We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 126 Langkawi B&Bs / inns

Zackry Guest House

Lot 735 Jalan Teluk Baru | Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Zackry Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Zackry Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 126 Langkawi B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Stephanie4567 Sweden
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    48
    31
    14
    12
See reviews for
5
55
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (168)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The unhelpful and defensive response from staff in response to any negative reviews on this site really highlights their attitude and the fact they are not interested in improving as a guesthouse. Perhaps that's why the place is very run down, tired and is not clean. The owner makes strange flirty comments to the girls which is not appropriate. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
zackryghouse, Owner at Zackry Guest House, responded to this review

We are glad that the reviewer found a place that more suitable for her as pax is clearly not meant for ours. Unfortunately feudalism has no place in our place. One's hell can be another's home. And this so-called "the place is very run down, tired and is not clean" apparently has a very high occupancy rate with a generally... More 

Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stay here, the staff (especially Sam) are amazing. They really wish to include everyone, to feel at home and at ease. The rooms are simple and the bathrooms are always very clean. The location is not where the action is, but very pleasant. It takes just 15 min walk to get to the "center". Great spot. Close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibiza
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We stayed here in August '14. It is a nice little hostel which is clean They are efficient too, our hot water broke one day and they fixed it by the next day. It was also cheaper than a lot of the other hostels I looked at, so if you're looking for budget, this fits the bill. There was wi-fi,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

If you want five star luxury do not stay here! If you want friendly staff, a nice chilled atmosphere and other travellers to mingle with this is your place. Owner is legendary and will go out of his way to help you. The dogs are super cute and will walk you to your rooms late at night. The rooms aren't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Zackry Guest house doesn't look much when you first arrive, but don't let the first impression fool you. They offer private rooms with fan or AC, and shared shower and toilet. I had a tiny single room with fan and lockable wardrobe. Both room and shower/toilet were very clean. Zackry's also have a big common room/bar, kitchen and library. Laundry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014 via mobile

Zackry's is a guest house with a real backpackers vibe. It is close to the beach but a bit remote re 'city' center and bars. It is as clean as you may expect for the money you pay. Room with double bed and fan has a reasonable size, but the smell was awful, really bad. The owner, Sam, is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
zackryghouse, Owner at Zackry Guest House, responded to this review

Pax copied and pasted the same review from other web and we responded the same answer as well. The mattress is actually new and hence might have the smell from the factory. We are the cheapest option in the island. Having said that we will endeavor to make all guests' stay as comfortable as possible. We wish we could provide... More 

London
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
67 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

I'm not sure what to write about my stay at Zackry's, so I'll start with the positives. The bathrooms and showers are all spotless and in full working order. The staff are all very nice, especially Sam the manager, he's laid back and keen to get people socialising. The location is a mixed bag, it's 20 mins walk from Cenang... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
zackryghouse, Owner at Zackry Guest House, responded to this review

Pax got bitten because he went to the my room without knocking. It is natural reaction to protect. About the common area, we removed all the couches ages ago on purpose as we learnt hard way in the past that couches and cheap backpackers especially intoxicated ones were not good combinations. Plastic ones can be easily replaced once our customers... More 

Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We stayed at Zackry's Guest House for one week and had a really great time. If we could we probably would have stayed longer. Although the rooms are quiet simple, they are yet clean and comfortable. There is a common area where you can come together with guests from all over the world. No matter what questions we had, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Stayed here with friends in May. Everything was pretty decent including Sam who was a lot of fun, though you'd have to understand his sense of humour. You basically do get what you pay for and overall it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Having booked online for two nights in the studio room and quickly realising the room was filled with bedbugs we complained and got moved to a smaller double. This room was bedbug free, but with a bed and a bathroom which was ok, if not a little cell like. The common area was good fun with a backpacker vibe and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
zackryghouse, Owner at Zackry Guest House, responded to this review

Pax stayed in June 18 right after a long term customer who stayed and infected the room with bedbugs. We solved the problem and until todate August 8, 2014 as you can check from other reviews, we do not have problem at all. However, pax had a very different expectation with our place although it is clearly in our price... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Zackry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zackry Guest House

Address: Lot 735 Jalan Teluk Baru | Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Zackry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zackry Guest House Hotel Langkawi

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay