We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Kuching hotels

Merdeka Palace Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg | Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Merdeka Palace Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Merdeka Palace Hotel to your Saves list
50%
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Kuching
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Steve H Christchurch, New Zealand
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    35
    13
    14
See reviews for
36
24
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and while comments say this appears a tiresome hotel we actually found this hotel pleasant. We stayed in the family suite comprising of 2 bedrooms each with an ensuite along with a lounge & kitchen and another toilet which was perfect for 4 guys who need room. The pool although small did the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay and positive feedback on the restaurant. We would like to thank you... More

London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I as really tentative about staying here as I read all the negative reviews about the room condition and bad wifi, etc. However, my experience was completely different. I didn't make the booking, it was done on my behalf so I don't know if it was value for money or not. I noticed they have standard, superior and deluxe rooms,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We have passed along your praises to our front desk and housekeeping team. Meanwhile, the juice and cakes issues have been brought... More

Bsb
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

was staying here during my trip to Kuching with the family and I really don't like the room. First of all, the room is small and dirty and smells and the toilet is a bit run-down. We couldn't even close the door fully. Probably the only plus side of the hotel is the Wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We were disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcomes... More

Banting, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I would like to start this review with a couple of quotes from the hotels own web site: "As a 5 star business & travel hotel, we offer a plethora of services, all aimed at making your stay the most enjoyable one in the city of Kuching" and "Open the doors to any of our rooms or apartment suites and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarawak
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

At this price range, I could find a better hotel & I did. The hotel is charming & has a grand feel to it. However, it is ageing & not making any effort to catch up with the modern world. There is no wifi. The room was smaller than I expected. The small window opened towards the carpark. Wardrobe has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Checked in the 2 bedroom apartment with family.Found out there is no Wifi available.worst was the complimentary coffee and tea sachets on given 2 each.when call the front desk they told me once a day only.if need more than pay RM6 per sachet.Ridiculous price.I can buy a 12 packets of 3 in 1 coffee across the hotel.Room condition ok.Only the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A quaint old fashioned faded colonial style hotel which has seen better days. There is a very grand foyer but the rooms, pool and other facilities need renovating. Despite this it is good place to stay the staff are lovely and very helpful. Late checkout was no problem eventually extending to 6 pm. It is much cheaper than the Hilton... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Overall, i am satisfied with the room although it is small, and the tv is an old tv,its not led or flat screen tv..but im okay for that.what dissapoint is i've been told that my room did not have any wifi connection and i need to pay for internet access. I mean hello,even budget hotel do provide free wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is in the centre of town and has a swimming pool and a gym. Better still - it has large two bedroom apartments for families at a very reasonable price. The hallway is battered and stinks of cigarettes, but the apartment is clean and spacious, with a kitchen, dining table, sitting room, two large bedrooms and three bathrooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stay 1 night with bikers group for Borneo trip, Standard room for 2 people are a bit small, but comfortable. Location in town center near shopping complex and others. Breakfast are ok with not much verity to chose, but local food just around the corner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Merdeka Palace Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Merdeka Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel

Address: Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg | Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching
Merdeka Palace Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Merdeka Palace Hotel