We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 George Town hotels

Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in George Town
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
ShobhaRooney Australia
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    425
    237
    71
    26
See reviews for
179
289
69
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (874)
  • Mar-May only
    (170)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (230)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (243)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (231)
All months
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel in downtown Georgetown with great views. Our room was large and well serviced. Having said that we had a deluxe room with a separate shower/bath. Lots of choices for breakfast. The hotel has a large pool which is very clean. From the hotel we walked and explored downtown and even took a walk along the sea to Gurney... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear ShobhaRooney, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this lovely review and for giving us a 5/5 ratings. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us enjoying the facilities, the wonderful view from your room and the excellent service from all my staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind... More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Old, dark rooms and shower. Not clean enough. Service is very average, and if you are in a need, they do not do affords to help, as it happened to me. There is a restaurant on the roof, which is not a part of the hotel. Although the view is nice, it is a rip off and service is bad.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear boazsharon, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. I am sorry that you did not experience a nice stay with us. The room that you had stayed in was recently refreshed and I am surprise at your comments as we have received many good compliments on this newly refreshed rooms. We have also received many excellent comments on Skybar which... More 

Indonesia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for first weekend for 2015. First impression from reviews it seems good. Since I was solo traveler and first time visit Penang, I found this hotel locations is great, around the tourist spots. Check in/out was smooth. The receptionist (guy-sorry I missed out your name) is very helpful, room is OK. I entered room and found the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Ckalimantina, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this nice review and for choosing to stay at Bayview Georgetown. I do apologize for the malfunction of the energy saving system which you had encountered upon entering the room as well as the close drug store. I will certainly speak to the drug store operator to... More 

United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice room, with good bed and bathroom. Shower was good, but over bath. Felt hotel was great for families, but not couples. Plenty to chose from at breakfast, but it was cold. While this might be good for many people, for westerners it us not, as they are used to hot food. I appreciate that we are not in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Spencer1950, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for your lovely compliments on our room, good bed, bathroom & nice shower the the location of the hotel. I have taken note on your comments over the "cold" food at breakfast and I will certainly look into this. Thank you very much for staying with us and... More 

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best that can be said of this hotel is that it is "average". An average hotel in an averagely good location, with averagely good rooms and an average breakfast. There is nothing wrong with being "average", but there is nothing in particular that makes this place stand out above the competition. Rated 4 star, it is a very average,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Tanapat, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you for this pleasant & honest opinion of the hotel. What we strife here is to offer affordable quality and comfortable facilities without been swanky or luxurious. Our focus will always be on the substance of our caring & efficient service at all times and we continuously will be improving our... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here from 17 to 20-Dec’14, while on a business trip. The rooms are very big, clean and spacious. Housekeeping, Wi-Fi and the Three Sixty Revolving Restaurant was very good. There are 2 disappointing things in the hotel which marred my stay to this beautiful town of Penang First on the day of check-in, i.e. 17-Dec’14, when I enquired... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear KunalBanerjee, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this nice review. I do apologize for the mis-communication from my receptionist with regards to buffet. The fact is Revolving Restaurant is not managed by the hotel and thus my staff had replied that there was no buffet dinner prepared by the hotel. We have rectified this... More 

Cape Town
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights over New Year. Our room was huge, but sparcously furnished (but better a big room than a smaller room). Nice big shower with lots of hot water. Good big bed, and we slept well - we like a firm bed, which many reviewers seem not to like. Very clean and well made up each day. Only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear markCapeTown, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this nice review and I do apologize for the small issue of the charging of ice via room service. The charge is more for the service of sending up the ice to your room rather than the ice itself. Thank you also for the compliments on our... More 

Hong Kong
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location for self tour around Penang ; walking tour to the UNESO area within minutes ; Penang rapid bus / CAT bus stop within five minutes walk to elsewhere on the Island. The revolving restaurant on top floor offered quite a good view of the city with reasonable price for buffet dinner (Asian style). One (odd) thing was that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Steve_NG_HK, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this lovely review and for giving us a 5/5 ratings. The hotel's strategic location is indeed a plus point to explore Heritage Penang as well as to sample the many different food that is all close-by. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For vegetarians, there were limited choices for the breakfast. Location is good. However,there is still lot to improve on customer service. There was a tour operator providing tours. However, the tours were expensive but we managed to get them at a lower price on bargaining. The pool with a depth of 3.5 m was suitable for good swimmers. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Vikash P, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that there were not enough choices of vegetarian items for you at our daily buffet breakfast. I have checked the menu and we ensure that there are at least 10 items daily... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at the Bayview for 5 nights and had a very poor experience. On check in the staff were rude and abrupt and I was handed my room keys with no explained of the room number or anything further about the hotel. On reaching my floor, I noticed the room number was illegible. I went back to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Llinos M, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Please allow me to sincerely apologize for the poor service that you had experienced during your recent stay with us. I would really appreciate it if you could advise me on the room number that you had stayed in so that we can check on the air-conditioning and the other issues... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: 25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in George Town

749 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (322)
Viewed
View from room (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (40)
Viewed
Family Room (49)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Room (40)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (55)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Superior Room (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay