We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 419 Kathu B&Bs / inns

The Palm Retreat

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   231-233 Palmsquare, Rat-U-Thit, Pee Road | Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Palm Retreat to your Saves list
The Palm Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
68%
Ranked #166 of 419 Kathu B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014
Jack A Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed two nights, after arriving at a 1:00am flight, then New Years Eve. We were looking for a place to crash, and this was it. The rooms were ok, beds comfortable, location good. We couldnt hear any of the traffic or street noise which was good! If you are looking for a cheap place to put your head, then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff Spacious room Entrance in back alley was not appealing No breakfast/cafeteria, which we would expect for 3 stars No lift (five levels) Small window, so not much light coming in

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel room was clean & cosy, & the staff were friendly & helpful with our enquiries. The hotel is also conveniently located at the heart of Patong area - just a stone away from Junceylon mall, Patong beach and Hardrock cafe. The only disappointment was its WIFI connection. Count us unlucky or what, there was no connection throughout our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Palm Retreat is located in the heart of Patong, walking distance to the beach, shopping mall and Bangla road. Plenty of restaurants to dine around, fantastic location and will recommend this hotel. Simply because the staff is extremely friendly and very helpful, excellent management and very good service, well maintained big rooms, with a safe deposit locker, mini bar, ironing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked a 4 night stay over at this hotel as the location stated in booking.com showed it was convenient to get around Jungceylon and Bangla Road. First pain, we drove around and the taxi driver couldn't find fit. He had to call the reception and they told him to stop opposite Holiday Inn Resort. Well, on the web there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vimal13, Owner at The Palm Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We value your comments and will do our best to improve on all the issues mentioned by you. In regard to the mattress, I guess its a matter of individual choice as we never had any complain from any guest in the last two years. Thanks and Warm Regards Vimal Vij Managing Director The Palm Retreat Group More

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

First, they placed us in a room on the top floor meant for more than 2 persons, right next to the generators. The room was so warm, the AC wasn't working and they told us there was no other room available. So fine, we thought we'd give it a while for the room to cool down and we went out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
vimal13, Owner at The Palm Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest We understand that you had faced certain issues during your stay, we sincerly apologies. However, would like humbly state that some times we all face issues with electrical items like AC, we always try our best to fix AC as early as possible but some days are unfortunate. We have now tied up with an agency who will... More

Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It is a good overnighter to go when you are drunk. Its just a small motel. Towels had stains on it which i was not impressed. Internet speed was fast when it worked. Staff were helpful. I would not repeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

First off no elevator. Torture going up and down those stairs. Took staff 2 days to change light bulb in bathroom. Shower didnt work and they refused to fix it. Dirty towels and bathroom. Would never stay here again. If by some horrible chance you found yourself staying here, avoid the 5th floor at least. It's more motel than hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Would not recommend. Out of the way hole in the ground. Should have done more research. Give 1.5 stars. Surrounded by construction noise. Will never come here again. Patong in general is a cesspool. Can go out on the street with out being hassled by locals for taxi or ping pong sex show.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vimal13, Owner at The Palm Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We understand that you have been disappointed due to construction on a new hotel opposite side and construction on the main road and you have also posted photos. Let me clarify that the construction on the road is due to new pipelines been fixed by local authorities and the new hotel construction will be completed by end... More

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Although hotel was small, my stay there was fantastic. The room was clean and modern furnishing and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is good as there were alot of Halal food places around so it was easy for me to find food. It was only about 5 mins walking distance to Jungceylon and Patong... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Do you own or manage The Palm Retreat?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Palm Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm Retreat

Address: 231-233 Palmsquare, Rat-U-Thit, Pee Road | Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palm Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Palm Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm Retreat Phuket, Thailand

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Palm Retreat

Enlarge Map