We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ariva Gateway Kuching

No 9 Jalan Bukit Mata, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Somerset Gateway Kuching)
Hotel amenities
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Kuching
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015
NNur89 Malaysia
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    102
    53
    23
    12
See reviews for
67
23
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (211)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

With a young family, we thought that we would book in to a reasonably priced hotel after reading the reviews but we're very disappointed. We've stayed at many hotels, apartments & self-catering places round the world & this was one of the worst! Also, I was born in Kuching but left overseas at 18 & have been back quite a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Went here last year September but still fresh in my mind. Booked on apartment with 2bedroom for family stay is worth paying. Pool is on the rooftop and have very amazing view. Suitable for Family and definitely will coming again here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review

Greetings NNur89 Thank you for taking your time to share your experience following your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us at the Ariva Gateway Kuching. Best regards Mildred Stephen More 

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

This hotel is alright for the price, but it also leaves a lot to be desired. The good points about Ariva is that it's close to the airport (15 mins drive), has a lot of shops and bars down the street and is quite isolated from the hustle and bustle of Kuching town. On the flip side, and this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review

Warmest Greetings Mikeshuga Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay with us. We would like to extend our regrets & hope that this will not give you a negative impact on our service delivery. We understand that no amount of apologies can change the poor impression you had on our hotel. We can... More 

SJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

This accommodation is great value for money. However please bear with the old fittings and poor upkeep of the rooms. A 2 bedrooms unit is great for families because it's equipped with a kitchenette, dining and living areas. Breakfast was included in the room rate, however serving choices are lacking. Location wise is good, because it is right in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review

Greetings 69travel Warm Greetings from Ariva Gateway Kuching Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your comments regarding your stay with us in the Trip Advisor, We would like to thank you for your compliment. We thank you once again for your valuable feedback, as we believe the communication with our guest plays an important role in our effort... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We were initially given a tiny two bedroom, one bathroom grimy, run-down dingy flat on the 8th floor with no washing machine and deafening air conditioning. We were told on check-in it was an upgrade - we couldn't imagine what from!? The following day we complained and were moved to a huge 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom apartment on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ArivaGateway, Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review

Greetings halcyondays007 May I take this opportunity to personally thank you for your comment in this trip advisor. The specific matters that you have pointed out have been discussed with each department head concerned to ensure that every guest will have a pleasant stay with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apology for any inconveniences that may have... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights with 2 kids and got a 2 bedroom apartment. It was spacious and reasonably modern with a full kitchen plus washing machine and dryer. The apartment was clean, apart from some ants. Breakfast was basic but we're used to this after staying around Malaysia. The pool was clean and we used it on a few occasions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review

Greetings Ecstewar Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us after your recent stay at the Ariva Serviced Residences Gateway Kuching Needless to say, it is always gratifying to receive such a positive response and to know our people took good care of you .It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team... More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

From the stench in the lobby, to the decaying surrounds of the fetid swimming pool, this place is just absolutely awful. Both the common parts and the rooms were filthy, the facilities badly decayed, and the breakfast was both disgusting and bizarre. Upon arrival we had to ask for a pillow to be changed as the pillowcase had a bloodstain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review

Greetings guest Many thanks for taking your time and sharing your experience following your stay at Ariva Gateway Kuching Please accept our sincere apologies for the short coming that you have experienced. We consider all guests’ comments - positive and negative to be an integral part of our ongoing efforts to improve our product and services. All matters raised are... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. We had a rental car & the hotel is a convenient location for getting in & out of town with the car. However while the hotel website says onsite parking is provided, 3 different receptionists were very vague about where or if any parking was provided - fortunately some parking spaces available nearby which we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review

Greetings rachpin99 I would like to thank you for your feedback. I have shared your valuable comment and reviewed the shortfall with the Department Head concerned so that we can continue to provide an uncomplicated service for our guest. I appreciate you bringing this matter and please accept my sincere apologies for the short coming. Your continuous support is highly... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We stayed in the Premium 2-Bedroom Apartment, and it's suits well for our family. You getting a washing machine with a dryer, full kitchen equipment and large living room that you could put another 2 extra beds in it. The rooms itself both are large and comfy, we had 1 King size bed and another room with 2 single beds.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review

Greetings GlobeTrekkie007 Thank you for taking time to post your review following your stay in Ariva Gateway Kuching. We are glad you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. We sincerely thank you for your kind compliments on our facilities and services. Your review and information about our facilities provided in the apartment will be a great help... More 

Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Stayed in 2 bedrooms deluxe apartment with complimentary wi-fi and breakfast included. Spacious, clean apartment and value for money accommodation for groups. Located not far and within walking distance to shopping complexes, eateries and major tourist attractions along Kuching riverside. Breakast was just OK and satisfactory for the price that we paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ArivaGateway, General Manager at Ariva Gateway Kuching, responded to this review

Greetings HengFuNg, Penang Thank you for taking time to post your review following your recent stay in Ariva Gateway Kuching. It is indeed a pleasure to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. Your review is informative and will be a great help to our viewers. We sincerely hope to have you and your friends with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 47 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#5 of 47 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 47 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
3.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#6 of 47 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay