We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Kuching hotels

Borneo Highlands Resort

Jalan Borneo Heights | Padawan, Kuching 94200, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Borneo Highlands Resort to your Saves list
Borneo Highlands Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
56%
Ranked #29 of 45 hotels in Kuching
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014
fiorabell13 Winchester, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (94)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
16
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
johor bahru
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

they made us pay rm8 per person, we drove for 10 km to the mid way guardhouse. yes, they won't allow u to drive to the clubhouse n charge u rm10 per person ie if ther were 4 person, they charge u rm40 for a 5 minutes drive. that is how welcoming they r. I think Genting Highlands hav more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear licharchen, Pleasant Greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your review and feedback. There is an entrance fee charge of RM8 per person for those who would like to drive up and they can park their vehicle at the plateau car park and they can freely walk around with no additional charges. However, we do provide... More

KL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The resort is about 10km away from the main road, and is uphill slope road, my chartered van driver told me that the resort not allow outside cars to enter the resort located at uphill. There is a guard house at the foothill, so i informed the guard to call for the resort van to pickup us. Actually later i... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear PeterPanKl, Greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank you for your kind reviews and feedbacks. We allow our guests to drive up to experience the serenity along the way to the clubhouse and for non-in-house guest, there will be an entrance fee charge of RM8 per person imposed for self drive up. In-house guests have the option to drive up... More

Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Firstly make sure you book direct with the resort - their prices as of 05/14 are 220 MYR including taxes and breakfast for 2 pax for the PAR room and 243 MYR for the BIRDIE which is worth the extra few ringitt for the great view. A certain well known website publishes the room prices way over and makes you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Resort_Manager_BHR, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear florabell13, Warmest Greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for choosing Borneo Highlands Resort as your holiday destination and it was great to hear that you have enjoyed your pleasant moment during your stay with us. Thank you for the feedbacks on our food menu and the team has been informed to improve in order to further... More

seattle
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
116 hotel reviews
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

While I did not stay there or even get past the gate at the road my experience was terrible. I wanted to play golf at the resort and after multiple attempts my hotel in Kuching was finally able to obtain the information (nothing on their website about golf reservations or rates) I made a tee time. After driving to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear drtravels, Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us so that we can make improvements to better serve our guests. We have taken the time to discuss with our team members to ensure that the team... More

Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great Location. Great View. Great Resort. Great Staff. Great Rate. Perfect place for Retreat from Hellious Havoc City. Words from the heart: When I woke up the in the morning, I told my self "Damn I have to go back to the city and work again. I wish I can stay 2 more nights." Thanks for the hospitality and what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear NNikman2, Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. We are glad that overall you enjoyed our hospitality and thank you for taking the time to review and rate us. Thank you for the excellent rating of us. We always strive to improve in order to provide better comfort and experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back... More

North Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had great expectations arriving at Borneo Heights as the surrounding scenery is quite spectacular. However we found it quite expensive, for every activity there is a charge, even for a socalled "wellness walk"; the courtesy vehicle is not really "courtesy" if the resort charges RM25 per person for the trip down to the foothill to your waiting taxi. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Hans Q, Pleasant Greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate the feedback on your recent stay. We regretted the discomfort that you had during your stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback as it allows us to further improve in order to provide the best service... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The first thing missing was my reservation! When I arrived the desk clerk told me there was no record of my reservation. I was able to produce an email I received from the resort confirming my reservation. In view of how few guests there were at the resort, the omission seemed inexcusable. Other missing things were a matter of personal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear tritentrue, Pleasant Greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your feedback on your recent stay. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment that you had during your stay with us. Rest assured that we have discussed the issues highlighted with our team... More

Sibu, Sarawak, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

took one hour drive from the city. It is located around 2300ft above sea level, so the air is refreshing and the scene is beautiful. they have guide tour on the morning n can take u to the places u want to visit, such as organic farm or garden or the border of kalimantan. since their logo is '' back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear Peiling W, Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review and rate us. Thank you for the excellent rating of us. We always strive to improve in order to provide better comfort and experience to our guests. We look forward to... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Getting there you have to go uphill the road with a very steep and twisting bends. So consider your options planning to get there. The resort is mainly catered for golfers with lots of golf course, and not much trekking can be done, but still the area is nice for a walk and jog. Really enjoyable. At 2300ft above sea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear waleos, Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review and rate us. We constantly seek to improve our services and facilities in order to provide better comfort to our guests. It's good to hear that you liked our hospitality and regretted... More

Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Huge under-utilized property with 18 hole golf course. My 2nd visit primarily for photography, the forest trails during day and night-time are highly recommended and again the highlight of my visit. I find the concept of vegetarian menu interesting, but the execution was average only, and there was too much marketing spin on the menu trying to sell the idea,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review

Dear PolarbearSingapore Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us especially the forest trails and thank you for taking the time to review and rate us. We constantly seek to improve our services and facilities in order to provide better comfort to our guests. Borneo Highlands Resort is built on top... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Borneo Highlands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Borneo Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Highlands Resort

Address: Jalan Borneo Heights | Padawan, Kuching 94200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Borneo Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Highlands Hotel Kuching
Borneo Highlands Resort Kuching, Sarawak

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching #3 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A hidden treasure in the heart of Borneo’s highland rainforest. Cleverly tucked away in the exotic highland rainforest of Borneo standing at the height of 1,000 meters above sea level on the Sarawak-Kalimantan border. Flushed within 5,000 acres of untouched greens, surrounded by the world’s oldest and 2nd largest tropical rainforest, Borneo Highlands Resort is surely a sanctuary to escape to. Unwind, renew, and rejuvenate with a careful selection of enjoyable retreats, tailored exclusively for you to take care of your inner self while we take care of the rest. Back to Nature, Back to Basics ... more   less 
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer