We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ryokan Meiryu

2-4-21 Nakaku Kamimaezu, Nagoya 460-0013, Aichi Prefecture
Hotel amenities
Ryokan Meiryu
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #31 of 158 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015
Hayley B Daegu, South Korea
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Daegu, South Korea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

My stay was thoroughly enjoyable here. The inn is located just a block from the subway station, the room was very comfortable, the staff was very helpful, and the bathroom was clean with a wonderful hot tub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Watertown, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I loved this Ryokan. Very comfortable double matting (for those who are used to sleeping on ground only when camping) large bath with plenty of showers and very cozy room. The red carpet is not as attractive as some redesigned ryokans, but to me gave it a more authentic feel. The thing that makes this property 5 stars instead of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I booked this place at the last minute. It had been a long day, and I was quite tired when I arrived. This Ryokan doesn't look like much in the lobby, as it and the stairwell are a bit dingy. But, once I entered my room, I felt like I was in a different place. The room was nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Extremely good price for location for the budget traveller who is looking for the tatami-futon japanese ryokan experience. It is family owned and the son speaks excellent english. The rooms are clean, and the very japanese feel really adds on to the experience. It even has a small onsen in the hotel! Location wise it's impeccable; walking distance to kamimaezu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Very helpful staff, not a bad place after all, decent, but wouldn't be my first choice as I stayed in another Ryokan in the same city which was 10 times better. Close to a metro station and some shops and restaurants. I suggest you call or try to book by internet in advance as rooms might get booked quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yamashin, マネージャー at Ryokan Meiryu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay in Ryokan Meiryu. Also thanks for your comment and I am glad you had stayed here comfortably. Many facilities have different tastes, location and budgets and many find them in different ways however, your comment gave me a relief. That shows what we are doing goes well with the majority of guests. Also... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

the outside of this place looked a little run down and the inside wasnt much better but the the staff were incredibly friendly, and spoke pretty good english. there was also free wifi in the rooms which was a bonus. the room itself was a little small but just enough for sleeping in. there didnt seem to be many toilets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yamashin, マネージャー at Ryokan Meiryu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay in Ryokan Meiryu. Also thank you for your comment. We are a bit surprised with your report about the waterline problems. The water line is newly built and we didn't think that could happen. The only thing we could imagine is, we have recently called the plumber for the line work, which possibly... More 

Piaseczno
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
153 hotel reviews
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

First feeling about this hotel from outside isn't good, because from outside it looks liek nothing special. But inside there is different world comparing to outside. Service speak in communicative english without problems. Laundry is avaible also typical japanese meals are served.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yamashin, マネージャー at Ryokan Meiryu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay here and for your comment. We hope your stay was pleasant and comfortable. We are just a basic small ryokan but we do (or at least try to) our best of what we can. Again, thank you for your comment. We look forward to hearing from you again! More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at this Ryokan for 1 night as I wanted to experience the Japanese style room. The property itself doesn't give a good first impression, a little old and could be better maintained (have more of a hostel than a ryokan feeling), but the room is very nice, clean and spacious. The bathroom is shared (one for ladies and one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we traveled around Japan in July 2011. We found this place rather difficult to find as the map from Welcome Inn was not particularly good, so I would recommend making sure you know how to find it! I would second other reviews in saying it's more like a hotel than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We were a little nervous about staying at a ryokan - not sure how it all would fly over with a young one in tote, but it worked wonderfully! We stayed here when we first arrived in Japan - good location by the subway, we were very grateful for helpful staff who could tell us where to go and give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities