We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Kota Sri Mutiara | Jalan Yahya Petra, Kota Bharu 15150, Malaysia
Special Offer
Book Direct and save 30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    96
    44
    14
    6
See reviews for
51
56
16
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (219)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We decided to stayed over there due to Marriott name but was very suprised on how poor the maintenance and how dirty the hotel is. Stayed for 4 days and 3 night and our room only get cleaned one time but nothing is changed not even a new towel is given for us. The maintenance in room is very poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuantan, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is meant for business traveller , if u wanna have fun with family , just go somewhere else near the beaches or big shopping malls .The room is clean & comfortable with dedicated regular housekeeping . The front office or operator should polish the communication in english to enhance further the customer service . Overall , they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really surprise with the environment because it wasss... A great service , good food at 1st floor renaissance, nice fitness n expecially kindly staffs. I'll stay a long day to get rest n enjoyable shopping mall ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Izudin M, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad that you had taken the time to share your recent stay experience at our Hotel. We are appreciative of your high regards given to our hotel. Every one of us here at Renaissance Kota Bharu always strives hard to meet our guest’s expectations. We look forward to welcome you... More 

Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Kota Bharu does not offer a number of acceptable hotel options that are up to standards for today’s business traveler. Although not a 5 star, the Renaissance Hotel offers a comfortable stay and should be able to meet the needs of an international business traveler or tourist. While not located smack in the city center, it is within easy reach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Izudin M, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience during your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and were totally pleased with our services. Your positive feedback will be shared among our associates to inspire them to give their best at all times. Our Hotel is in the midst of... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

The good things - 1. Ample food options within and in the surrounding vicinity - walk across for this shack that offers great Roti Canai & Chahkoi. Forget about the Mamak restaurant next door. 2. Located next to a mall - in case you need anything. 3. The availability places in the hotel to chill after hours The not so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Izudin M, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and also taking the time to give your feedback on our Hotel. We appreciate your constructive comments to further improve our product and services.Please be assured that meeting our guest’s highest satisfaction has always been our top priority and we are working hard towards that objective. We hope to serve you better... More 

Spring
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015 via mobile

Stay at the Renaissance in Kota BAhru Malaysia when working out of Saba. Service is alright they take care or what you need. 10 and 11 floors have smell of moisture and mildew that is very strong in rooms. 12 floor up is alright. Food in club and service is very good. restaurant door and service is good. Room service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Izudin M, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our Hotel. We regret that your stay experience was not that satisfying. Please accept our sincere apologies for the setbacks. Meeting our guest’s highest satisfaction has always been our top priority and we are working hard towards that objective. We look forward to... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Good hotel but wrong timing as 2 floors under renovation so lots of noise during the day. Renovations will be for a few months. Day time noisy so forget about afternoon nap/rest but night time is ok. Too bad can't get any beer at all as liquor is not allowed in this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Izudin M, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on our Hotel. We regret that you had encountered some unpleasant experience during your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the setbacks. Our Hotel is in the midst of a renovation process which is being done by stages. This might have caused some noise disturbances... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Since my last visit from last 2 years ago, i have seen a lot of improvement while staying here. Staff seems well-trained and can handle in many situations. The lobby now more tidy & beautiful than before. Rooms has been refurbished for more comfort. Some of floors still under refurbishment & close for guests & that caused slight noise upstairs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

This is a way better upgrade compared to a few smaller so-called 4 star hotels listed in Kota bharu. Definitely among the 4-5 star qualities so if u had a choice, don't waste time looking for budget hotels just to save money. It's worth the price and very friendly and helpful reception staff

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Izudin M, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay and will share your positive comments among our associates. We certainly look forward to welcome you back! Regards Izudin Merican General Manager More 

Balnarring, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014 via mobile

I only needed the one nights accommodation due to the time of my early morning flight. The hotel itself is nice and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was spacious and clean. I arrived late in the afternoon and decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant. They were having a buffet but I opted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Izudin M, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our Hotel. We regret that your stay experience was not that satisfying. Please accept our sincere apologies for the setbacks. Meeting our guest’s highest satisfaction has always been our top priority and we are working hard towards that objective. We look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question