We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 51 Georgetown hotels

Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25A Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
65%
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
danielpst
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    385
    211
    67
    25
See reviews for
159
259
62
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I married in this hotel 11 years ago. Service remains as good and the roomsnhas been refurbished. Perfect hotel if you wish to explore Georgetown. Priced reasonable. You do not need to pay premium in other hotels to experienced the warm hospitality of Penang.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear danielpst, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. It must have been a memorable experience coming back to Bayview Georgetown after 11 years and I am glad that you have another wonderful experience staying with us. Thank you very much for the excellent 5/5 ratings again. We try our best to maintain a good rate so that all guests can... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I went to stay there with my friends couple of weeks ago and found that the hotel was a very nice place yo stay indeed. The rooms are well kept, spacious, clean, in between modern and contemporary. Breakfast spread was excellent and varieties. The hotel staff is very friendly and warm. It made me and my friends will definitely come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Siti Zubaidah M, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this lovely review and for giving us a 5/5 ratings. I am glad that you & your friends has a pleasant stay with us in our lovely appointed rooms and that all my staff were friendly & warm. The carpets in the rooms are shampooed... More

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 nights September 2014 The room: average with 4 stars. It got a carpet but I guess it has not been washed for long time; and cannot open the window, so the air in the room mixed with smell of carpet Tooth paste: I think this stuff is very very common with a 4 stars hotel but Bay View... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear huyquangyu, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for your all your feedback. The carpets in the rooms are shampooed every quarter and we do not allow the windows to be open for safety reasons. I apologize over my staff actions when delivering the toothpaste to you and I will speak to my Executive Housekeeper to... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lobby Service is bad limited staff working a lot of guest , I check in with my boyfriend and was given 2 single bed without notifying us . The room is ok .. Nothing special for the price we pay, Worst of all we have to queue for 30 minutes just to check out . I think they really have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Natalieliow, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. I apologize that you were not assigned your preferred bedding upon arrival and that you had to wait for check-out. Your suggestion for a check-out box is duly noted and I will look into the possibility of implementing it. Thank you. Kind regards Lawrence Perera Hotel Manager More

reading, berks
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had booked the Bayview as it was close to the E&O, where friends were staying. The check in process was smooth and we were 'upgraded' to a deluxe room (room 1529). The room was a good size, as was the bathroom, but was in need of upgrading. The beds, furniture and carpet were showing their age. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear annesteve, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. I am sorry that you did not have a good experience staying with us. I have taken note of your comments over the defected exhaust fan and the noise levels. The exhaust fan has since been replaced with a new one. I thank you for your compliments on the large room, the... More

Putrajaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Been here for business, this hotel has a great Sales Rep, easy to communicate and deal with. The ambiance of the hotel is unforgettable, the room is spacious and well-maintain. The food is marvelous, can't forget the bread pudding the offered. The location is accessible via taxi. A lot of eateries in walking distance, a Fort Cornwallis to visit. Definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear SharhZa, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this great review and I am glad that my sales team was effective in communicating with you and all your needs were met promptly. I am glad that you had a good stay with us in our large well appointed rooms and had enjoyed the food that... More

Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Big rooms, large windows with great views over to the ports of Butterworth. Clean, sufficiently sized pool and a very pleasant big jacuzzi pool with strong jets, just what you need after returning to your hotel, sweaty after 7 hours of shopping in Komtar followed by devilishly hot Thali in Little India. And if Claypot Frog Porridge isn't good enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Scubaachim Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this lovely review and for giving us a 5/5 ratings. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us in our large well appointed rooms and the facilities that we offer especially the large outdoor jacuzzi and the spectacular views from The Revolving Restaurant. We... More

Eversley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had high hopes with the hotel, sadly we felt let down by checkout. Positive was how quickly the reservation team responded after we emailed the hotel, we missed our connection to Penang and would arrive a day later than anticipated, however the reservations team did not tell the hotel that there had been a change which caused issues that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Liam F, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Please allow me to apologize on the error made by my reservation team.I will look into this and ensure that mistakes like this does not happen again. Thank you for your compliments on our large & spacious rooms and the good choices in our buffet breakfast. I believe that the noises... More

Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 1 night (booked standard and was upgraded upon check in to deluxe), checked in 30th August (room 1414). Pro - The location of the hotel is the best as it around the heritage trail (walking distance). Check in process was fast and the front desk personal was attentive to my request (having a toddler and requesting for a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Vinesh23, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am glad that you were happy with our new refreshed Deluxe rooms with all the amenities provided. Thank you also for the compliments on our buffet breakfast. I am sure that the Kitchen Team will be pleased. I have taken note on your... More

Utrecht
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here for 3 nights. When we arrived they only had single beds. We didn't agree to that so they solved this problem by giving us a double upgrade to a more spacious room on the 14th floor. Nice staff, nice location, nice view from our room and a good breakfast. The biggest disadvantage of this hotel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear EaglegirlStorm, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you for this nice review and I am glad that my staff was proactive in ensuring that your request for the bed type was met and you had enjoyed the great views from your upgraded room. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 25A Farquhar Street, Georgetown, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

298 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (287)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (68)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Georgetown with
any amenities