We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Special Price
35% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Asia Travel to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

2,589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,497
    745
    224
    77
    46
See reviews for
823
1,017
52
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2589)
  • Mar-May only
    (764)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (706)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (631)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (488)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Being a Shangri la property and ranked number 2 hotel in Kota Kinabalu I had high expectations. I'm currently staying at this hotel and overall it's been a disappointing experience. Pros-fantastic staff, decent property and decent rooms though having stayed at a number of 5 star places in Asia, I certainly wouldn't call the rooms of a 5 star standard.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived at the hotel after 30 hours of travelling and a missing suitcase. The lady on reception could not have been nicer - she immediately took us upstairs to the Executive Lounge for check- in as we had paid slightly more to be upgraded to the Kinabalu Club. We actually used this lounge on most days for breakfast and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Writing this at the front desk as I'm doing my check out. It was a fantastic 4D3N. The restaurants were great, and we really enjoyed ourselves. Had a bit of a hiccup during check-in, but service recovery was prompt and impeccable. Special thanks to Nora Bartosis, for going the extra mile to make sure our stay was unforgettable. The property... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shangrila_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear CrystalZY, Thank you for such a wonderful review, you've certainly made our day! I'll let Nora know of your mention, I'm certain she will be thrilled. Please DO come back soon, we'll welcome you back with open arms! Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong Director of Communications Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The breakfast is good with a wide range of selection. In the evening u can enjoy an outdoor restaurant next to the beach. Great seaview that u can enjoy the wave beats every day. The staff there is nice, offering kind and warm service for u.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shangrila_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bettylammm, Thank you for your lovely review. We're so happy to hear that you had enjoyed your holiday here with your friends. I hope you took many photos while you were here. Please don't forget to tag us #shangrilaTAH! Till we meet again soon, take care, Claudina Wong Director of Communications Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a beautiful, well appointed hotel. We stayed for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon. When we initially arrived, we were upsold to kinabalu club membership, which was not overly expensive, but well worth it. After our initial room allocation on the 5th floor, we were moved to the 7th,with stunningly beautiful views of the ocean. Room services... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shangrila_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Andrew L, Thank you for your review and recommendation. We're really happy to hear that you had enjoyed your honeymoon at the resort. I would like to thank you for highlighting the incident during your check-out. May I have more details about it? I will send you a private message with my email address shortly. We wish you and... More 

Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Its a brilliant resort and tailor made for family stay. The resort is perfect for kids and there are a bunch of fun activities and sure will keep them engaged all day. The resort is pretty close to the airport.The location of the resort is by the sea and always has a pleasant breeze. You can stroll by the property... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shangrila_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear PranDesh, We truly appreciate your wonderful review of the resort. You've found one of our favourite spots, the Sunset Bar! Till we meet again soon, take care and safe travels, Claudina Wong Director of Communications Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa More 

Shanghai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

very good service, ample options for breakfast, quality room service. and reasonable price. we had our laundry in this hotel, and price is quite amazingly cheap. due to the location of the resort, we didn't go out for food. we had all the lunches and dinners within the hotel. the quality is quite good. there is good play ground for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shangrila_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lawrence S, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We will be sure to share this with every department in the resort. Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong Director of Communications Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa p.s. we really like the slides too! More 

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was selected as there are more swimming facilities for children to play and is closer to airport than Shangri-La's Rasa Ria, the original hotel we stayed. Yet its services were really disappointing. The hotel check-in time is 2:00pm. We arrived in the hotel at about 2:45pm for check–in. We should have three rooms all together yet they could only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shangrila_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear nemo_aussie, I read the review of your experience at our resort in July last year with much concern. We apologise for the experiences you had when you were here then. Following your review, we will conduct immediate checks on areas you had mentioned. This is to ensure that the measures we had taken to rectify complaints in those areas... More 

Davao City
Level Contributor
234 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While its still part of mainland KK, Shang gives guests an island resort vibe. Love the wide area of the beach. Watch out for jellyfish season though. Food is great and the rooms are so comfy you would rather stay in bed all day. Staff are also very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shangrila_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear WanderLustDavao, Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are really happy to hear that you had had a wonderful holiday with us. Please come back again soon! Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong Director of Communications Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Am writing this sat in the lounge bar of the hotel on our second from last night of a 10 night stay. All I can say is that everything has been perfect. I could write loads, but the one thing that really stands out is the standard of service from the wonderful staff. Always polite and extremely attentive but never... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shangrila_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear chris p, We truly appreciate your kind words. This is the kind of review that brings out the sunshine for all of us here at the resort!! Till we meet again soon, take care and safe travels, Claudina Wong Director of Communications Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Sunset Bar(31)
  • Rasa Ria(24)
  • Club lounge(13)
  • Very good(5)
  • Taxi ride(5)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2134)
Viewed
View from room (192)
Viewed
Room/suite (279)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (483)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (365)
Viewed
Dining (116)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
Family/play areas (16)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (627)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay