We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 68 Kota Kinabalu accommodations

Borneo Backpackers

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Borneo Backpackers to your Saves list
Borneo Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
60%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014
joann_yeen Melaka, Malaysia
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    38
    15
    14
    5
See reviews for
2
16
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having left Singapore I was looking forward to arriving in Borneo and enjoying the nature....did not expect the wake up my first morning having been eaten alive by bed bugs. (Not quite the nature I was thinking of) I was covered. I had to go and fork out over 50RM for medication and creams in order to relieve the itch!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BB_Administrator, Marketing Communications at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Jodie, Thank you for writing to us, it is very much appreciated.We are sorry to heard about your experience. After receiving your comment during your stay, the team has immediately did thorough cleaning and steaming of mattress. There is no report of bites for the next check-in guest. Unfortunately that we have little control over bugs, however please be... More

Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a one night stopover before our next flight to Tawau, and decided to stay here. We stayed in the hostel. The location is decent, and walking distance to most places. Wi-fi was fairly poor, and did not reach the room. Why I'm giving a poor review has to do with our experience there. We were trying to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BB_Administrator, Public Relations Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Mary B, much appreciated for writing to us your experience. We did encountered slow internet connection during your stay, however it was rectified soon after. Please be assured that Borneo Backpacker’s staff do their best to minimize movement and lower down voices at night. Thank you for the feedback and hope to welcoming you again. Best regards, Borneo Backpackers. More

Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Last week was my 2nd time staying at BB. My 1st stay was last year during my backpacking trip. Stayed for 10 days and it's so comfortable and it's clean. The staffs made me feel like home. I was so happy to be back on the 2nd time and see them again. Strategic location and they provide and arrange activities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BB_Administrator, Marketing & Communication at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Joann, Great to have you back, and we are truly encouraged that you love Borneo Backpackers! We hope to have you back again sometime in future. Cheers, Borneo Backpackers More

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have been staying at BB for almost 1 month now and will stay another 4-5 months because of an internship in KK. I stay in a private room and enjoy it a lot. There is bread, spread, coffee, tea and hot chocolate for breakfast every morning, the shared bathrooms are nice and clean and the staff is very helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BB_Administrator, Marketing & Communication at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, We are glad that you love Borneo Backpackers, just make yourself at home for the rest of your stay. Please do feel free to talk to us should you need any assistance up and around KK. See ya around! Regards, Borneo Backpackers More

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I got bitten by bedbugs (on my face), the walls were so thin I could hear my next door neighbours whispering, and breakfast was rationed (limited to 2 slices per person, said the sign.) I'll be staying somewhere else next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BB_Administrator, Marcom at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear yo_graham, thank you for your feedback to us. We have communicate the feedback to Borneo Backpackers Team, and done thorough checking on the mattress but find no traces of bed bugs. Eventually before your arrival, the groups who stayed in the room has no comment on bed bugs when checked out. Please be assured that all rooms are being... More

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here two times while traveling trough Borneo and can't say I'm a big fan of the place. Sure, it's a quality guest house, the place is fairly clean and you can quickly meet other people, but I can't say i like the atmosphere. This is mainly because of the personnel. The two times I visited it seems like there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I've been travelling for 6 months around Asia and this was probably the worst hostel I've stayed in. The first night we got there, we woke up the next morning covered head to toe in bed bug bites - I even changed beds half way through the night because I could feel my entire body being eaten! So the next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The rooms are a bit bare and the staff are a bit distant but overall the place is good value for money. Note it is a bit noisy because it is next to a main road but you are a stones throw from the sea and the market so the location is very convenient. There is a pretty good and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Rooms are clean but outlet are limited, staffs are helpful and friendly. It locates next to the Sunday market, easy to find whatever you need, very convenient. And the important reason I chose it was: it has free airport pickup service if you stay 2 nights(need to book from their own website). It's very good for my 1st time visit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I just had to find out that it is really tricky finding a good backpacker hostel in KK. All 3 hostels i stayed in were bad. But Borneo Backpackers was the worst despite being the cheapest. (How i miss the lovely hostels in the philippines now. *sigh*) BBP looks good on first sight and the single-price is very competetive (40... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Borneo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Backpackers

Also Known As:
Borneo Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Backpackers Hotel
Borneo Backpackers Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Address: No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 68 Specialty lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Backpackers 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city; Borneo Backpackers has already attracted the attention of discerning travellers from around the world. Some guests have already made return visits, and many more have vowed to return. While guests originally come for the facilities on offer, such as clean bathroom, toilets, pantry area, internet facility, laundry, cozy lounge area, roof garden deck, 24 hours security, and a tour information counter. They return for the service from our friendly, helpful and knowledgeable local staff. Rooms available include fan / air-conditioned Dormitory and Private Rooms. Rate starts from US$5 per person per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Tingo, HostelBookers, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Borneo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borneo Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.