We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

4.0 of 5 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    178
    54
    30
    37
See reviews for
55
358
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (519)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (152)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (99)
All months
Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Purchased a grab1 deal for the Mangosteen and were a bit apprehensive about the deal but all for nothing. It is a beautiful resort and in a really quiet location. The rooms are spacious and although they could do with a bit of a face lift, are still very comfortable. The pool is great and we spent many hours of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Don't be put off by the road up!!! Once you get to the hotel, it is clean and the staff are more than welcoming! The meals are a mix of western and Thai, extremely reasonably priced and very nice (thai snapper is gorgeous!!) All the trips you could want can be arranged at reception or you just lounge by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Last year we went to the Mangosteen for the first time and loved it so much that we bought the holiday time share package. This year I can say that the resort is still as beautiful and the staff are still as friendly. This place is a tranquil paradise in the middle of Rawai. But....and it kills me to admit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhuketMangosteen, Owner at Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, which I believe is a very positive one. You love the resort and you still do so, having had a great time here in Phuket. Let me assure that we give highest priority to members in terms of service and of course also during the reservation process. Your membership by the way is... More

rothwell,brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a lovely resort but that is about as far it goes service at this resort is the worst I have ever had in Thailand and quality of food for this resort does not met the standards they are trying to achieve for the level of the resort they want. If you want to walk 5 to 30 minutes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhuketMangosteen, Owner at Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review

It seems the fact we are offering very low priced promotions, sometimes attracts people who normally are not used to 5-star quality accommodation. They think everything is expensive at such a resort because they are not used to it and make the big mistake to compare with some street side shops. We are not trying to be cheap! The Mangosteen... More

Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Mangosteen on a scoopon like many others, we were skeptical as we read the reviews and as we have been to Phuket many times and stayed in various accomodations we were intrigued as to how we would see the resort, it currently isn't a 5 star, which was confirmed by our resort representative Lee on the day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Picton, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first impression is concern as the taxi/limo takes you through an overgrown rough road almost better suited to 4wd..high fences and no lighting.. Scary but fear not.. Up the road is the Beacon of Mangosteen. The staff are super friendly and very welcoming if overwhelming after an international flight. The rooms/cottages are beautiful. I can't fault them. The bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recenty returned from amazing Thailand with only the fondest of memories and had the time of our life at the beautiful and peacefull Mangosteen Resort & Spa.We were particularly impressed with the efficiency with which our reservation, transfers and all ad hoc requests were handled not to mention the many special touches we experienced - floral decorations on our... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhuketMangosteen, Owner at Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your amazing review and of course for staying with us and becoming a member. We are constantly striving to further improve the facility and service, so when you come back, things will get even better. I do hope you will come to visit us next year. Thanks again! More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been traveling to Asia for over 30 years and staying at all levels of accommodation. This place has the worst ever mozzie problem. They didn't fog the week we were there and going by the size of the mozzies they haven't for a good time. They are very aggressive insects. i sat outside the room one evening 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PhuketMangosteen, Owner at Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review

We are fogging twice a month, having a regular yearly contract with the pest control company, normal standard in Phuket. Mosquitoes are normal in a tropical country and fogging will never eliminate all of them. The number of insects can be reduced by fogging but obviously there will be always some left, especially during sunset. If you really hate them... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to this resort for our 35th wedding anniversary and it was a perfect choice. We arrived at our room (more like a private chalet) after a warm welcome at the reception. We had upgraded to a suite with stairs and at first I was concerned about running up and down them as I had hurt my hip earlier... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhuketMangosteen, Owner at Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review

Great to read your fantastic review, thank you so much. Very nice indeed. I think it really speaks for itself, so the only remark would be: We did purchase an acrylic cover for the pastry bar, thanks for the hint. Actually, after reading your review, I went to check and it was already there. :) Please come back again and... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my husband stayed at the Mangosteen resort for our first year wedding anniversary and we were so happy with our choice. This was a quiet resort down the south of Phuket, there is not much nightlife and a very quiet area but perfect for a relaxing getaway for a week if your a couple. About an hour taxi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhuketMangosteen, Owner at Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa, responded to this review

You are most welcome to come back, thanks for your "sweet" review! I like the word "sweet resort", obviously as we promote our place that way. Honeymooners welcome! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa

Address: 99 / 4 Moo 7, Soi Mangosteen | Tambon Rawai, Rawai, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Rawai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mangosteen Hotel Rawai
Mangosteen Hotel Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort Nai Harn
Mangosteen Resort & Ayurveda Spa Phuket/Rawai

579 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (296)
Viewed
Room/suite (63)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (54)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (245)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Jacuzzi Villa (44)
Viewed
Family Jacuzzi Two Bedroom Suite (89)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
Superior Garden Villa (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay