We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort

Hotel website
Lot 30, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Special Offer
LIMITED OFFER
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    82
    18
    2
    6
See reviews for
68
61
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (178)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was fine. Clean enough. Pool is fine. Wifi. nice staff. Thats it, nothing else. Nothing to see or do. Boat rides offered outside but with no purpose - so didnt go. If it was to see or do something it would make sense but im not bothered to pay to just be taken for a ride. No phone in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We appreciated the warm service even before reaching the hotel - the staffs were very generous with travel tips as well as reassurance on how much time it would take and not having to worry about renting transportation at the island. The Airconditioning in the 1st room was not as cold and we were immediately given a new room. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Warmest Greetings from Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort. Thank you for taking time to write a review in Tripadvisor. Your arrival was a little late; it is our responsibility to communicate should you need any assistance. We are glad after some guidance you made it by the last normal ferry @ 8.00 pm. Regret there was a small technical... More 

Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

We had our first ever family vacation in october 2014. Excellent experience! I just cannot describe the feeling you get once you are there. You need to experience it yourself. There were 24 of us and it was a oerfect place for everyone! Simply put: 1. Perfect swimming pool that can cater for toddler to oldies. 2. Nice buffet spread.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warmest greetings and thank you for your wonderful and encouraging reviews. All of us at Sandy Beach Resort are glad that you had a pleasant stay here. We eagerly await for your next family trip to our resort. Regards.. More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

34 of us stayed for 2 nights at Sandy Beach. They provided a great service from bringing our stuff from the ferry to the time they loaded them on to the ferry. The food was great, the staff was very friendly. Also they provided an open air hall to have our karoke etc. Of course then the boat ride and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr Victor, Warmest greetings from Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort. Thank you for your review and in fact two more groups from Sri Lanka have booked the whole resort in May (2 nights) and October (3 nights). The old boys association have been a great support. We sincerely hope to see you again in Pangkor Island for your next reunion.... More 

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Came here with my lecturers and friends for a school trip stay. Would like to give a big thanks to the manager, William, for a warm welcome. Overall, it was a decent stay. Bad: - some staff did not smile when they were serving us - couple of flies flying in the room - wifi in my room was fine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warmest Greetings from all of us from Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort. We are pleased to have your group from Singapore for 3days 2 nights. We hope it was a memorable stay and your suggestions are seriously being attended to improvise our services. Lately the island had some problem with WiFi and the service provider TM has been duly... More 

Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Location of the resort is good, not too far from jetty and right in front of the beach, plenty of restaurants within walking distance. If you fancy a walk to town, its almost 2km away, we didnt mind the walk too much as theres something to see along the way. Breakfast selection is good too as the kitchen switched up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ms Devillavy, Good day and thank you for taking time to give us your reviews. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and you understand it’s a 3 star resort. We are giving the best possible and doing all we can to improve the resort’s services, facilities and environment from time to time. We appreciate very much your... More 

Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We stayed here in January for a long weekend (3 females 26-29 during a trip in SE Asia). The room itself was very big, and had 3 double beds so cannot fault the size of the room. That said, the bathroom smelled of what can only be described as wet dog, and no matter how long we left the window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warmest greetings and thank you very much for your review and apologise that the room had some odour and your safe wasn’t fix. It is our practise all request by guest will be attended immediately and rectify the issue. We will stress this to our housekeeping department to be more alert in future. We do prepare local and... More 

Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

An extremely terrible hotel! This is the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed. First, it’s not safe here. There is no security at this hotel. Anybody can go into the residence area at night. The door lock looks like somebody picked it before. There’s no telephone in the room so you can’t call front desk if you need any service or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and strangely you were in a wrong resort as per your expectation. FYI we are a resort and not a security camp. As you may have noticed when you enter our main gate you would have seen a guard post, the security guard sits there and often goes on rounds to other areas... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I had a great time. The rooms were clean and well spaced. The staff were very friendly and the food had variety and tasted good This is also an excellent place if you want to go out on boat rides to the islands. There were medium and large sized boats with guides. The beach was not congested and excellent for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ramesh, Thank you for your compliments and recommending us on Tripadvisor. Rest assured that our staff and services will be constantly upgraded in order to offer a unique experience each time you visit us. Looking forward to your next visit to Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort. Best of Regards More 

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Small hotel very clean, good pool. We had a chalet right on the beach which was good. Maybe slightly spoilt by the water sport activity directly in front of us. But as this is a public beach the hotel has no control over this. There are some small changes that could be made that would have improved our stay. Poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William Joseph P, Manager at Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We wish to offer our apologies on issues relating to breakfast which is complimentary and services at our restaurant. Rest assured, we take your comments very seriously, and relevant steps will be taken to ensure the guest’s satisfaction is met. We have portable beach chairs available should our guest require... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities