We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Riverview Hotel

Jalan Post Office Lama, Kota Bharu 15000 , Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Riverview Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
Add Your Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    38
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
24
27
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We were spending a night in Kota Bahru on our road trip across the east and north of Malaysia. This hotel is a mixed bag. While the lobby and the reception areas looks swanky, the rooms look old and dull. But the room was spacious and clean for most part, the toilet could do with some refurbishment. The food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

I am amazed how nice this hotel is. It's beside the river and the quite a convenient location. My room was nice and simple . The breakfast spread was good too. Value for money especially the pastry and the egg section. The staff are equally helpful for anything needed. A great short stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Me & My wife stayed there for two nights. Good location in town. Friendly staff. The room,bathroom very clean & aircond also good. First night we stayed in cityview room and the second night in riverview room.There are many of varities meal,food in restaurant and all are very good taste and delicious for breakfast. Wish to stay again in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melaka
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I stayed here shortly after the town was hit by floods, but I understand the hotel was spared. My first impression of the room was good - fairly spacious, with a new carpet. The decor was a little Spartan. In particular, there was only one armchair. I also found that the dial for adjusting the air conditioner temperature was stuck.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Stayed there just for 1 night. Took the river view room. But the Kelantan river was very muddy.. So it was not a real nice view. Took some time to find the centralised light switches.. Cos they were all located next to the bed. They got some food stuff and canned drinks in the minibar and they were free. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kb
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Spent a night throughout weekends. The room rate was definitely selling at a 5-star rate, however, the decoration of the room is not as new as expected to be since it was being advertised as newly refurbished. Icing on top of the cake was when we entered the room, a weird mouldy smell was detected. It was NOT during peak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

This hotel is located on Kelantan riverside and near Menara Persekutuan government office building. Stayed here for two nights during room promotion. This hotel is newly renovated. The room is marvelous with contemporary design. There are two swimming pools that are facing the Kelantan river. One for adult and one for children. Tips: ask room that is facing the Kelantan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

2nd time staying here. First stay was ok. 2nd time, the wc (toilet bowl) is slimy and dirty. Had to purchase clorox to pour down the wc. How can you the houskeeping not notice? The shower was had moss here and there. You charge almost rm300 and all the fancy decor, but fail to keep cleanliness. So disappointing. People are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

GRV just got renovated and now with a new looks, the all white deco makes the interior looks larger. For most locals it was a grand look in their new ballroom. The hotel usually have lots of fun events for guest to join, a resort feel rather than just some hotelier. Be sure to check out their facebook for latest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan! On behalf of the hotels we would like to thanks to you has selected our hotel for your stay. Thank you very much for your kind words and ranking. We appreciated all your comments and and hope to see you again soon. More 

Bali
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We arrived with train to Wakaf Bharu, and had expected the hoter to arrange pick-up, first mistake, but found a lokal Taxi. The is a building site, we were told that it was renovation just this day, second mistake. Were given a room on third floor, view to a dirty black balcony and far out the river, we asked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GRVHOTEL, Public Relations Assistant at Grand Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Warmest greeting from Grand Riverview Hotel, Kota Bharu, Kelantan! Your feedback has come to our attention whereby you give a comments and suggestion on our hotel services. On behalf of GRV Hotel we would like to apologize for the problems you have experienced with our hotel. We feel very sorry for all this inconveniences that have been caused to you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question