We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 124 Langkawi B&Bs / inns

Zackry Guest House

Lot 735 Jalan Teluk Baru | Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Zackry Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
You added Zackry Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 124 Langkawi B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011
Sue C Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
There are newer reviews for Zackry Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Not recommended for young children as guests tend to be 20-35 years old and whilst we were there, many of the guests tended to drink a lot! Notwithstanding this, our 12 year old was made to feel at home. The accommodation is OK , close to the beach, restaurants etc. Free tea, coffee and drinking water and an honesty system... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, England
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

So glad we looked prior to booking. Rooms extremely basic and dated. Communal areas unappealing. Found the owner arrogant too. Position would have been convenient if half decent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
zackryghouse, Owner at Zackry Guest House, responded to this review

It's everybody's expectation including me myself to pay USD12 - USD20 and to get the best, spacious room with latest tech amenities and designer's signature room. However as everywhere in the world, when you pay peanut you get monkey. Please compare our rates with other accommodations listed in this website. We opened this place 12 years ago to accommodate travelers... More

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed at Zackry's Guest House for 4 nights, despite a mixed bags of reviews. We were not disappointed! The location is fine, you can hire mopeds or even a car nearby, if you want to visit further afield. If not, the area has plenty, bars/restaurants, massage/spa places and the local beach for relaxing. We loved the honesty system Zackry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castle Hill, Australia
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Great place to stay and meet people, self service facilities available (share kitchen, drinking water, cold drinks etc) as well as motorbike rental, cheap breakfast available and weekly bbq. If you are travelling on your own or as a group, this is a great meeting place and the staff are friendly and helpful, but everything is setup as self service.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ghent, Belgium
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Due to the May 1st weekend some other hotels were fully booked, so we ended up here. It was our 3rd or 4th choice based on Lonely Planet. LP describes the place as a 'family' hostel. They couldn't have gotten it more wrong. On seeing our toddler, one of the owners started telling us off: "didn't you notice on our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
zackryghouse, Owner at Zackry Guest House, responded to this review

Surprisingly guests hated it so much that they extended the stay for 2 more nights. It was not during 1st may and there was plenty of accommodation in Langkawi. LP has never described this place as "family" hostel. It is written as "This is a family-run hostel and is not a family hostel." They booked through our website and it... More

4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Pretty much what i expected from the other reviews i read before i went ,owner Zack doesnt acknowledge you at all, some older longtime resident german guy is almost the same its hard being in the common room with them as they are very unfriendly, unless you are a young goodlooking girl which they will go out of there way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valence, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

this is very simple accomodation, we had room without bathroom. that was not a problem, shower was close, always empty even when there was full house. - room smells terrible with some insect product - there is only one ceiling light, very strong. not comfortable during the night and in the evening. - room was quite clean, towels changed every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Me and my husband stayed at Zackry's house in January.Staff very helpful and friendly.Also the room was clean and spacious. We had a lot of fun was very warm atmosphere.I would recommend for anybody to stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I had reasonably high expectations of this place after reading reviews but was sorely disappointed! Bad impressions straight off: nobody on reception so rang a bell and out came this old man who I thought was going to get the actual receptionist but he was in fact Zackry. He didn't say a SINGLE word to us, pretty much grunted and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
zackryghouse, Owner at Zackry Guest House, responded to this review

I corrected guests that the intimidating sign is :"When you travel, remember that a foreign country is not designed to make you comfortable. It is designed to make its own people comfortable." The fact that you think this is intimidating just a perfect sign that you were not belong here. However we are still confuse to the fact that the... More

Brisbane, Australia
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Enjoyed our 2 night stay here, helpful and knowledgable staff, made us feel at home. Very trusting with the honesty box for the beers and internet which is very very nice as some places make us backpackers feel like criminals!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Zackry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zackry Guest House

Address: Lot 735 Jalan Teluk Baru | Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Zackry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zackry Guest House Hotel Langkawi

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (40)
Pool/beach area (5)
Room/suite (1)
View from room (3)
Hotel & grounds (3)
Dining (10)
Bathroom (3)
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (1)
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Zackry Guest House

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby