We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windward Shores

2062 Montauk Highway, Amagansett, NY 11930
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Windward Shores
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

Spent a long weekend and throughly enjoyed our stay at Windward Shores. The view from our balcony was breathtaking...beach at our doorstep. Grounds and facility are well kept. Staff was very friendly. Perfect location halfway between Montauk and Amagansett. While it was not a problem for us, it should be noted that one bedroom is an open loft served by... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Albanyscotty
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Windward Shores! We strive to offer excellent service and a very well maintained property. Nice to know our efforts were noticed. I hope to welcome you and your family back to Windward Shores Ocean Resort. Kind Regards, Laurie Costello General Manager More 

Ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

We just returned from a long weekend at Windward Shores. Our stay was fantastic! The staff at Windward Shores have the most pleasant manner about them! This is our first time staying here, as we typically frequent a spot in Montauk. We certainly were not disappointed and will be returning in the spring! Thank you to the staff at Windward... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boocat1129
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about Windward Shores! We consider our location to be an excellent alternative to downtown hamlet options as we are seven minutes in either direction to Amagansett and Montauk and in walking distance to several restaurants. I shared your kind comments about our staff members with them and they were thrilled with your... More 

Levittown, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015

We loved this hotel from the white sandy beach to the heated pool and the clean room...the hotel staff was also very friendly. We and our daughter had a great time. Plan to come back next summer!! We have stayed at other hotels on Montauk Highway but liked this one the best.

Helpful?
Thank Jane W
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their time at Windward Shores. I am happy we made such a good first impression, too! My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to Windward Shores Ocean Resort! Best Regards, Laurie Costello More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

Great stay. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our three kids had lots of fun and were never made to feel as if they were being too loud. Look forward to coming back next summer. It is in ideal location for us as we like to explore Montauk, Springs and the town of East Hampton.

Helpful?
Thank tryan5
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure welcoming you and your family to Windward Shores and we look forward to welcoming you back, again, next year! Sincerely, Laurie Costello General Manager More 

New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Hair on the sheets, mice skirting the outisde garbage bins...this establishment is situated on an ideal location and should be updated and cleaned to maximize its potential. Staff was friendly but when complaints were made about the hair on the sheets and in the shower no compensation or apologies were given.

Helpful?
Thank bripatbren
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

This is the very first time I am responding with the following message. It's up to the folks at tripadvisor re posting this response. This review is from a disgruntled guest who wanted to cancel their reservation in June because it was raining. They posted a false review in June. Now, they are posting again. Note: One review under another... More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

Stayed last weekend and really enjoyed it. We had an ocean front studio that was nicely appointed with a functional kitchenette. Very clean and exactly what was needed. The beach service for towels and chairs is very convenient, and the location is great.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for your time re posting a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time at Windward Shores. Our top priority is to ensure a positive guest experience here. On behalf of Team Windward, we so appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Windward Shores Ocean Resort! Best, Laurie Costello General Manager More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

First time here in the summer, could not have been better! We stayed here last fall and decided that we would return. The sun was out the entire time, the beach crew was kind enough to inform us that the tide would be coming in so they would be setting our chairs back a bit since we planned on staying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia315845
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit to Windward Shores. I am so pleased that you had such a nice time with us again. I shared your valued comments with our staff members. On behalf of Team Windward, I look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards, Laurie Costello General Manager More 

Rye brook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We stayed 4 nights in an oceanfront duplex with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, and deck. The view was spectacular. The resort is beautifully landscaped, and immaculately cared for. The outdoor pool is heated which is a huge plus for the grown ups. Hotel employees are extremely helpful. You don't have to bring anything, as chairs, umbrellas, and towels... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit to Windward Shores. I am so pleased that you had such a nice time with us again. I shared your valued comments with our staff members. On behalf of Team Windward, I look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards, Laurie Costello General Manager More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

Third time back and still pleasantly surprised . the first thing I noticed was the landscaping. Its just so much more vibrant then it was last month , very impressed with how lush it all looks.(most places on the "stretch " are dunes and rocks , some trees, flowers and plants ). The front desk as always was very courteous... More 

Helpful?
Thank rose_0124
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer feedback re your recent stay at Windward Shores. I am very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look to welcoming you back on your fourth return visit! Sincerely, Laurie Costello General Manager More 

huntington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

A friend recommended this place. We usually stay in Montauk, but can't stand the noise and congestion there any more. The room - "studio" we had was lovely and absolutely immaculate. Pool and beach are both incredible as are the staff members. Front desk staff were so nice and helpful. I think we found our new go-to!

Helpful?
1 Thank nyc10004
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Windward Shores. I am delighted you consider us to be your new "go to" place in the Hamptons! On behalf of Team Windward, we look forward to the occasion when we can welcome you back. Sincerely, Laurie Costello General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
0.5 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#4 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 42 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#9 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
5.1 mi away
Oceanside Beach Resort
Oceanside Beach Resort
#14 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay