We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel New Akao

1993-250 Atami, Atami 413-8555, Shizuoka Prefecture
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel New Akao
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel New Akao
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    83
    41
    26
    8
See reviews for
121
25
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (194)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Toronto
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night as part of a tour. No major complaints. Location is very scenic. Room was clean and spacious, Japanese style. Beds made up on the floor while we were at dinner. Very nice plentiful banquet style dinner. Welcomed by staff with drinks. There is a small shop in the basement for snacks and drinks. Japanese style... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ホテルニューアカオ, 企画・広報 at Hotel New Akao, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your warm comments about your experience at New akao. We are pleased to know you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the sights of the Spring in ATAMI. We look forward to serving you again soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is quite old fashioned but the facilities are all in very good working order. There is an outdoor Onsen which has the best of views and an indoor Large Onsen pool. The food we had was buffet style and the selection was very diverse from sashimi, fresh crab, vegetables... There is a bus service from the station to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ホテルニューアカオ, 広報担当マネージャー at Hotel New Akao, responded to this review

Thank you,Mr Edward B. I do hope you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to serving you again soon. Have a pleasant journey. More 

Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

One night stay as part of our tour of Japan. Ryokan style room was an interesting experience. The view was spectacular overlooking the ocean. We were able to leave the window open all night with the wonderful sound of the ocean. The Japanese bath was well stocked with towels, soap and shampoo. The restaurant was huge, but extremely dated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

The Hotel New Akao was one of the four hotels that were chosen as part of our 10-day tour package of Japan. We were warmly met by hotel employees with umbrellas! as we were escorted (in the rain) to the nice spacious lobby. Our tour group were given refreshments and snacks while our luggage was being taken to our rooms.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tokyo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

部屋付き、浴衣タオル付き、13:09-17:00の日帰り入浴が3200円。ランチ営業しているレストランもあるし土産物屋のビールも良心価格。穴場だと思います。JPY3200 per person, day use Onsen with all amenities including Yukata. And you can nap in Japanese ryokan style room. Of course, Tatami room!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Most of the reviews are accurate: the hotel is dated and needs a lot of maintenance and repairs. In an attempt to provide a fair review for those interested in visiting Atami, here goes: Pro's: scenery is spectacular. From our room we had a great view of the ocean. We stayed in the higher-end section of the hotel called the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6

Travelers are raving about these Atami hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

First thing its not ”new” they probably named it in the 70s. Once you get over the initial shock of the décor, we are talking plastic roses trellis tunnels and Romanesque curtains from a 80s porno movie. I actually really liked the place gives you a good feels of what the average Japanese folks do for a weekend away. Turning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

every year my husband and i stayed in a onsen hotel..its my second year to write a blog about our vacation.3months ago we booked here in akao.because theres no available onsen anywhere in popular place.i already expect its an old hotel.the location is good and accessible to station,they have their own shuttle bus so its good for us.our room is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This facility is really about being by the ocean. Our room faced onto the ocean and the waves lulled us into a deep slumber. The view is spectacular. The onsen was outstanding, especially the rotemboro (the bath outside). Therapeutic, relaxing and rejuvenating. The japanese style room was comfortable. Nice to sleep on tatami with futons and buckwheat pillows. Too bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I attended a conference here. The facilities and service were outstanding. Excellent food, both western and Japanese. Rooms were satisfactory but not overwhelming, and each had a spectacular ocean view. The public baths (onsen) were a real treat. The grounds were extensive and picturesque, but the outlying grounds were not particularly well maintained. One minor defect is that internet access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay