We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Tien-Shan

#9 of 65 Hotels in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Bogenbay Batyra St., 115, Almaty, Kazakhstan
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tien-Shan
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Hotel Tien-Shan
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
3
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Tbilisi, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I could not imagine how this hotel may be rated "poor" or "terrible". Even "average" is not acceptable for me. Everything in the Grand Tien-Shan is perfect: location (in the central part of the city in front of big nice park), lobby (large, comfortable and bright), rooms (clean, pleasantly decorated with comfortable bed) bathroom (clean with plenty of toiletries plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Turkey
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
43 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for almost a week in April and liked it very much. Most of the staff was friendly and competent. Room and bathroom were clean and spacious enough. Windows looked at a kind of backyard, so no street noise during the whole stay. Housekeeping did their job pretty well. Breakfasts were good enough, served in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your time to review our hotel. We appreciate it. I am glad to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. I am also glad to hear that breakfast was good for you and room which we have selected you were quite and clean. By the way thank you for nice comments about... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel got the reservation dates wrong in a glitch in their system, had to share a room and bed with my business associate for 1 night as they were sold out. Reservations Manager was nice and in the second night we both were upgraded to presidential suites however rooms quite dirty, hair in the bath tub and dirty toilet, also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your time and leaving your review about Grand Hotel Tien Shan. I am deeply sorry to hear about the problems you faced with wrong reservation, not proper cleaned room and phone charge issues. We always strive to provide the best service and all your notes has been send to the all necessary departments... More 

Kyzylorda Province, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

I spent four days at the hotel recently. The staff were attentive and friendly and there was always someone available that could speak English. The receptionists were brilliant they could not be more helpful with maps, taxis and recommendations. Breakfast had something for everyone and the rooms were neat and tidy. The spa was all a girl needed after 6... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all I would like to thank you for your time and leaving a great review about Grand Hotel Tien Shan. I am very glad to hear that we made your stay enjoyable, comfortable and location of our hotel was great for you. Thank you also for your positive comments about our staff, management and breakfast it's... More 

cardiff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Very professional front desk staff , very comfortable room and good restaurant service.Breakfast is more than sufficient and of a high standard. Highly recommended . Excellent airport pick up /departure service

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great comments and I really appreciate that you have find a time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that our Front Desk staff served you professionally, that room was comfortable for you and breakfast was more than you have expected. I also nice to hear that our pick up... More 

Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

I arrived to Almaty early in the morning. The Hotel car has picked me up from the airport. Upon check in the front desk provided me great service, confirmed my reservation, anticipate my personal needs as nonsmoking room, quite view, my staff has been delivered to my room...room was good, a bed was comfortable more than i expected and i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time and reviewing our hotel. We really appreciate it. I am glad to hear that we have warranted your expectations. Your great comments about room and staff services are encouraged our staff. We do all the best to keep it going and we will be delighted to welcome you again at Grand Hotel Tien... More 

Fremont, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

I stayed one night in this hotel while on a business trip and realized it's oriented more towards vacationers. My room was on the third floor, near the end of the hallway towards the central lobby area. Unfortunately for me, I checked in on a Friday night and there were two loud parties in the banquet rooms near my room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel and leaving your comments. It is very unfortunate that you had experienced a problem with noise from banquets. We always strive to provide the best and individual service to each our guest and all necessary actions have been already taken to avoid such issues in the future. I am glad to hear... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

You won't go wrong staying here. It's cental location is very convenient for what the city has to offer. The bedrooms are comfortable, the bathrooms clean with plenty of hot water, toiletries & hair dryer. Breakfast was good with a selection of international dishes. It's the staff who make your experience so pleasant - my iPad/phone charger failed & the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Jenny, Let me say a special thanks for such a great and warm comments we appreciate it. It is always nice to hear such comments which motivating us to be better and continue to do all the best to make our guests happy and smile. It is our pleasure to make your stay comfortable and our staff will... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

The place doesn't deserve much to be said of. Bad value for money, really. Bad breakfasts. Very very bad service. Location is obviously it's strongest attribute, and that's about it. They wouldn't provide you with water in the room (only a bottle per person at check in), the rest of the stay - overpriced bottles from mini bar. No kettle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Ms. indira, At first I would like to thank you for staying with us at Grand Hotel Tien Shan. Your comment is very important for us and appreciated. As we always improving our services and want to be an individual with our guests it will be appreciated if you give us more detailed information concerning the" very bad service... More 

Jersey City, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We spent two nights at the Grand Hotel Tien-Shan recently, and mostly liked the hotel. It's in a great location, it is recently updated, it provides free internet, and the rooms are large, clean, quiet, and pleasantly decorated. In fact, we would probably give it five stars except for a few things. First, the bathroom: there was a constant smell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George K, Director of Front Office at Grand Hotel Tien-Shan, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Stiffn, First of all I would like to thank you that you have find the time and left your comments. Your comment was really usefull for us and as a management we can see the points which needs to improve and fix. Nice to hear that in general you have liked our hotel and as a part of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay