We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horizon Hotel

Hotel website
Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Special Rate
CITY STOP OVER
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Horizon Hotel
Share an Experience

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    255
    74
    20
    5
See reviews for
91
202
32
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (496)
  • Mar-May only
    (126)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (126)
All months
There are newer reviews for Horizon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived following a climb of mount kinabalu....immediately upgraded to a deluxe sea view which was unexpected and lovely. Problem with aircon during the night so following day immediately upgraded to a super deluxe with wooden bath tub and sea view. Very impressed with customer service. Breakfast was excellent one of the best ever.... equal western and Asian selection. Great service.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments here. We were so pleased with your comments on our customer service. As I have said before (and I will say it again) our staff are our greatest asset and they do us proud. We hope to see you back with us again. Kind regards, Philip D. Theseira More 

Vantaa, Finland
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
25 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

The location is good and also rooms are nice, however age starts to show in the rooms little bit. The pool area is really small, only 3 sunbeds, so if you plan to have a little tan here, make sure there's space for you. Gym looked really good, though i did not go inside, just looked through window. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments, they are much appreciated. The pool deck area on the 6th floor is no doubt a tad on the small side but we make do with what we have. There is a standard etiquette that really should be followed when staying at any hotel but there are those, unfortunately, who don’t seem to be aware... More 

Eastbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Our room was a good size with sea view and was quiet, the bathroom included a large walk in shower with raindrop showerhead and also lower showerhead, it also had a wooden bath "tub". The bed was very comfortable and the linen and towels were spotless. Full range of toiletries were provided and renewed daily. There was a safe, iron... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your glowing review. It is alwasy gratifying when we are given the thumbs up on our overall facilities and location. Further to your comment on our lift sucurity system we'd like to clarify that this is a precautionary measure to prevent any non-residents gaining access to any of the hotel floors. We are sorry that you found... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

RM30 taxi fare from the airport, less than 15mins, traffic depending. When we arrived it took a long time to check in, they were painfully slow! And then when we finally got to our room it was on a smoking floor and was so strong. We then asked to be moved and they were great. We went off to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the upgrade to the room with a bacony on the 6th floor. We are indeed very fortunate in our location being in the heart of town. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again at our hotel. Kind regards, Philip D. Theseira More 

Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

checked in late evening but had the best dinner at the restuarant. Chef Ali prepared the meal with his personal touch. later ordered room service (ox-tail assam pedas) and that too was fantastic. but found the lights above the bed not working and told the front office the next day and said we will be going out for meeting and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed the food prepared by Chef Ali. He was pleased with the mention. Further to your comment on your room lights not being repaired before you left. This should not have happened and your feedback has been passed on to our maintenance department for their action.... More 

Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

The whole Horizon experience started very bad. After a delayed flight we arrived very late at 2 am. We promptly got checked in....to a smoking room that reaked! We when down only to be informed that there where no non-smoking rooms left...and therefor got moved to a suite! Great! A Lovely room! What could have been a really bad stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were pleased to see that you liked our hotel, location and amenities. Many thanks for your kind words about our customer service. The staff and I work very hard to ensure that this is consistent. Our guests’ comfort is a priority. We hope your travels will bring you to Sabah again sometime. Kind regards,... More 

Makati, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We stayed for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay in the Horizon. Our superior city view room was really quiet, super comfortable and well equipped with a large flat screen TV (limited channels), minibar, kettle, safe, ironing facilities, sarongs, slippers, and the best linens & pillows! Bathroom was spacious and had everything we needed. Very sophisticated lighting and modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Many, many thanks for your lovely comments. It gives my team and I great pleasure and gratification when we read reviews like yours. Noted on your remarks about our swimming pool, but we are a city hotel and we make the most of the space that we have. We have passed your comments about Dino on to him and he... More 

Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

As you enter the hotel lobby, there's this black horse like an icon and many guests like to take photo with it. We were booked at this hotel by our tour agency for 3 nights, I love everything about the room except for the fake windows, you just cant open the windows at all. The room is spacious with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review on this site. It was good to see that you were happy with what we had to offer especially in your room, bathroom and our buffet breakfast. We’d like to highlight that all our room windows are sealed as a matter of precaution. I think that you will find this to be common practice... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Stayed at the Horizon for 12 days and was impressed with the friendliness and attentiveness of their staff. Very accommodating and conveniently located in the city and walking distance to the eateries you want to visit while in KK. Decent gym that my partner and I utilised with modern equipment. Pool is a nice touch, not impressive but should be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciated the review you left on this site. Thank you. We were happy to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. It is very convenient being in the heart of the city. The hotel does not manage the Sky Spa. We have, however, taken note of your comments and passed them on to their management for their... More 

Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

This is my fourth time staying here and the staff and the hotel itself never disappoint me. Above extraordinary in service and room were in tip top condition. Would like to thank all the front desk staff especially SUE for her services. Hope to come back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
HorizonHotel2014, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for all your kind comments. We were delighted to see that this was your 4th stay with us! That means a lot I assure you. I passed your kind words on to Sue, Front Office and she was well pleased. We look forward to your return. Kind regards, Philip D. Theseira More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

320 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (309)
Viewed
Room/suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from room (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question