We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Kota Kinabalu accommodations

Borneo Backpackers

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Borneo Backpackers to your Saves list
Borneo Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
61%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
GPenaflorida Kuala Lumpur
  • Overview
  • Reviews (91)
  • Photos (57)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    15
    15
    5
See reviews for
2
16
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

check in for 15 minutes and realize bed bugs here and there they refund my money and check in to other hostels please closed 1-2 days read all reviews and start working out the place ! when i check in to other hostels meet few people check out the same place i was and said the same problem BEDBUGS!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Didn't have any problems getting here as the taxi driver from the airport knew exactly where it is. There is a café, Borneo 1945, downstairs which is the first thing you'll notice when you arrive, but the door to the hostel itself is on the side facing the main road and the hostel is actually on the first floor. I'd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

TV available for watching the world cup though i m not a football fans very clean washroom reasonably priced don't expect too much for breakfast- only some white breads and drinks close to the main street but not very noisy at night can reach major restaurants, shopping malls, markets within 5-10 mins

Was this review helpful? Yes
port Klang
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Staying here for 1+2nights. The place is cosy, with clean sheets, bath & toilet. Simple breakfast prepared. Good space for mingling with people. Feels like home. Downstairs got kopitiam outlet but a bit pricey. You can walk around the town for better food. The entrance has security auto lock and guests will be given password. Much safer I guess.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We only stay for one night, price is cheap, the staff is friendly, accommodation is complete for backpackers travellers, wifi is good, breakfast is simple, room is acceptable, walking distance to nearby places. overall am satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

2nd time to stay here. Great location, room clean, staff friendly with cheap price which include simple breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Having left Singapore I was looking forward to arriving in Borneo and enjoying the nature....did not expect the wake up my first morning having been eaten alive by bed bugs. (Not quite the nature I was thinking of) I was covered. I had to go and fork out over 50RM for medication and creams in order to relieve the itch!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BB_Administrator, Marketing Communications at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Jodie, Thank you for writing to us, it is very much appreciated.We are sorry to heard about your experience. After receiving your comment during your stay, the team has immediately did thorough cleaning and steaming of mattress. There is no report of bites for the next check-in guest. Unfortunately that we have little control over bugs, however please be... More

Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a one night stopover before our next flight to Tawau, and decided to stay here. We stayed in the hostel. The location is decent, and walking distance to most places. Wi-fi was fairly poor, and did not reach the room. Why I'm giving a poor review has to do with our experience there. We were trying to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BB_Administrator, Public Relations Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Mary B, much appreciated for writing to us your experience. We did encountered slow internet connection during your stay, however it was rectified soon after. Please be assured that Borneo Backpacker’s staff do their best to minimize movement and lower down voices at night. Thank you for the feedback and hope to welcoming you again. Best regards, Borneo Backpackers. More

Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Last week was my 2nd time staying at BB. My 1st stay was last year during my backpacking trip. Stayed for 10 days and it's so comfortable and it's clean. The staffs made me feel like home. I was so happy to be back on the 2nd time and see them again. Strategic location and they provide and arrange activities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BB_Administrator, Marketing & Communication at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Joann, Great to have you back, and we are truly encouraged that you love Borneo Backpackers! We hope to have you back again sometime in future. Cheers, Borneo Backpackers More

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have been staying at BB for almost 1 month now and will stay another 4-5 months because of an internship in KK. I stay in a private room and enjoy it a lot. There is bread, spread, coffee, tea and hot chocolate for breakfast every morning, the shared bathrooms are nice and clean and the staff is very helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BB_Administrator, Marketing & Communication at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, We are glad that you love Borneo Backpackers, just make yourself at home for the rest of your stay. Please do feel free to talk to us should you need any assistance up and around KK. See ya around! Regards, Borneo Backpackers More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Borneo Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Borneo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Backpackers

Address: No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Borneo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Backpackers Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the heart of the city; Borneo Backpackers has already attracted the attention of discerning travellers from around the world. Some guests have already made return visits, and many more have vowed to return. While guests originally come for the facilities on offer, such as clean bathroom, toilets, pantry area, internet facility, laundry, cozy lounge area, roof garden deck, 24 hours security, and a tour information counter. They return for the service from our friendly, helpful and knowledgeable local staff. Rooms available include fan / air-conditioned Dormitory and Private Rooms. Rate starts from US$5 per person per night. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer