We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 74 Kota Kinabalu accommodations

Borneo Backpackers

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Borneo Backpackers to your Saves list
Borneo Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
62%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
TengCorrea Manila, Philippines
  • Reviews (93)
  • Photos (64)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    43
    15
    15
    5
See reviews for
2
16
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have been to different hostels in Southeast Asia but what I like most about this hotel is its homey feel - not only because structure-wise, it looks like a home converted into a hostel. More importantly, it offers most items that backpacker traveler may be using at home but that which they do not usually bring when they travel,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angeles City, Philippines
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every time when I make my Visa-Run from the Philippines, I go to Borneo Backpacker. It's in the middle of the town, close to the Market and has a good Coffeehouse beneath.The People working there are very friendly! The Rooms are cheap and Clean. Internet available, free Breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

check in for 15 minutes and realize bed bugs here and there they refund my money and check in to other hostels please closed 1-2 days read all reviews and start working out the place ! when i check in to other hostels meet few people check out the same place i was and said the same problem BEDBUGS!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Didn't have any problems getting here as the taxi driver from the airport knew exactly where it is. There is a café, Borneo 1945, downstairs which is the first thing you'll notice when you arrive, but the door to the hostel itself is on the side facing the main road and the hostel is actually on the first floor. I'd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

TV available for watching the world cup though i m not a football fans very clean washroom reasonably priced don't expect too much for breakfast- only some white breads and drinks close to the main street but not very noisy at night can reach major restaurants, shopping malls, markets within 5-10 mins

Was this review helpful? Yes
port Klang
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Staying here for 1+2nights. The place is cosy, with clean sheets, bath & toilet. Simple breakfast prepared. Good space for mingling with people. Feels like home. Downstairs got kopitiam outlet but a bit pricey. You can walk around the town for better food. The entrance has security auto lock and guests will be given password. Much safer I guess.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We only stay for one night, price is cheap, the staff is friendly, accommodation is complete for backpackers travellers, wifi is good, breakfast is simple, room is acceptable, walking distance to nearby places. overall am satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

2nd time to stay here. Great location, room clean, staff friendly with cheap price which include simple breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Having left Singapore I was looking forward to arriving in Borneo and enjoying the nature....did not expect the wake up my first morning having been eaten alive by bed bugs. (Not quite the nature I was thinking of) I was covered. I had to go and fork out over 50RM for medication and creams in order to relieve the itch!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BB_Administrator, Marketing Communications at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Jodie, Thank you for writing to us, it is very much appreciated.We are sorry to heard about your experience. After receiving your comment during your stay, the team has immediately did thorough cleaning and steaming of mattress. There is no report of bites for the next check-in guest. Unfortunately that we have little control over bugs, however please be... More

Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a one night stopover before our next flight to Tawau, and decided to stay here. We stayed in the hostel. The location is decent, and walking distance to most places. Wi-fi was fairly poor, and did not reach the room. Why I'm giving a poor review has to do with our experience there. We were trying to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BB_Administrator, Public Relations Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Mary B, much appreciated for writing to us your experience. We did encountered slow internet connection during your stay, however it was rectified soon after. Please be assured that Borneo Backpacker’s staff do their best to minimize movement and lower down voices at night. Thank you for the feedback and hope to welcoming you again. Best regards, Borneo Backpackers. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Borneo Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Borneo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Backpackers

Address: No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Borneo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Backpackers Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kota Kinabalu with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the heart of the city; Borneo Backpackers has already attracted the attention of discerning travellers from around the world. Some guests have already made return visits, and many more have vowed to return. While guests originally come for the facilities on offer, such as clean bathroom, toilets, pantry area, internet facility, laundry, cozy lounge area, roof garden deck, 24 hours security, and a tour information counter. They return for the service from our friendly, helpful and knowledgeable local staff. Rooms available include fan / air-conditioned Dormitory and Private Rooms. Rate starts from US$5 per person per night. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Borneo Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer