We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hutton Lodge

Hotel website
17 Jalan Hutton, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Special Price
20% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hutton Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hutton Lodge
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    125
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
26
109
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (260)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 days, as we struggled to find decent budget accommodation in Georgetown -we found the area to be pretty overpriced for Asian standards. We were a bit reluctant to stay here as it was shared bathrooms and we normally opt for en suite, but actually the bathrooms were very clean, and the place wasn't very busy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hutton Lodge is a good base to explore GeorgeTown from, key areas are not far away at all. The Lodge itself is good value for money, it is clean and basic and shabbily comfortable, things are a little bit faded, but everything works and you have everything you need. It was quiet while I was there, I hardly saw anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed at Hutton Lodge for twice. I like the way this heritage building is turned into a guest house, without destroying it's authentic architectural structure. Having a relaxed communal space at the lobby and outside of the building is an added value for the entire environment. Strategically located behind the street filled with bars and pubs. By walking distance,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In many respects I can understand some reviewers finding Hutton Lodge disappointing and maybe I was a little surprised by it myself. Staying only two nights in Penang meant that whatever "flaws" Hutton Lodge may have over a longer term certainly did't affect me much. I booked and stayed in a double room with ensuite and A/C. Location is great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Butterworth, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

receptionist made the wrong booking of mine , what i wanted to book is double room but ended up giving me twin sharing. receptionist was not helpful by the way. room not worth the price and breakfast was lousy. i have to move the single beds together myself and smells bad in the room, carpet isn't so clean. the worst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HuttonLodgePenang, Manager at Hutton Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ah JAck, We are sorry for your unpleasant experience with us and we will take action to tackle all this problems. Regarding the type of room's reserved, i think there is a misunderstanding because from the confirmation email from you, the type of room is "dbl/twin room shared b/room", so our dbl room is fully booked so we give... More 

Ottawa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Rooms are basic, but clean. We had an ensuite, with lots of hot water. Air con good. Strong wifi in the lobby. Coffee and toast in the garden. Best features are price, location and free parking in an historic area where it can be a problem!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The place is located in the centre of georgetown; you can reach everything by walking distance. The staff ist vey helpful and friendly. Breakfast is very basic - Georgetown gives you a lot of options, so it´s no problem. The room was also basic but clean. Got a lot of great tips to explore the city , which made it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

My husband and I received a recommendation to stay here from someone we met in Thailand who said it was better than a lot of other budget accommodations on the island. I can't compare it to other cheap places, but it didn't seem to offer much value for the price. The room was small and basic with thin walls in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

A nice budget hotel near the historical part of Georgetown. While the building itself is very nice, the hotel itself is basic and feels like it. That isn't necessarily a bad thing, as it's a perfectly good, affordable base to explore from. Many rooms use a common bathroom, which is large and clean (and they thoughtfully provide flip-flops). Don't know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Malaysia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Last time we stayed here it was a world away from our experience this time. Six years ago we stayed in the same room as this time and we were really impressed. This time, management has definitely changed and we were distinctly unimpressed. The showers (most rooms have no private bathroom) are still hot with plenty of water and are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities