We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 74 Kota Kinabalu accommodations

Borneo Backpackers

No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Borneo Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Borneo Backpackers to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Nadia A Leeds, United Kingdom
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    17
    15
    5
See reviews for
2
17
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The place is very basic for backpackers, it was just nice. The toilet was a little unpleasing but tolerable. As it is located near the main road, it can get a little noisy at night. The staff were all helpful and kind. There's wifi and it works great. Location was ok, you can go to the Sunday market a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gouda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hostel was basic, but did the job for the night. It has a very central location and is easy to get around Kota Kinabalu, The staff were helpful providing a map and booking us an early morning taxi. The only issue I have with this place is the beds. We had bunk beds that shook every time either of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kajang, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

not a bad place to stay, the place was clean and the toilet is fine. the mattress was dirty in the dorm. i stayed for 1 night there. they have nice roof top and common area. the staff are nice too. the location was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BB_Management, Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Rahman, Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback from our guests! We work to keep the place clean and our staff appreciates the compliments. I am sorry to hear your mattress had marks on it, we clean every one upon check out of guest. Due to the humidity sometimes these things happen in-between. Nevertheless, we appreciate what... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Borneo backpackers makes me feel like home. Staff are friendly. There's one lazy cat as accompany as well. Simple budget place to stay with simple breakfast (toast bread with coffee/tea). No television but there is one PC to use. Wifi available. Location located middle of the city. Able to walk to mall like 5-8 minutes walk. Lots of chinese food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BB_Management, Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! The feeling of home is the biggest compliment we could get, and truly appreciate it. We have upped the breakfast, adding fruit platters in the morning in addition to toast and jam. With bed bugs, unfortunately being a backpacker hostel they can occur, but we steam clean every mattress and frame upon checkout of guest.... More

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Had a decent stay with Borneo Backpackers while I was doing my Open Water Diving License. Why you'd want to stay here would be for the convenient location - it's within the city centre, so it's a hop away from several banks, convenience stores, and good eateries. It's also right in front of the two trails leading up to Signal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BB_Management, Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you had a good experience here. Over the next couple of months we are going through upgrades and renovations. We want to turn that word "simple" into "excellent!" One of the measures taken will be getting Neu-Neu, our cat, up with the times and taking selfies. Again, thanks for your... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Backpackers can be quite hard to review at times but all i want is something clean and helpful and they're pretty good, so no complaints. Good location and friendly staff, with some helpful information around the place. Aircon in the private double which is nice although walls a little thin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BB_Management, Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Brad! We are glad you had a good time here. We are upgrading the hostel over the next couple of months, so when you make your way back to Borneo in the future, we hope to see you here! Take care and thanks again! More

Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I have been to different hostels in Southeast Asia but what I like most about this hotel is its homey feel - not only because structure-wise, it looks like a home converted into a hostel. More importantly, it offers most items that backpacker traveler may be using at home but that which they do not usually bring when they travel,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BB_Management, Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Teng, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy you felt comfortable with us, and enjoyed your stay here at Borneo Backpackers! We are going through some upgrades and renovations, involving downstairs, in the next couple of months. We hope you will make a trip back to Borneo and see for yourself! One thing that for sure isn't... More

Angeles City, Philippines
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Every time when I make my Visa-Run from the Philippines, I go to Borneo Backpacker. It's in the middle of the town, close to the Market and has a good Coffeehouse beneath.The People working there are very friendly! The Rooms are cheap and Clean. Internet available, free Breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

check in for 15 minutes and realize bed bugs here and there they refund my money and check in to other hostels please closed 1-2 days read all reviews and start working out the place ! when i check in to other hostels meet few people check out the same place i was and said the same problem BEDBUGS!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BB_Management, Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and yes, we couldn't agree more with the bed bug situation. Borneo Backpackers is under new ownership and the first thing we did was straighten out this issue. Room cleanliness is of the upmost importance to us, we do not want our guests feeling uncomfortable here. We steam clean our mattresses everyday, after each check... More

Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Didn't have any problems getting here as the taxi driver from the airport knew exactly where it is. There is a café, Borneo 1945, downstairs which is the first thing you'll notice when you arrive, but the door to the hostel itself is on the side facing the main road and the hostel is actually on the first floor. I'd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Borneo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Backpackers

Address: No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Borneo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Backpackers Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay