We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg | Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Review This Hotel

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    49
    38
    15
    15
See reviews for
41
27
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Kuching, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good business class hotel with classy designed. Recommended for travel agents & business travelers. It has the best Italian Restaurant in town equipped with wooden oven which and will ensure authenticity of Italian Foods to be served to the guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No free WiFi in the hotel. Better to go to the near Starbucks where to have coffee and free connection. Rooms are old and the bathroom is not very clean. We got a room for 2 nights. I have asked to be advised at 9am about any possible arrangement for 2 extra nights. The only person able to take the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay at the Hotel. We also thank you in appreciation of your time in writing down the unpleasant incident which you’ve encountered and was brought to the management attention. We regret that we were not able to offer you two more nights due to the... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I spent 3 nights in the family suite here. Upon arrival, the entrance and lobby are quite impressive. Unfortunately the room itself doesn't have the standard.The carpet looks old and dirty. The wall papers are falling off. One of the power points in the master bedroom is broken, exposing the wires (luckily we don't have any lil kids). The doors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We empathize with the points you mentioned in your review, especially on the room conditions and breakfast issue. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcomes of your experience on this occasion, we do extend it with all sincerity. We will address the issues with the concerned... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

The hotel is not bad but impressive either. The ambiance exudes a nostalgic pre-independence feel. The room is not very spacious and a little too old for my liking. The positive is, there is a new shopping mall a stone throw away. Not very convenient to most landmarks, albeit still within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We hope your stay was a pleasant one. Regarding your concerns, we have various room categories and sizes available. Also, we will have something new coming up in near future. Your input and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Was here on a business trip in mid 2014. Never in mind would I expect a hotel of such standards in small town Kuching. The colonial setup of the place gives the impression of a grand palace, which definitely is. Privacy is assured and service is top notch. Definitely on par with all the 5-star global brands. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and providing us with a positive rating. We are glad that you are happy with your stay. Your praises will be extended to the relevant department for the great job they had done to make your experience a pleasant one. Your input, and the feedback from all of... More 

Sarawak, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

i was expecting equal for what star she has...i was request drinking water..what i got reply h/keeping.. "sorry sir out of stock"..poor selection of tv channel as well, not to mentioned poor display quality..the best think i guess...VA just a foot away..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We were disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcomes of your experience on this occasion, we do extend it with all sincerity. We empathize with the points you mentioned in your review, especially issues with... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I spent 4 days 3 nights at Kuching Merdeka Palace. The staffs are friendly and the breakfast is satisfactory. We had a 2 bedroom apartment and it accommodates the 4 of us. It is essential to have data plan in overseas as you do not know when it will become helpful! I spent RM21 on a DIGI card bought in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and providing us with a positive rating. We are glad that you are happy with your stay. The tips provided are certainly helpful for potential guests. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to... More 

Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

The services and facilities available makes good choice for seminars and business meetings. Plus, the hotel is situated within walking distance to some of the best attractions Kuching has to offer: shopping at Plaza Merdeka, India Street and Main Bazaar, dining al-fresco and sunset view at the waterfront, museums and historical places and buildings. Highly recommended as business and leisure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and providing us with a positive rating. We are glad that you are happy with your stay. The tips provided are certainly helpful for potential guests. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to... More 

Kuching
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Hi.. i was at Merdeka Palace Hotel and Suites for a company seminar. So far i love the view from my room (facing the Padang Merdeka). The room was nice, no bad smell. Found extra pillow in the closet as the provided was not enough for me. The breakfast buffet was ok, both two days are same selection, very local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and providing us with a positive rating. We are glad that the seminar that you attended went well and you are happy with the services provided. The tips provided are certainly helpful for potential guests. Your praises will be extended to the relevant department for the great job... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Ramadhan Buffet Dinner With family and extended families. Dine twice during that fasting month. My comment about food : * Wide variety of local Sarawakian dishes - Laksa Sarawak, Roti Canai, Rojak just to name a few... * Beverages - lots of choices too - from hot drinks to cold drinks. * Really loves the pizza and pasta as i'm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and providing us with a positive rating. We are glad that you enjoyed the Ramadhan Buffet Dinner. This will certainly help in our planning for next year and pay more attention towards the canopy area to ensure it is not that hot. Your praises will be extended to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question