We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ankarana Lodge

Route RN6 Kilometer PK 107, Antsiranana (Diego Suarez), Madagascar
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ankarana Lodge
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    13
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Albany, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The lodge is basic but comfortable, and the staff are helpful and friendly. Our group arrived after dark, and it was a little difficult to find the rooms. The meals were pretty good but not memorable, and they have a little display that serves as a gift shop. The restaurant had no rest room. This is more like a cabin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Stayed here on a long journey through the north of Madagascar in 2014... Quality was ok/basic but one must be mindful of the how the locals exist - so excellent by comparison The pool was a nice refresher! The restaurant was very basic; however, Madagascar is an adventurers destination! So make the most if it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

This place must have fallen into disrepair and poor management because the reviews do not live up the hype anymore. Musty rooms, unhelpful staff, discussing pool, expensive (though simple & tasty) meals, unkept grounds, and I could on. Try a different place, I recommend: Le relais de l'ankarana (It's just next door).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anka200, Responsable commercial at Ankarana Lodge, responded to this review

We was very astonished about this review, because 1)at this time our hotel was closed and all our staff had holiday.So there was only some workers who was renovating the hotel and no client was staying in one of our rooms 2)it is not honest because if he recommend the hotel next door, why he did not write a review... More 

Travelers are raving about these Antsiranana (Diego Suarez) hotels

Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
200 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

this is typical for madagascar you will get few hours of electricity most places, and they have a generator for the most. when it is hot, there will be3 no fans working. the lodge is very pleasant with a nice pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

the location is EXACTLY where you want to be, but amidst the heat and business of the days 'wildlife trails' you find yourself swimming in the large pool at sunset - complete and tranquil bliss! Rooms and food were great too - plus lovely staff! no wi-fi and no mobile reception at all - its a good thing!! I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

The most striking and inviting area of the Lodge is the pool - which is huge, clean, and surrounded by comfortable lounges and tables, with a poolside bar. The cabins make you want to go sit by the pool. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the service was excellent. But the cabin we had, which was the end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Berkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed for two nights during our trip to Madagascar. The manager' Fhuresco, was fantastic. We arrived late in the evening and our tour operator had not given us an English speaking guide for the trip from Diego, which meant we had missed out on all the local details. We had been given an English speaking guide for our trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night here & I cannot fault the location or indeed the list of amenities which include a swimming pool & air conditioning from 6-10pm. It was a little rustic but had everything you needed. Hot water & excellent water pressure which had been a rarity in the other places we had stayed. The rooms do get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We travelled there from Diego Suarez airport and the Lodge arranged a pick up transport. The road was quite bad but the exhaustion would go away once you reach the lodge. Its simple yet very much exotic. Nested within nature. The foods were great. The caretaker was very helpful. he was the only who can speak English and also was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my teenage daughter for visiting the local reserves. We enjoyed the stay, with comfortable bungalows, and a nice swimming pool. The lodge is very isolated so meals are simple with no options but we liked all that we were given and they worked around us preferring not to eat meat. The lodge uses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
0.0 mi away
Constance Tsarabanjina
Constance Tsarabanjina
#1 of 1 in Nosy Mitsio
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Allamanda Hotel
Allamanda Hotel
#2 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vanila Hotel & Spa
Vanila Hotel & Spa
#17 of 33 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#11 of 33 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#18 of 33 in Nosy Be
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iharana Bush Camp
Iharana Bush Camp
#1 of 1 in Ambilobe
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities