We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Alexandria Bay hotels

Bonnie Castle Resort

Save Saved
You added Bonnie Castle Resort to your Saves list
One Outer Holland Street, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
Hotel amenities
Bonnie Castle Resort
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Alexandria Bay
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria Bay
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    27
    11
    15
See reviews for
21
50
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Overall, I have to say I was kind of disappointed. The room we stayed in was pretty dated and although it wasn't "dirty" it really didn't feel clean either. We were at the end of the hall by an exit door so all night and all early morning, the door was slamming shut and it woke us up several times.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at Bonnie Castle, I apologize that we did not meet your standards and you did not enjoy your stay. We are striving to rebuild Bonnie Castle, and although we are not there yet, we have accomplished so much. I will be sure and share your experience at the Pointe restaurant with the manager and... More

Welland, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time here- hotel was clean, beds comfortable, service fantastic and friendly. We had a bit of a problem with the Internet being slow and sometimes not connecting but that is a minor problem. The food in the beautiful dining room was delicious and the portions very generous. The wait staff were terrific, friendly girls and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Bonnie Castle for your anniversary. We appreciate your business and your comments, we are moving in the right direction and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank You Christine More

Brockport, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a last minute visit. This time trailed our 20' boat to enjoy the islands. The hotel has been so beautifully remodeled! We had a standard room and it was way above standard. The restaurant was also redone and the food was delicious and the service excellent. Could not have been happier. One last plus, Boat launching and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on Bonnie Castle. We appreciate that you noticed that we are improving Bonnie Castle Resort. We are hopeful of making Bonnie Castle one of the best Destinations in the Thousand Islands. We are a very unique property that sits on the best location on the the River, best views and best ambiance anywhere. Thank you... More

Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 4 years ago, and they have done a fine job at updating the rooms. We vowed last time to never stay here again, but now the rooms are quite nice, and we were happy with our stay. We were only supposed to stay one night, so we checked out. When we decided to stay another night, there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit, we are glad that you gave BC another chance from your previous experience. We are striving to overcome the old BC and make it a Bigger and Better Resort, Thank you for noticing that we are moving in the right direction. Hope to see you again Thank You Christine More

Peru, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Poor service, terrible food, the place is falling apart. Where are all of the renovations??? Stay away. A whole lot better is right next door! I have seen a terrible location deteriorate to horrendous over the span of 6 years. Bulldoze and start all over.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Michael, Thank you for your recent stay at Bonnie Castle. We are disappointed in your comments, perhaps you would like to call me so we can further discuss your visit. We aim to make sure every customer is satisfied with their stay. Thank You More

Rochester, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been coming to Alex Bay for many years and have stayed at The Bonnie several times. The Summer Package for two nights is a great deal, especially when you choose a Riverside room, and includes tax and tips. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious with a wonderful view. We have stayed at both the other "resorts" but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

THANK YOU so much for your recent stay at Bonnie Castle. We truly appreciate that you can see the beauty and ambiance that Bonnie Castle has to offer. We have the best location in all of the Thousand Islands and we aim to please. Love that you consider us the Best of the Three Big Guys.. Thank You Christine More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to Bonnie Castle's final brunch of the season with my partner and a friend. Unfortunately it seems as though their brunch is not yet quite ready for "prime time." Pretty basic and tired (waterlogged peel-and-eat shrimp, wilted garden mix salad from a bin at Price Chopper, only the most basic breakfast items such as graying scrambled eggs, overdone bacon,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Manor House Restaurant for our Brunch. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the food, we do put only the freshest foods out on the Brunch and we take pride in all of it. I will speak to the banquet manager to let him know of your experience and we will be looking... More

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place is a dump. The check-in location is charmless, the rooms are dated beyond belief and any moving part (door handle, window, plumbing) is loose and coming off in your hands. The hallways are scary with carpeting that looks filthy. It literally looks like it's falling apart. As for the room furniture--avert your eyes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your concerns on Trip Advisor, Please know that the owners took over the facility two years ago and have accomplished so much already and we do know there is more to be done. I disagree that we are crumbling down, as a matter of fact we are building up and becoming a... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The bed was so comfortable that I would have rather liked to take it home with me... the jacuzzi tub was lovely after the long drive and walking around all day. The room and bathroom were clean and well taken care of. The ladies at the desk were all wonderful and very friendly. We had a wonderful time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Bonnie Castle. We are pleased that you noticed the upgrades that we have made to Bonnie Castle. One being the new plush beds and linens, we have been told many times from our guests how much they enjoyed their nights rest on our new beds. We hope that you will choose Bonnie Castle... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just came back went for the weekend. Highly recommend grounds were wonderful with perfect boldt castle view!! Food was amazing!!! Lamb and lobster to die for!!! Minor mishap in our room handled professionally and timely!! Rooms were dated but didn't spend much time in them beds supper comfortable and everything clean!! Live music and great friends and a wedding proposal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christine P, General Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments on Bonnie Castle, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is nice to hear the positive, we appreciate it very much. Hope to see you again. Thank you' Christine More

Do you own or manage Bonnie Castle Resort?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bonnie Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie Castle Resort

Address: One Outer Holland Street, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607
Location: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Also Known As:
Bonnie Castle Hotel Alexandria Bay
Bonnie Castle Alexandria Bay

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay