We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

25A Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200 , Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in George Town
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
traveljon96 Hong Kong, China
Add Photo Write a Review

925 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    119
    458
    247
    73
    28
See reviews for
192
304
74
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (925)
  • Mar-May only
    (199)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (231)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (243)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (252)
All months
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The “City Bayview Hotel,” as it is known by locals, is a large hotel (300+ rooms) close to the heart of the city center of Georgetown, Penang. The hotel is showing signs of age (this place would have been the height of fancy hotels 20 years ago, both in terms of its style and decor), but it is clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

All staffs are nice. When got room too far from lift lobby, requested tk change, staffs came within 10 mins. Changed a larger room and greater view. Cafe staffs nice and polite, hotel staffs are helpful to show the way to Hop on and hop off bus stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Erica C, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this lovely review. I am glad that you had a nice & pleasant with us enjoying the services provided. It is good to note that all my staff was nice & helpful and this is something that we continuously endeavour to achieve. It was a pleasure... More 

Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We found Bayview City to be well located ( right across from historic E&O hotel) for wandering the old town of Georgetown as well as convenient to transport heading out to explore the island. In house taxi service will organise transport to Batu Farringhi, around island and to airport at good prices. Hotel has been around a while but is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Colin P, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this lovely review. I am glad that you had a good time at the hotel enjoying the services provided. The hotel is indeed position in a strategic location which is close by to the many sights & attractions of Heritage Georgetown and not forgetting the good... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Bayview Hotel from 30th April to 12th May, this was my 6th visit to Penang having stayed at Bayview at my previous visits too. The Hotel is well located in close proximity to all the places of interest in historic Georgetown and also with a fantastic view of the bay. Unfortunately part of the view will be blocked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Baba S, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this lovely review and for your continuous support. We are certainly honoured by your loyalty. Just for your information, the luxury units that is being built (as you have mentioned) will only be 5 storeys high and we believe that this will not obstruct the view... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the hotel on official visit in May. It is a decent place to stay with spacious rooms and good size bathroom. Nice and clean room with good view especially from the top floors (10-11). Many good restaurants and clubs at walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear madhur15, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this lovely review. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope to welcome you back on your many more official visits to Penang. Kind regards Lawrence Perera Hotel Manager More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are getting a little dated (see photos) but we had a comfortable and quiet 3 night stay here in room 1225. Walking distance (15 minutes) to Komtar Centre and bus station and great night-time food market just 2 minutes walk toward town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Burtie, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this review and I am glad that overall, you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards Lawrence Perera Hotel Manager More 

Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a 3 days 2 nights stay at the hotel to attend a friends wedding. I reached at 1pm hoping to check in early but was disappointed as there were no rooms available until after 3pm! The reception was not really helpful and was not pleasant to us. As these are the people who are working in the hospitality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear ramesh2312, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. I sincerely apologize for the poor service that you had encountered during your recent stay with us. Our official check-in time is at 3.00pm but if we do have rooms we certainly do allow guests to check in earlier. The staff that took your call for laundry should have informed you that... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having had a wonderful stay at the Bayview Batu Ferringhi we moved into the George town Bayview to spend our last night.Great location booked a Delux room and was very disappointed, tired looking room, leaky toilet, twin room one chair no mini bar no coffee and one tea bag and lifts smell unclean (sweaty body smell and unclean carpets) staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Arlene Dorothy M, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. I am utterly disappointed that you had a poor experience here at Bayview Georgetown. I would sincerely appreciate it if you could message me the room number that you had stayed in so that I could investigate further. I hope that you will give us a second chance and I... More 

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is well located very near to restaurants.Walkable distance to esplanade.The swimming pool was clean.The rooms are big and well cleaned.The staff were courteous and helpful.The complimentary breakfast spread was really big with Japanese,Malaysian,English spread.Only glitch the toilet bowl was half filled with water always which was not rectified in spite of repeated requests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Moumita S, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for this lovely review and I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. I would be most appreciative if you could message me you room number so that I could get my team to look into the toilet bowl issue. It was a pleasure... More 

Bkk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I often stay in this hotel for business trip and found many disappointed things esp. guest service , my room was full of troubles in shower room , blocked tube , hanger broken and faucet leaked around 10 pm. when I called and ask if can change the room , receptionist said she will send someone to check it and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Pat T, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. I am truly sorry that you had a poor experience during your recent stay with us. I would be most appreciative if you could message me you room number so that I could get my team to look into the issues you raised. I sincerely hope that you will give us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

767 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (340)
Viewed
View from room (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (50)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (40)
Viewed
Family Room (49)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Room (40)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (55)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Superior Room (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay