We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horizon Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Special Rate
CITY GETAWAY
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Horizon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We've just spent the past 4 nights at the Horizon Hotel in KK - it was great value. The hotel was in a great location, 15 minutes and 30RM from the airport, 2km walk to the Jessleton Point Jetty, directly across the road from China Town night markets and the Sunday morning markets, and a 5 minute walk from the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AussieAbroad011
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of the hotel. We were glad that you found the hotel to be good value for money. We are very fortunate in our location with the city centre being right on our doorstep. It seems that you enjoyed both exploring and getting to know the surrounding area quite well. We hope to see you back... More 

gold coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is an interesting hotel, it is in a great location close to market and lots of places to eat. My room had an interesting decor as it had a mural on the wall and was quite dark in saying that it was very clean. The breakfast was really good with lots of selections, when we were there it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gcboo77
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to see that we lived up to your expectations. We are very fortunate in our location with the city centre being right on our doorstep. We hope that you will visit us again. Kind regards, Philip D. Theseira More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is my second stay here after a 2 year hiatus. I remembered that two years ago, the rooms seemed newly furnished, but they now seem a bit dated. I would not recommend it for business travel as it has a poor gym and few healthy eating options Pros - Good location downtown - Very spacious rooms (for the deluxe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Han N
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your comments. We are extremely lucky with our location as it is right in the middle of KK and this is a huge asset to us. We were pleased to see that this was your 2nd stay with us and were disappointed that you felt the furniture was dated, just two years... More 

Muara, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was the first of 3 East Malaysian hotels we visited within a little over a week. It was better than the other two, but that isn't saying much as those 2 others had some serious issues and the Horizon was also 2-3 times more expensive. We found the Horizon to be a real mixed bag of good and bad... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alto99
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to do this. We have passed your comments regarding the bathroom plug holes and general room dusting on to our housekeeping team so they can streamline their cleaning schedules. We’d like to apologise for the oversight of providing you with a baby chair in the restaurant that had... More 

Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Horizon is in a great location to everything in the small city area. We have walked everywhere around the area to dinner, the mall, and other parks and shopping areas. It is close to the docks where you can get a boat ride over to several different islands. The beds are very comfortable and the area is quiet at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mbev2014
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time taken to review our hotel. We are indeed very fortunate in our location being situated so centrally in KK. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed both your stay and our facilities. Many thanks again for your feedback. We hope to see you back at The Horizon Hotel. Kind regards, Philip D. Theseira More 

Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is in a great location for exploring KK. Our room was quirky, with a japanese type bath behind the bed. Great view over the water and rooftops. The room was comfortable and no noise. Breakfast each day was fantastic, a huge range of western and asian food to choose from. The staff were really attentive the whole time,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank meguin81
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. We hope to see you back at The Horizon Hotel. Kind Regards, Philip D. Theseira General Manager More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
139 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Lovely ambience, great location and good food makes the horizon hotel a lovely place to stay in while in Kota kinabalu. Great place to have a evening walk around with the waterfront and Gaya street closeby. The breakfast buffet spread was great and the food choices were well designed. The staff are really friendly. Thanks ppl for giving us a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Veepy5
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you highlighting both our breakfast buffet and the hotel pool. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back with us again. Kind regards, Philip D. Theseira More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked this hotel a few months in advance for a double room - however upon arrival we were told there were no double rooms available, unless we wanted to go on the smoking floor (as a non-smoker this was definitely not an option). We were given the option of changing to a double room the next morning but to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank DandelionMind
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you writing about what you liked and what was not up to your expectation. We apologise for the rain shower not working properly and have taken the necessary steps to ensure that proper maintenance checks are streamlined. We have also taken note of your comments on the breakfast... More 

Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here after an awful experience with booking private accomodation. As we booked 2 rooms for over a week we were able to get a great discount off room rates with some free laundry and buffet breakfasts. The rooms were modern and very spacious and the balcony room we had was almost like having a 3rd room, the balcony... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jade0919
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

More 

Brunei, Brunei
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I checked into Horizon Hotel on a Thursday night (almost 9pm) and we were informed that they have "run out of double bedrooms" and that we could switch the next morning. Troublesome yes, but we decided to do so anyway. So the next morning, I called reception regarding the switch and was told that there were no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CCY23
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your views on our hotel. We are sorry that you were inconvenienced with a twin room instead of the double you had booked. Room requests are very important and we will ensure these requests get top priority from now on. Further to your wi-fi comment we find that connectivity can on occasion be sporadic and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

692 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (378)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
View from room (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (97)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (121)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (294)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (35)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Room with Terrace (80)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jesselton Hotel
The Jesselton Hotel
#9 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay