We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Okada Ryokan Warakutei

Hotel website
505 Hirayu Okuhidaonsengo, Takayama 506-1433, Gifu Prefecture
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Okada Ryokan Warakutei
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Okada Ryokan Warakutei
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room is a little old dated -- but this is a ryokan style anyway!. The mattress could be better. The hotel management a little too rigid. They do not allow us to check in earlier though we arrived there early (at 11 noon) as the official check-in time is 3pm. We know it wasn't full occupancy on the same day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

The traditional room is badly decorated and it is old. It really needs to be renovated. Besides, the television, the fridge and the electric teapot break all the charm of what a traditional ryokan would be. The bathroom is not in the best conditions, it seems a bit unhigienic. Not confortable with thw price paid (20000 ¥/night). Awful conection wi-fi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
岡田旅館_和楽亭, 支配人 at Okada Ryokan Warakutei, responded to this review

Dear LsRzG Thank you very much for choosing our Ryokan and taking time for write a comments to us. It was Japanese holiday season during your stay with us, and we had an 80 inbound guests at Okada Ryokan main and old wing buildings. In HIRAYU and other OKUHIDA hot spring resort still not have high speed internet facilities. ADSL... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We've stayed at Okada Ryokan a couple of weeks ago as part of our Takayama festival tour and we were unpleasantly surprised by the condition of the bathroom in the room, there was mold in the bathroom, and it really smelled bad, the bathroom looked like it has not been really cleaned for quite some time. We actually used the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
岡田旅館_和楽亭, 支配人 at Okada Ryokan Warakutei, responded to this review

Dear happytraveller_iz. Thank you very much for your comments and visiting to Okada Ryokan. Your important comment has been translated to Japanese and it’s been reviewed by all our managing staff and employees. We are deeply sorry to hear that your staying was not good and disappointed. Near future we will remodeling and change old wing rooms that you stayed... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

A complete pleasant surprise high in the snow covered mountains. A typical Japanese hotel with no bed or furniture just a mat and mattress on the floor. Typical Japanese restaurant where you sit on the floor and all wear kimonos, a new experience. The food was very typical Japanese where you had a "lunch box" with 9 compartments each with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
George_Masu, 支配人 at Okada Ryokan Warakutei, responded to this review

Dear Paulette A, Thank you very much for your comments and visiting to Okada Ryokan. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed stay here in Okuhida resort. Hirayu Onsen located more than 1200 meters height above sea level, with fresh mountain breeze and significant panoramic view from open-air baths. In the winter, you may enjoy beautiful snow freaks... More 

Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Easy to reach by driving. Has ample car park space. Coming from tropical country with no experience driving in snow conditions, we parked the car and went straight to check in. Hotel staff were attentive enough to lift up our car wiper as they anticipated snow that night. Come morning, before we picked up our car, they have already helped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
George_Masu, 支配人 at Okada Ryokan Warakutei, responded to this review

Dear YinMun, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. As you mentioned that OKADA ryokan has an ideal location in aspect of convenience by driving. It is only few minutes from the HIRAYU bus terminal, and there are many direct highway bus from TOKYO, NAGOYA and OSAKA area, and hot springs around the ryokan. There... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question