We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Amsterdam hotels

Americas Best Value Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Market Street, Amsterdam, NY 12010
Hotel amenities
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    8
    7
    21
See reviews for
15
8
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Lanham, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you are hiking or biking the Erie Canal towpath, this is a great place to stay, and you won't have to climb the big hill. The motel is far from new, but recently redecorated rooms are clean and comfortable, and roomy enough to take your bicycles. Reasonably priced - we paid under $70 for our double. The staff is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central CT
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

12 of us in the area to visit family. Clean and spacious room overlooking downtown streets. Microwave and small refrigerator in room were appreciated. Front desk staff very friendly. Plenty of parking outside the hotel. Yes, it's dated but the room was fine. Shower is low on the wall as another reviewer stated so no surprises there. (Water pressure and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebbieN123, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Seabird, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon. Thank you for the nice compliments, we sure appreciate them. Thank you Debra Jezowski General Manager More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are quite outdated. Beds are hard and uncomfortable. Shower heads are very low In Height (only came to my neck). The walls are fairly thin.. you can hear nearby doors shutting and everyone in the hallway. Hearing the trains go by at night was also very annoying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebbieN123, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay here. We strive to make these rooms as clean as possible and are aware that our property needs updating. Our rooms may be outdated but are very clean and inspected on a daily basis. We do the best we can here and are looking forward to a better future with... More

Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was born in this town, and drive back to visit grandparents graves. I stayed here because I was tired and other family had booked rooms. Room smelled of must and mold. Didn't feel clean or well maintained. Overpriced on top of it. Drove over to Wolf Road in Albany for the second night. Stayed at a budget motel (Red... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
latrobe
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Best Value Inn has not improved since it was a Best Western or before that a Holiday Inn. The price has not gone down but the cleanliness and attention to detail has. For a place to put up for a night or two it's competitive but because I've stayed there many times over the years I can compare it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been traveling for a living since 1986. This is the worst hotel room, I have ever stayed in. The room smelled bad. Everything was either broken or on the verge of being broken. The heater was extraordinarlity loud. The was an iron burn mark on the carpet. The towels go back to the Carter Administration. The bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DebbieN123, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience here. No one has ever said they have been sick for ten days and I'm sorry if you were. We are aware that our property needs updating and a new company has taken over since and renovations will be starting sometime this year. Management More

Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife arrived at this hotel on september 1st 2012. To start off, the hotel looks nothing like the pictures. I will say that 20 yrs ago it may have, but not now. It's running down horribly. We were never expecting anything great, heck we werent expecting anything good for that matter. The hotel staff were very nice.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DebbieN123, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you were not pleased with your stay at our property. We are aware that our property does need work. A new company has come in to take over and will be starting renovations soon. At the time of your stay our hotel was booked completly and that was the only room avalible. We do apologize and hope... More

Epsom, New Hampshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hotel elevator does smell like urine and stale cigarette smoke. The room was somewhat clean ,except a rusty tissue holder. The major problem was the train track located about 500ft away kept us awake, about every 45 minutes all night long a train would run by and blow their whistle. I would try staying closer to the highway at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DebbieN123, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are sorry we can not do anything about the train tracks. The elevators have been cleaned and painted, there was a group staying here at the time that was not very respectful of our property. We are sorry that you had to experience that. Renovations to our property... More

St. Catharines, Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I should have checked the room before agreeing to stay. Walking through the hallways was like walking through an ashtray. Even though I had booked a no- smoking room, by the time I got to the room I felt as though I had walked through a cloud of smoke. The air conditioning was extremely noisy. If you have a back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DebbieN123, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay here. We were sold out at the time of your stay and are sorry that you had to stay on floor that was mostly smoking. Renovations will be starting soon and hope that you will stay here again. Thank You Management More

Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is a dump! Do not waste your money. The room reaked, the elevator was shakey, the wifi only worked in the lobby. During the night around 2:00am I was awoken by a big crash, the bedside lamp that was bolted to the wall, fell off the wall. If I was in a king bed, like I asked for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DebbieN123, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not have a good experience here. Reovations will be taking place very soon. Thank You Management More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 10 Market Street, Amsterdam, NY 12010
Location: United States > New York > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Amsterdam
Americas Best Value Inn Amsterdam

8 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay