We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 134 Takayama B&Bs / inns

Ryokan Asunaro

3.0 of 5 Ryokan   |   2-96-2 Hatsuda-cho, Takayama, Gifu Prefecture 506-0008, Japan (Hidatakayama Onsen)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
¥16,200 (JPY)
Save Saved
You added Ryokan Asunaro to your Saves list
Ryokan Asunaro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
87%
Ranked #11 of 134 Takayama B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Cairoluxor Queensland
  • Reviews (56)
  • Photos (66)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just left Ryokan Asunaro after a 3 night stay. The accommodation was excellent staying in an irori room with it's own fire place, more like a suite. This is really why we came to Japan - to have an authentic experience, having spent 3 nights (B&B) and also having had a great dinner upon arrival the hosts ensured... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I think the few negative reviews listed are quite unfounded. First off, as a destination, Takayama is quite a prize. It's a quiet town that understands the value of fine service and hospitality. If the Hida beef and the incredible local sake and beer do not delight you, the Asunaro will with its wonderful home cooked food. This ryokan, decorated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,003 reviews 1,003 reviews
69 hotel reviews
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed as part of an Intrepid trip during December and found the accommodation very pleasant. There are traditional touches throughout. The open hearth in reception with cooking pot created a lovely homely feel. The rooms themselves are large with a seating area which can be screened off. The group onsen didn't look very welcoming. Highlight would have to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hawaii
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

If you are planning to visit and stay in Takayama, I highly recommend Ryokan Asunaro. Located within a 5-8 minute walk from the train station, it is conveniently situated and close to the Sanmachi area as well. This ryokan is clean and decorated with Japanese antiques. It is very foreigner friendly and the proprietress speaks good English. If you want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We went there for 2 nights. Friendly staff, very nice lobby, large rooms it was very pleasant. 10 mn from the train station. Not in the heart of Takayama but not far away. We didńt try the food ( my wife hating japanese food) but they recommended us good restaurants. Not cheap as usual with ryokans (150€/night) but worth the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Massively overpriced claiming it was authentic traditional ryokan and finding out it was a 70's hotel. Photos deceiving. After 18 days in Japan and rating all our stays extremely high we were extremely disappointed with this ryokan and very disheartened as we were looking forward to a ryokan experience in a rural town. Asunaro is located in the more industrial... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
masayoshi.seue, オーナー at Ryokan Asunaro, responded to this review

Dear Helen T. Thank you for staying with us at Asunaro Ryokan and also your valuable feedback on our accommodation. We are very sorry and disappointed to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Takayama is a beautiful city surrounded by Japan Alps, however most of tourist destinations are located in the center of City. (such as... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This ryokan is only 8minutes walk from the bus and train station. It is very traditional...tatami mats, wheat filled pillows, house slippers, hot public bath (also private bathrooms), yukata to wear. Wifi is good. Rooms spacious and very clean? The staff were friendly. It was not inexpensive but it was worth paying a little but more for the experience. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The hotel is in a convenient location , easy to find ,nice atmosphere and super hight speed wifi, staff are very friendly & speak good english . Stay was great ,room is comfort big , expect we have to rush back before 11:00pm ( Japan Ryokan curfew time ) . 😄😄😄

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ajax, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

From the welcoming hosts and traditional meals, Asunaro was our special sanctuary while we visited the lovely town of Takayama. I could not believe how large the room was. Touches such as the tea pot above the fire pit in our room were charming - as well as making for a great photo op. Helpful English guide sheets for bath... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eysines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

a very nice ryokan, very hellpfull guests - not a real fresh and cool atmosphere as we expected because it was in august !!! original japaneese meals (diners and breakfasts) - including japaneese warm bath - just noitice it is not a cheap stay but it worths it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ryokan Asunaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ryokan Asunaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Asunaro

Address: 2-96-2 Hatsuda-cho, Takayama, Gifu Prefecture 506-0008, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryokan Asunaro 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Hotels.com so you can book your Ryokan Asunaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Asunaro Hotel Takayama

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer