We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Tien-Shan

Bogenbay Batyra St., 115, Almaty, Kazakhstan
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tien-Shan
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Hotel Tien-Shan
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Kyzylorda Province, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent four days at the hotel recently. The staff were attentive and friendly and there was always someone available that could speak English. The receptionists were brilliant they could not be more helpful with maps, taxis and recommendations. Breakfast had something for everyone and the rooms were neat and tidy. The spa was all a girl needed after 6... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all I would like to thank you for your time and leaving a great review about Grand Hotel Tien Shan. I am very glad to hear that we made your stay enjoyable, comfortable and location of our hotel was great for you. Thank you also for your positive comments about our staff, management and breakfast it's... More 

cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very professional front desk staff , very comfortable room and good restaurant service.Breakfast is more than sufficient and of a high standard. Highly recommended . Excellent airport pick up /departure service

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great comments and I really appreciate that you have find a time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that our Front Desk staff served you professionally, that room was comfortable for you and breakfast was more than you have expected. I also nice to hear that our pick up... More 

Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I arrived to Almaty early in the morning. The Hotel car has picked me up from the airport. Upon check in the front desk provided me great service, confirmed my reservation, anticipate my personal needs as nonsmoking room, quite view, my staff has been delivered to my room...room was good, a bed was comfortable more than i expected and i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time and reviewing our hotel. We really appreciate it. I am glad to hear that we have warranted your expectations. Your great comments about room and staff services are encouraged our staff. We do all the best to keep it going and we will be delighted to welcome you again at Grand Hotel Tien... More 

Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed one night in this hotel while on a business trip and realized it's oriented more towards vacationers. My room was on the third floor, near the end of the hallway towards the central lobby area. Unfortunately for me, I checked in on a Friday night and there were two loud parties in the banquet rooms near my room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel and leaving your comments. It is very unfortunate that you had experienced a problem with noise from banquets. We always strive to provide the best and individual service to each our guest and all necessary actions have been already taken to avoid such issues in the future. I am glad to hear... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

You won't go wrong staying here. It's cental location is very convenient for what the city has to offer. The bedrooms are comfortable, the bathrooms clean with plenty of hot water, toiletries & hair dryer. Breakfast was good with a selection of international dishes. It's the staff who make your experience so pleasant - my iPad/phone charger failed & the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Jenny, Let me say a special thanks for such a great and warm comments we appreciate it. It is always nice to hear such comments which motivating us to be better and continue to do all the best to make our guests happy and smile. It is our pleasure to make your stay comfortable and our staff will... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

The place doesn't deserve much to be said of. Bad value for money, really. Bad breakfasts. Very very bad service. Location is obviously it's strongest attribute, and that's about it. They wouldn't provide you with water in the room (only a bottle per person at check in), the rest of the stay - overpriced bottles from mini bar. No kettle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Ms. indira, At first I would like to thank you for staying with us at Grand Hotel Tien Shan. Your comment is very important for us and appreciated. As we always improving our services and want to be an individual with our guests it will be appreciated if you give us more detailed information concerning the" very bad service... More 

Jersey City, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We spent two nights at the Grand Hotel Tien-Shan recently, and mostly liked the hotel. It's in a great location, it is recently updated, it provides free internet, and the rooms are large, clean, quiet, and pleasantly decorated. In fact, we would probably give it five stars except for a few things. First, the bathroom: there was a constant smell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Stiffn, First of all I would like to thank you that you have find the time and left your comments. Your comment was really usefull for us and as a management we can see the points which needs to improve and fix. Nice to hear that in general you have liked our hotel and as a part of... More 

Karaganda, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I arrived here sorely tired on a very early morning. I liked many things here. The staff is great, from the first contact while booking my room right to face to face contact. At reception is always someone who speaks English. Staff quickly helped me to my room and make sure I was comfortable. Tea was brought up to my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Mr./Ms. Phillipa S S, Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel services and stuff. We really appreciate your time and will do all the best to keep it going. We also glad to hear that we made your stay comfortable and very sure that we will be always delighted to see you again in our hotel. Thank... More 

dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

great location, free wifi was very good, nice lobby area lovely rooms, lots of space and good shower! the only negative was that the room had a stale smoke smell when we first checked in - with the windows opened for an hour this cleared! the pool and spa area is lovely and i had the use of it and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I went to Almaty on a business trip, and Grand Hotel Tien-Shan was fantastic. The rooms were comfortable, the staff were very helpful and the decor throughout the hotel was very tasteful. The location of the hotel is good. I tended to grab a car from outside for most occasions to get to meetings, but it is certainly central and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question