We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Beach Resort & Spa

Travelers' Choice award winner
Golf & Country Club, Beach Road | P.O. Box 5296, Malindi 80200, Kenya
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ocean Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room we stayed in was beautiful and the hotel grounds and swimming pools are good and sufficient. Which means pools do not get overly congested during busy seasons. However, the service is pathetic!! At meals, you have to wave to waiters to get service and this was consistent for the 4 days of our stay. I love mushrooms but... More 

Helpful?
Thank DennisKeya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My stay was a worth one. Relaxing, exciting and above all awesome food. The facilities too were very accommodating and an amazing staff you have. Chef Moha, barman Karisa, George the attendant made my stay a worth one. I will really miss the resort; especially the food. It's a definitely visit again resort for me.

Helpful?
Thank Edna G
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you want to spent your time in a nice quite place. Ocean Beach is the place to be. U welcome at home, the staff are nice, welcoming and they make sure you are having the best time. The garden is nice,and green and not to mention the ocean, is just there.. You will have to decide if you want... More 

Helpful?
Thank dolphin904
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about this hotel was fantastic! We began dealing with the GM Harvey in September 2015 and from the onset he was extremely accommodating. The hospitality factor was there right from the get go and we could not wait to get there! Upon arrival our check-in was easy-breezy and we were shown to our beautiful rooms in no time -... More 

Helpful?
Thank kenyalanna
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Ms Khanna, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, An Excellent stay Is Unforgettable!. Much Humbled to host you and your C.S.I team,-plus we do appreciate your support and enlightening comments of your stay with us. We do look forward to your continued patronage. With your support we, #MakeItKenya, #TembeaKenya You are most welcome to visit us... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

To be honest I have stayed in a lot of hotels in the coast as we always try to explore Kenya with my hubby by visiting different places. This has been my worst experience to date. Here it goes. We were put in a very fancy deluxe room with my hubby, son aged 5 and daughter aged 1. The service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crystal K
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Ms Crystal, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, Second, accept our apologies for your experience which you term as the worst. First, you were given a free upgrade to a deluxe suite, due to the hotel being fully overbooked and your initial request of 2 single rooms could not suffice. in any case as the booking... More 

Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked trip from Dec 30-Jan6 to celebrate the new year and my birthday. Booked through Expedia and according to their website the hotel was confirmed. On arrival at the hotel we were informed that there was a glitch with the Expedia booking system and the hotel was overbooked so they would have to accommodate us at their sister hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karimilovestotravel
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Ms Karimi, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, Second, accept our apologies for a predicament that you underwent in regards to uncosy room allocation in hotel next door, particularly during this Festive period that the resort was fully -overbooked. / extending a temporary *premier suite* for the night, slow service/ *green pool* which is galana natural... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

Their services were very bad, cause while we were there, the waiter we had been assigned to never came to even order our food or organise the table he had taken us to. The couple that had even arrived quite earlier than we did had been waiting for an hour for their order to arrive

Helpful?
Thank Linda A
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, Second, accept our apologies for a predicament that you underwent in regards to services not being extended to you as anticipated particularly during this Festive period that the resort was fully -overbooked. Third, embracing Customer service policy is the top most aspect that our resort entails to all clients regardless... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

Five nights with my family. This is the best hotel ever, quoting the words of my son. We found the resort to be a home away from home, serene and tranquil. The food was fresh and delicious. The customer service impressive. The boys really enjoyed the swimming pools and especially the jacuzzi. Amazing to find three large swimming pools. And... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meshack N
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, We were humbled to host you and your family and still do thank your son for picking amongst many other resorts- Of-course i agree 100 % to his quote * best hotel ever* we are the top best in Malindi and ranked Top 10 in both Luxury & Top Hotels... More 

Thika
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

My malindi experience was amazing! ..when my travel agent suggested Ocean Beach Resort I practically fell in love with the place and knew I wanted to go there for my holiday. I spent this past weekend with my son and the experience was fantastic. From the beautiful ocean views the spacious rooms, clean and quiet environment! The spa experience but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, An Amazing Experience Is Unforgettable!. Much Humbled to host you and your Son plus we do appreciate your support and enlightening comments of your stay with us. We do look forward to your continued patronage. With your support we, #MakeItKenya, #TembeaKenya You are most welcome to visit us once again.... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

The resort has lovely cozy rooms. I had a superior room, which was spacious and delightful, although quite a distance from the ocean front. The resort has 3 pools, spread out, which means that you do not necessarily have to walk too far to the main pool, especially because my room was far off. The main pool is a large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helene N
Harvey N, General Manager at Ocean Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First, We do wish you a Happy 2016, Much humbled to have hosted you and the LSK TEAM during the Annual CLE EVENT.We do appreciate your support and enlightening comments of your stay with us. I do agree we had intermittent internet connectivity in a few rooms due to 2 repeaters having an automatic default reset which incurred... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malindi
1.8 mi away
Driftwood Beach Club
Driftwood Beach Club
#5 of 28 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tamani Jua Tao Resort
Tamani Jua Tao Resort
#13 of 28 in Malindi
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lonno Lodge
Lonno Lodge
#1 of 25 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Diamonds Dream of Africa
1.1 mi away
Scorpio Villas
Scorpio Villas
#4 of 28 in Malindi
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kilili Baharini Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay