We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hutton Lodge

Hotel website
17 Jalan Hutton, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hutton Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hutton Lodge
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    122
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
26
107
55
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (255)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Butterworth, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

receptionist made the wrong booking of mine , what i wanted to book is double room but ended up giving me twin sharing. receptionist was not helpful by the way. room not worth the price and breakfast was lousy. i have to move the single beds together myself and smells bad in the room, carpet isn't so clean. the worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HuttonLodgePenang, Manager at Hutton Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ah JAck, We are sorry for your unpleasant experience with us and we will take action to tackle all this problems. Regarding the type of room's reserved, i think there is a misunderstanding because from the confirmation email from you, the type of room is "dbl/twin room shared b/room", so our dbl room is fully booked so we give... More 

Ottawa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Rooms are basic, but clean. We had an ensuite, with lots of hot water. Air con good. Strong wifi in the lobby. Coffee and toast in the garden. Best features are price, location and free parking in an historic area where it can be a problem!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The place is located in the centre of georgetown; you can reach everything by walking distance. The staff ist vey helpful and friendly. Breakfast is very basic - Georgetown gives you a lot of options, so it´s no problem. The room was also basic but clean. Got a lot of great tips to explore the city , which made it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

My husband and I received a recommendation to stay here from someone we met in Thailand who said it was better than a lot of other budget accommodations on the island. I can't compare it to other cheap places, but it didn't seem to offer much value for the price. The room was small and basic with thin walls in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

A nice budget hotel near the historical part of Georgetown. While the building itself is very nice, the hotel itself is basic and feels like it. That isn't necessarily a bad thing, as it's a perfectly good, affordable base to explore from. Many rooms use a common bathroom, which is large and clean (and they thoughtfully provide flip-flops). Don't know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Last time we stayed here it was a world away from our experience this time. Six years ago we stayed in the same room as this time and we were really impressed. This time, management has definitely changed and we were distinctly unimpressed. The showers (most rooms have no private bathroom) are still hot with plenty of water and are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This is my second stay here. Nothing much to expect. Value for money since we only have to pay rm40 each person. Very old place but clean room. We choose this place since it have car park. Basic breakfast which was okay .

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as the position of the hotel was the deciding factor, being in the old town of Georgetown it is in walking of little India, love lane, shopping malls and china town, the hotel itself was very old and basic with a musty smell but absolutely fine and clean. A basic breakfast was supplied, no choices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cork
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights. Hutton lodge is a 5 minute walk to little India, Chinatown, lebuh chulia, love lane etc. Rooms are clean and the aircon is good and cold. Breakfast of tea and toast is provided free of charge. Staff are helpful and friendly. Perfect for exploring Georgetown.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We are satisfied with our stay in Hutton Lodge. People working there are very nice (except one guy but he was only one time on the reception-at night). The man who is working in the morning is great, very helpful. We were in room 202 and it is close to the street so it's noisy. Rooms was basic, sheets was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question