We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

3.5 of 5 Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg | Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    44
    35
    14
    14
See reviews for
37
25
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Thumb up for this hotel's services and location. Located centrally at Kuching Town and it was easy to get anywhere from the hotel. It may be one of the best hotel experiences I have had. Will stay there again for the next trip. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and providing us with a positive rating. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your praises will be extended to the relevant department for the great job they had done to make your stay a pleasant one. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests... More

Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

stayed 4 nights and the hotel needs updating. Upgrade room to deluxe from superior as upper rooms are much better and cheap to upgrade. Most disappointing is the pool area, loungers broken, no shade, not kept and generally not someplace to spend time. Location good for kuching town. Staff at reception desk not very efficient and generally not sure what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We empathize with the points you mentioned in your review, especially the poor pool area conditions and the inefficiency of our reception staff. We had removed the broken lounger. This level of service is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed with the concerned department. We were disappointed... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

room was big and facing a big padang. staff service was excellent at front entrance and breakfast room breakfast was mainly local but with quite a few choices. fee wifi through out stay. near shopping mall. will come back again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We are glad that you enjoy the stay. We will extend your praises to the front office team. This will definitely motivate... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a wonderful experience being in this hotel. A very beautiful and luxurious hotel to stay in. My kids enjoyed a lot stay in this hotel. Especially ground floor and reception area was really wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay and we are thrilled to know that you kids are enjoying it as well.... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and while comments say this appears a tiresome hotel we actually found this hotel pleasant. We stayed in the family suite comprising of 2 bedrooms each with an ensuite along with a lounge & kitchen and another toilet which was perfect for 4 guys who need room. The pool although small did the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay and positive feedback on the restaurant. We would like to thank you... More

London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

I as really tentative about staying here as I read all the negative reviews about the room condition and bad wifi, etc. However, my experience was completely different. I didn't make the booking, it was done on my behalf so I don't know if it was value for money or not. I noticed they have standard, superior and deluxe rooms,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We have passed along your praises to our front desk and housekeeping team. Meanwhile, the juice and cakes issues have been brought... More

Bsb
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

was staying here during my trip to Kuching with the family and I really don't like the room. First of all, the room is small and dirty and smells and the toilet is a bit run-down. We couldn't even close the door fully. Probably the only plus side of the hotel is the Wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We were disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcomes... More

Banting, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I would like to start this review with a couple of quotes from the hotels own web site: "As a 5 star business & travel hotel, we offer a plethora of services, all aimed at making your stay the most enjoyable one in the city of Kuching" and "Open the doors to any of our rooms or apartment suites and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarawak
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

At this price range, I could find a better hotel & I did. The hotel is charming & has a grand feel to it. However, it is ageing & not making any effort to catch up with the modern world. There is no wifi. The room was smaller than I expected. The small window opened towards the carpark. Wardrobe has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Checked in the 2 bedroom apartment with family.Found out there is no Wifi available.worst was the complimentary coffee and tea sachets on given 2 each.when call the front desk they told me once a day only.if need more than pay RM6 per sachet.Ridiculous price.I can buy a 12 packets of 3 in 1 coffee across the hotel.Room condition ok.Only the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Address: Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg | Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching, Sarawak

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay