We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jalan Kampung Kolam Air, Seremban 71770, Malaysia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (81)
  • Photos (179)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
The Dusun
Ranked #1 of 18 Seremban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seremban
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Klang, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Not sure if I'm going for second time with this experience. 1. Didn't realize that your service stop after 7 pm. I called and text but no one answer or reply as I was requesting for drinking water because the water is empty after our dinner. Went to the dining area but it was all dark. 2. Match box was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review

Hi TKL, Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry you didn't have a pleasant stay. We've spoken to the staff to ensure water, matches and other such supplies are always available in each house in the future. We're putting a sign at the Berembun gate to let other guests know that the deck is private. We will also ensure... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Dusun was everything I've been looking for in a weekend escape - beautiful landscape, fresh air, a bit of adventure, privacy and like minded people looking for the same thing. It is true what other reviewers have said - you don't go with a big group expecting to party (but why would you??); there are bugs, creatures and insects... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. It's important for guests to be clear on what we're like before they book, it really isn't for everyone. But for the right people, it's bliss. We hope to see you again. Warm Regards, Helen and Cee More

kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Something about the place keeps drawing us back. The extremely nice hosts (ie the owners) their staff, the place, the whole quiet peaceful zen like environment. Recommend fully. The trek to the waterfall is a bit difficult though. If you r unfit or unsteady dont go. I dont recommend young kids to go for it but my 9 year old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review

Hi Shanil, It was really nice to see you and your family again. It's always nice to see returning guests, especially when they're as warm as your family. We hope to see you again soon. Take care. Warmest Regards, Helen, Haanim and Cee More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Not recommended to all who are planning to go to The Dusun. Not worth it as the staff are not friendly and cooperative. Road to this resort is bad, if you are driving a nice car, better not go, unless you want your car to be broken.. Me and my friends booked the resort 2 big rooms at the resort,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review

There is a clear lapse of truth in this review. We made clear by email twice and on the phone once that we would only accept 10 guests as that is the maximum number for the houses that you booked. You agreed to this but turned up with 13 people. We clearly state on our website that we charge RM100... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Thank you to Helen's family for inventing and offering this beautiful place to visit. It is a wonderful stay! Thumbs up! P/S: if you're not a mother nature lover,afraid of lizards or mosquitoes...you won't fall in love with this place. I love this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review

Hi Siti, Thanks for the great advice, it's true that the Dusun isn't for everyone :) We're glad you liked it and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. Warm regards, Helen n Cee More

Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Dusum is different. It is not a "hotel". It is an opportunity to share an idyllic rainforest lodge with some lovely people at a very reasonable price in your choice of 5 ecologically excellent houses of different sizes and character. You need to be able to climb several hundred steps each day (It is on top of a steep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
dusun, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review

Hi MJGH, We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we were very happy to have you. We do find that those who spend a bit more time have a nicer time. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, thanks very much. Warm regards More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

On two occasions when planning to stay at the Dusun I have had an email exchange which led me to believe that I had booked a room only to be later told that the Dusun team had given the room to another person. Last week I enquired about a room and received a response that said yes there was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
HaanimBamadhaj, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review

Hello Adam, Thank you for your feedback. The booking staff are asked to give bookings on a first-come-first-served basis. When all bookings came in via email, some people are inevitably disappointed, especially since we're such a low capacity resort. We have improved this by introducing online bookings on our website. This is the best way to make a booking as... More

Seremban, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My family and in-laws stayed at the Sora and Perling houses. The houses are comfortable and equipped with mosquitoe nets (Perling) and vape mat (both houses). We did not have a lot of problem with the mosquitoes or insects in the night and that is because we turned on minimum lights in the house thereby not attracting bugs into the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HaanimBamadhaj, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for that thorough review, we do appreciate you taking the time to write it. It's nice to know that our little details like the bamboo fencing and tips for guests are appreciated :) We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, the Dusun team More

Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Nestled in the finest spot on a hill, surrounded by nothing but serenity and dense lush vegetation, Dusun is probably the best short trips an ardent nature lover would make away from the city. Managed by a pleasant, warm and dedicated lady, this place has nothing that reminds you of your otherwise 'connected' life back in the city. If you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HaanimBamadhaj, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking teh time to write this review, we do appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed the jungle experience. For your next stay, we suggest you book Perling House as it can be shut other than the ventilation holes. However, the lizard may live in any wooden house in the tropics, it is true that it is... More

Torrevieja
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent a very pleasant three nights at the Dusun in late December. After an initial hiccup when I disturbed an ant´s nest in Perling House, the cleaning up of this was dealt with efficiently, quickly and courteously, thank you. We did not get any mosquito bites in the houses at night and only a couple in the day, despite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HaanimBamadhaj, Manager at The Dusun, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. Warm Regards, the Dusun team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Dusun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Dusun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dusun

Address: Jalan Kampung Kolam Air, Seremban 71770, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Seremban District > Seremban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Dusun Hotel Seremban

179 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (166)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dusun is a small resort on a fruit orchard with views of the Berembun rainforest reserve. Set on a small hill, the Dusun rents out houses that are set apart from each other not only to offer peace and privacy, but also to catch the winds with traditional architecture and enjoy lovely views. Each house has a fully equipped kitchen for those who love to cook and a barbecue on an open deck for lingering dinners. Breakfast is provided while lunch and dinner can be catered if you prefer not to cook.We are just an hour south of Kuala Lumpur. KLIA or Kuala Lumpur International airport is in between us and Kuala Lumpur city so we're the perfect nature escape for those in transit who would prefer to give the city a miss. The Dusun honors sustainable practices in farming and building, which has created a beautiful and healthy environment. As the family enjoys a good relationship with the local community, the business only hires from the nearby kampungs and shops from small entrepreneurs or other interesting responsible businesses as much as possible. All activities that guests enjoy here were created to raise awareness of Malaysia’s beautiful natural heritage and support local traditions, communities and NGOs. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The Dusun to your Saves list