We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Blantyre hotels

Hostellerie de France

Glyn Jones Chilomoni Ring Road | Namiwawa, Blantyre PB 246 BT, Malawi
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hostellerie de France to your Saves list
Hostellerie de France
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
79%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Blantyre
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Mawe2030 St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
12
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a studio apartment, bedroom with separate living area/kitchenette. This was ideal for our needs as we could be independent while using the facilities when required. The swimming pool is outstanding, saline rather than chlorinated and great views over Blantyre and surrounding hills. Security is good. We hope to be back soon!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review
Google Translation

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel. The pleasure of this review ..... Biou... More

Lucknow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is located on a hill with great views. Owner is a bit weird. The room is clean but dull. Linen and the towel is very old. They serve great breakfast. They should upgrade the room's look to make it a place where people will want to return. And a little less friendliness from the owner, please!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review
Google Translation

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel. correct...for 25 us$ is the minimum...is washing... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great service from first arriving until leaving.Food was good . We stayed in budget room which was basic as expected.The waiter/receptionist was excellent and like most Malawians hard working yet friendly and respectful. The owner was lively and entertaining. Overall our stay here made our quick trip to Blantyre memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review
Google Translation

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel. The pleasure of this review ..... Biou... More

Lilongwe, Lilongwe, Malawi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Clean pool, clean room, good meal, friend owner and staff, best price in Blantyre. I will strongly recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel. The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel Merci infiniment d'avoir pris Le temps de donner votre Avis sur Notre modeste hotel. Au plaisir de ce revoir.....Biou et Jean Michel More

Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located on a hill with great views. The pool is nice and rooms are ok. The menu was definitely very french (so definitely not local... and god knows how far the oysters, frogs and the french wine has travelled) and unfortunately i got an indigestion from a crab cake. The owner is a bit weird... Sending... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel. Is correct at 2 PM you swimming but all costumer is go for job. You choice backpackers room at 30 us$ for 2 person ,1 room siting area and 1 room double bed or 2 single bed en suite and you ave battery lamp. The generator cost... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Obviously, from earlier reviews, some visitors don't get along with the owner's idiosyncratic manner! We found him welcoming and entertaining. The room was fine, and the place is good value by Malawi standards, having a lovely pool area with great views, and good meals on offer. A strange experience, in central Africa, and very refreshing if you like that sort... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review
Google Translation

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel. The pleasure of this review ..... Biou... More

Graz
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed there for two nights due to a lack of other possibilities in Blantyre. And while the rooms and the pool are okay, the owner himself makes a stay just not recommendable. He tries to exploit his guest by using totally wrong exchange rates (so you are not able to pay in Kwacha although you're in Malawi, since all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review
Google Translation

Domage que tripadvisor NE donne pas les email Des Avis,ils nous serait facile de repondre avec justesse a votre Avis...... More

Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After a long trip we managed to find this hotel to be greeted by 3 german shepherds one of which was particularly unfriendly. We were shown to our rooms by friendly staff(the owner was not) but had to dodge dog poo along the way. Our apartment below the pool was smokey and in desperate need of decoration. It was dirty,linen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel. The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The accommodation was no cheap and we paid in advance because the owner doesn't get up early in the morning to settle up. The organisation was chaotic and when we were eventually shown to our room (the family room) we found; The bedding was threadbare and the same as the 2007 picture on the website. The covers were not freshly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel. The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel More

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed here now a few times and always looked after well by the owners. The hotel is well placed for easy travelling around Blantyre and further afield. The rooms range in finish, all are clean, have TV with cable and good WiFi. The food is particularly good, thanks to a French approach and just about anything you wish... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hostfrance, Propriétaire at Hostellerie de France, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our modest hotel. The pleasure of this review ..... Biou and Jean Michel More

Been to Hostellerie de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de France

Also Known As:
Hostellerie De France Blantyre
Address: Glyn Jones Chilomoni Ring Road | Namiwawa, Blantyre PB 246 BT, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Southern Region > Blantyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Blantyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 mn for center city, swimming pool, spa, gym, panoramic views, rooms, flats, parking, very secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostellerie de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.