Plenty of sunbeds. Provides lots of free facilities such as snorkelling, glass bottom boat trips, dolphin viewing, kayaks, cycling, guided walk etc. The staff were particularly helpful and friendly. Only disappointment was the food and the price of drinks.

Helpful?
1 Thank brijan17
SandsResortMauritius, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear brijan17, Thank you for the time you took to review us on TripAdvisor for the benefit of our future visitors. I would be very grateful if you elaborated for me the feedback about the food. My email address is gm@sands.mu. While we all wish to have you back at Sands please accept my best regards. Salvatore Puma General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Hi everyone, If you're looking to travel to Mauritius, then look no further because the Sands Suite, Resort & Spa in F&F, Wolmar is the most amazing resort I have ever visited! Starting from the amazing drive from the airport, you're given a taste of the tropics and nature of Mauritius. Upon arrival to the hotel, the gated resort asks... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Wassim D
SandsResortMauritius, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Wassim D, thank you for the entertaining review and the number of pictures shared. I am amazed! Thank you for praising all the team. We are all very dedicated. Thank you also for mentioning about our accommodating attitude particularly when it comes to food. We cater for a variety of nationalities and it can happen that certain preparations might... More 

Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We've recently experienced 9 days of complete relaxation at the Sands. Impecable view, extremely friendly staff, great variety of delicious food and highly comfortable rooms. On arrival, we were welcomed at the Tamarin terace for the check in ( not on a boring indoor reception desk), with a cold lemonade spiced up by a great view of the ocean and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cristian D
SandsResortMauritius, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cristian D, thank you for your exciting review. We were lucky to have the suite available before your arrival and still after your departure. For us it was a pleasure to prepare it. We wish we could do the same for all our guests but often the high occupancy of the resort requires us to stick to the check-in... More 

Flic En Flac
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Maybe we are spoiled - we do travel a lot ( and stay in 4*- 7* Hotels ) ..... To Sands Suites review : Our special thanks goes to food & beverage management and staff for all the work they did ( and do ) to make maximum ( from medium ) ! We returned to this lovely place in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate S
SandsResortMauritius, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kate S, It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for your feedback. Regarding the level of the music played by the band, your husband shared with me the same the night of the Lunar New Year celebrations not too long before the beginning of the traditional Lion Dance. You deluxe suite in Albion Wing... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautifuly located with fabulous views and calm swimable seas (wear swim shoes; sea urchins the size of footballs on rocks, and coral). A clean, quiet hotel with friendy staff - nothing is too much trouble if you ask. Couples massage recommend.... to ease you into the pace....relax; then please get out and explore the island. Trips taken via Summertimes, very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently stayed here for 8 nights and it exceeded expectations in almost every aspect. From start till the end, we had a perfect stay! Our room was comfortable, very beautiful, spacious & clean, and the view just amazing. Excellent breakfast and dinner with plenty of options (the banana tart was our favorite dessert). A lot of free water activities,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isabela D
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This resort is a bargain for the price. Probably the best service we received in Mauritius. Suites are lovely and there is a very good buffet breakfast. It is a little far from anything though so expect to have to take a taxi. Wish we could have stayed here longer, would definitely recommend this resort for anyone travelling to Mauritius.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cbg100
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from 10 days at The Sands. Everything was great except the food. It simply cannot compare with La Pirogue where we went 2014 and 15. They seem to be cutting costs. It was regular to come back to the table from the buffet and find ones dirty plates had not been removed. Spoke to the Food... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 261visitor
SandsResortMauritius, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 261visitor, I wanted to thank you for having taken the time to post a review following your stay. I am glad to read that you have appreciated the resort in general. On the other hand I regret to hear that you found the food not to be at par with the rest of the experience. Regarding the service at... More 

Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes, this is truly an amazing place. We were blown away by the view when entering the reception area. A warm welcome, a drink and hot towel in the bar when checking in was just great after 20 hours travel. The location is in the end of Flic-en-flac beach, quiet and nice. The hotel itself is great, our room was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ISj
SandsResortMauritius, General Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear ISj, thank you very much for your review. I am sure that TripAdvisor users will find useful tips while we have the opportunity to understand where we missed. In your case I regret to hear that, although the food was excellent, we missed on something on both the king prawn and the lobster dinners. I shared your review with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,270 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2009)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (620)
Viewed
Dining (139)
Viewed
Room/suite (161)
Viewed
View from room (128)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (285)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (634)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (226)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (58)
Viewed
Outdoor Jacuzzi (6)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
10.4 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 13 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 stars 2,950 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 stars 1,608 reviews
28.5 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4.5 of 5 stars 3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
26.9 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay