We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windward Shores

2062 Montauk Highway, Amagansett, NY 11930
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Windward Shores
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Windward Shores
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    14
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hair on the sheets, mice skirting the outisde garbage bins...this establishment is situated on an ideal location and should be updated and cleaned to maximize its potential. Staff was friendly but when complaints were made about the hair on the sheets and in the shower no compensation or apologies were given.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

This is the very first time I am responding with the following message. It's up to the folks at tripadvisor re posting this response. This review is from a disgruntled guest who wanted to cancel their reservation in June because it was raining. They posted a false review in June. Now, they are posting again. Note: One review under another... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed last weekend and really enjoyed it. We had an ocean front studio that was nicely appointed with a functional kitchenette. Very clean and exactly what was needed. The beach service for towels and chairs is very convenient, and the location is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for your time re posting a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time at Windward Shores. Our top priority is to ensure a positive guest experience here. On behalf of Team Windward, we so appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Windward Shores Ocean Resort! Best, Laurie Costello General Manager More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time here in the summer, could not have been better! We stayed here last fall and decided that we would return. The sun was out the entire time, the beach crew was kind enough to inform us that the tide would be coming in so they would be setting our chairs back a bit since we planned on staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit to Windward Shores. I am so pleased that you had such a nice time with us again. I shared your valued comments with our staff members. On behalf of Team Windward, I look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards, Laurie Costello General Manager More 

Rye brook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights in an oceanfront duplex with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, and deck. The view was spectacular. The resort is beautifully landscaped, and immaculately cared for. The outdoor pool is heated which is a huge plus for the grown ups. Hotel employees are extremely helpful. You don't have to bring anything, as chairs, umbrellas, and towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit to Windward Shores. I am so pleased that you had such a nice time with us again. I shared your valued comments with our staff members. On behalf of Team Windward, I look forward to welcoming you back! Kind Regards, Laurie Costello General Manager More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Third time back and still pleasantly surprised . the first thing I noticed was the landscaping. Its just so much more vibrant then it was last month , very impressed with how lush it all looks.(most places on the "stretch " are dunes and rocks , some trees, flowers and plants ). The front desk as always was very courteous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
huntington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A friend recommended this place. We usually stay in Montauk, but can't stand the noise and congestion there any more. The room - "studio" we had was lovely and absolutely immaculate. Pool and beach are both incredible as are the staff members. Front desk staff were so nice and helpful. I think we found our new go-to!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Windward Shores is in a perfect spot. Not in Montauk, but close enough and the rooms are well furnished and have everything you need to cook. (If you want). On that subject, you are within walking distance (Montauk Highway) of two great seafood restaurants, Clam Bar and Lunch. There is a great looking pool, which we did not use and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to share your good experience at WIndward Shores with folks at tripadvisor.com. We strive to make all of our guests' stays enjoyable ones, and it's good to know we succeeded in achieving that end with yours. On behalf of all of the staff here, we hope to have the occasion to welcome you back... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm currently sitting on the patio of our beautiful studio apartment here at the Windward Shores. It's an over cast day here but my partner and I are sooooo enjoying ourselves. We walked out of our patio door this morning. And immediately heard the roar of the ocean on the otherwise of the dune. As we stepped on the pathway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
107 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

I stayed here in May for a wedding we went to in Montauk....and I left my diamond ring in the bathroom...yikes!!! The cleaning staff found it, turned it in, and the front desk held it until friends were able to stop by 2 weeks later and pick it up. I thought it was gone for sure. Everyone was very nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Just back from a quick getaway to Montauk and decided on this hotel because it was on the beach and relatively inexpensive. The drain in the shower had 1/4" thick old dried hair perhaps from last season. There were hairs around perimeter of shower stall and bathroom. My friend who stayed upstairs discovered her pillow covered in hairs so slept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I know you wanted to cancel your reservation as it was raining and did not wish to take us up on our offer to extend a full credit for a future stay, but to write a review like this just plain wrong. What you saw was A MOLE. Folks with lawns everywhere can appreciate what... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
0.4 mi away
Ocean Vista Resort
Ocean Vista Resort
#4 of 6 in Amagansett
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#9 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#5 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay