We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 Georgetown hotels

Hotel Sentral Georgetown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 12, Lorong Kinta, Georgetown, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sentral Georgetown to your Saves list
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
55%
Ranked #19 of 48 hotels in Georgetown
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013
Natprime Chennai (Madras), India
  • Reviews (220)
  • Photos (146)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    96
    76
    13
    8
See reviews for
58
50
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sentral Georgetown
See the most recent reviews
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is well located - right next to a central bus stand. There are lots of restaurants and convenience shops around. The breakfast is good and the staff took special care to give us vegetarian food, which we wanted. The negatives are that the rooms are quite small on space and there is a lot of noise coming into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. It is glad to know that you like the hotel location. We are also happy to know that the breakfast is good and we manage to prepare the vegetarian food which requested... More

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel has just undergone renovation so the facilities are rather new. Breakfast is good, wide choices of food. But due to the limited space, the restaurant is a bit congested, have to avoid the peak hours in order to get a seat. There is a small counter at the hotel that can arrange for day tour or book transport... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. It is good to know that you enjoy our location and it is glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral. It is definitely a great... More

Vaud, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Simple clean and modern hotel in central Georgetown. Excellent location as it is 200m from Komtar and 50m from Macalister Road. The deluxe room is small by usual standard but has all the standard amenities and clean. However, the doors are heavy and close loudly. Walls are thin and you can hear people talking in the hallways and doors closing.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. It is glad to know that you are satisfied with clean, comfortable room and satisfied with the hotel location. Hotel Sentral is conveniently located next to Jalan Macalister, where you can easily... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you like a clean room and good location, this is it. You can take a direct public bus from the Penang Airport and alight just about 200meters or less from the hotel. Please inform the bus driver your hotel location. Most of the bus drivers are helpful. However, lower your expectations as far as the service is concern. It's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. It is good to know that you enjoy our location and it is glad to know that our rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel... More

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had two rooms and stayed there for 3 nights. During booking, my friend clearly stated that we would like to have rooms near to each other since there are no connecting rooms. However, we were given one room in one end, and the other, at the other end. No much issues, but the hotel should looks into Customers' request.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. From the description of the bathroom, we believe that the room you were in was a Deluxe room and we only have two Deluxe room on each level. Each Deluxe room is... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stay is great at this hotel, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was great too, but being in Penang make sure u take another local breakfast because that's what Penang is known for. I personally like to walk to One Corner Cafe located at Jalan Bawasah, about a 10-15min stroll from the hotel. Try the famous Super hokkien mee (my favvvvvv),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. It is good to know that you enjoy our location and it is glad to know that our rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel... More

shanghai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were there on Oct 6 - service was a bit cold but no major complaints. The location is great - just a couple minutes from KOMTAR and chulia street. It's a bit of a hike to Little India but for that I'd say RENT A SCOOTER* and have a ball! *if you haven't ridden motorcycles or scooters in large,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. It is glad to know that you are satisfied with clean, comfortable room and satisfied with the hotel location. Hotel Sentral is conveniently located next to Jalan Macalister, where you can easily... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night with the family. Room was clean. Beds were comfy, but wear & tear setting in. Broken shower head holder not repaired. Parking bays for cars very limited. Breakfast although included was bad. Omelet smelled 'funny', cornflakes were soft, sausages were like plastics. Thank goodness for the hawker stalls nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologized for the broken shower head holder in your room. We had informed our housekeeping Supervisor to be more detail when checking the room before the next guest were to... More

Shanghai, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had really bad experience with them, we are a group and one of the room has a broken lock and also there is several blood stink on the bed cover, it's really disgusting. I went to complain and they only offer to change a room other than any other kind of compensation, it's really not considerate service and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. It was very disturbing to learn that your stay was unpleasant and would like to extend my sincere apology for any inconvenience that you may have experiences as a result of our... More

Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Check in on first week October 2013, handled by a nice 20plus specky fair chubby Eurasian Penang boy ( unfortunately forgotten his name). Went there around 11am even though knowing from website ( Expedia.com) that official check in time was 2pm; was politely told the room was not ready. Instead of waiting, placed my luggage with the hotel which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Greetings from Hotel Sentral Georgetown. Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you have been overall impressed with the service quality and also the cleanliness of our hotel. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Sentral Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Sentral Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Address: No 12, Lorong Kinta, Georgetown, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Georgetown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sentral Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sentral Georgetown Penang

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
137

See which rooms travelers prefer