We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Georgetown hotels

Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 10250 , Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences to your Saves list
Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
44%
Ranked #33 of 49 hotels in Georgetown
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
TouristEyes London
  • Overview
  • Reviews (309)
  • Photos (206)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (68)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    108
    88
    42
    51
See reviews for
129
47
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a business trip. Had a studio suite all to myself so it was very spacious for me. Breakfast buffet had decent selection, but wouldn't say it was super delicious or anything. Pros: Good location. Within walking distance to Gurney Drive and Paragon Mall Good service. Doorman and reception staff were always polite and always greeted me. TV... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GurneyHotel, General Manager at Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciated your comments and noted on the short- comings. We are looking forward to welcome you for your future stay with us. The Management More

Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on 11 July 2014 (1 night), room 1405. Pro - great location and the view is beautiful especially from the swimming pool. The bathroom was clean also. Con - everythingelse was a let down. we requested for a non smoking room upon arrival (verbally at the front counter) but a smoking room was given to us (did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GurneyHotel, General Manager at Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us and your comments. We apologizes for the shortcoming during your stay with us and the comments have been shared with the respective managers to further improve on the services and facilities we are offering and hope to see your again. The Management More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room is extremely large, but the tv is so old. Bathroom has dry toilet, need to prepare bottle for water. Food is just so so, almost not very tasty. Lucky they have coffee bean in the building, also with subway, starbucks and some indian restaurant. Swimming pool is very good and large.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GurneyHotel, General Manager at Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciated your comments and noted on the short- comings. We are looking forward to welcome you for your future stay with us. The Management More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying in studio suite for 1 night. The view from the hotel is nice, facing the sea. room is high enough to avoid the noises. I enjoy the stay in this hotel. nearby Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon. the one thing i want to report is the beds didnt arrange according to the request but the staff was acting fast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GurneyHotel, General Manager at Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your future visit to Penang. Thank you. The Management More

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

So we did stayed here for 2 nights. The lobby looks nice but the reception took 20 minutes just to find our bookings. After get in the room, we were totally surprise by the condition of the room (suite 1402). There are torn on the curtain, stains on the pillow cover, bed were dusty, missing light switch, towels were thrown... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GurneyHotel, General Manager at Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We regretted the shortcomings and would like to genuinely apologise for the inconvenience and displeasure experience that you had encountered during your recent stay with us. The respective manager will definitely come out with necessary remedy action to overcome the shortcomings to further improve on the services and facilities we are offering. Thank you. The Management More

Seremban
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Used to be my favorite hotels years ago: 1. Spacious rooms, 2. Bathtub with jacuzzi 3. Nice pool for kids 4. Location along Gurney Drive 5. Coffee beans, Starbucks , Subway sandwiches just at the ground floor ... But now the room is so run down ....... Furnitures are old , floor carpet smells bad, with visible stains, lifts are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GurneyHotel, General Manager at Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the recent stay with us and appreciated your comments. We apologies and will carry out necessary remedy action to overcome the shortcoming. The Management More

Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I think Gurney Hotel reception service is very bad. The staff that i've spoke , I don’t know the name. I haven’t asked the name, she already hang off my call. I also dont even confrim whether is she really cancel my confrimation not!! They are really not professional handling as reception service. Please , I hope they really attend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GurneyHotel, General Manager at Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We apologizes for the shortcoming during your stay with us and the comments have been shared with the respective managers to further improve on the services by conducting necessary training to the staffs. We hope to see you again in future. The Management More

Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

It is a nice hotel with spacious rooms and good facilities. Unfortunately, its furnishings had begun to wear out. The carpets are stained, furniture looks old. Due to be refurbished. One thing that really need to be looked at are the elevators. You may have to wait for about 10 minutes for the lift to your room. Besides the above,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GurneyHotel, General Manager at Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciated your comments and noted on the short- comings. We are looking forward to welcome you for your future stay with us. The Management More

Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Can't do it in 200 characters, moved out after two nights, two to many. One restaurant in name only because it serves food, in my case raw chicken. Lifts you wait fifteen minutes for in no Airconditioning, then spend five minute in packed to the gunnels. Rooms big yes, not one draw, wardrobe in bathroom, Safe not fixed, one foot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GurneyHotel, General Manager at Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the recent stay with us and appreciated your comments. We apologies and will carry out necessary remedy action to overcome the shortcoming. The Management More

Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Despite its location and star rating. This hotel requires improvement in its services and facilities. They are going to the right direction. The lift is bad, the food is not that good. Staff are not professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GurneyHotel, General Manager at Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us. We apologizes for the shortcoming during your stay with us and the comments have been shared with the respective managers to further improve on the services and facilities we are offering and hope to see your again. The Management More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences

Address: 18 Persiaran Gurney, Georgetown, Penang Island 10250 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurney Resort Hotel And Residences
Gurney Hotel Penang
Gurney Hotel Malaysia
Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang/Georgetown

206 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (197)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
259

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer