We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merlin Beach Resort

#41 of 297 Hotels in Patong
Certificate of Excellence
5.0 of 5
Hotel website
99 Muen-Ngoen Road, Tri-Trang Beach | Patong, Kathu, Phuket, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Merlin Beach Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just returned to Australia from a fantastic 10 day trip to Thailand. This was my 4th visit to Patong Beach, Phuket and decide this time having a 3 and a 6 year old we would stay at the Merlin Beach Resort, out of the hustle and bustle of Patong Beach. On first arriving we were quite disappointed with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deeando
Nilai, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My short getaway here was absolutely awesome. Although the resort is a bit far from Patong beach, but the amotsphere here is nice. My daughters enjoying their stay here. Big pool, many activities, kids club. Can relax near the beach. Tuk Tuk or the resort taxi only 300 Bath.

Helpful?
Thank syaizalah
Methlick
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our first visit to Thailand and yes we had a great time.. One or two things though really did bring down what we thought was a great hotel.Mini bar was not used as we were All inclusive .... The food was good a lot better than we imagined ... Weather fab very hot but high humidity but we were warned... More 

Helpful?
Thank liz19592015
Surin L, Manager at Merlin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for posting this review and it is great to learn that you have a great sea view room and enjoyed staying. Thank for your compliment on resort facilities, it is a great reward for all of us. We do hope you will be able to come back Yours sincerely, Surin L More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had an enjoyable holiday at the Merlin and it's hard to fault the hotel, there are though some annoying issues which I will come to. The hotel is about an hour from the airport and its hidden in a very peaceful and secluded location with what is to all intensive purposes a private beach as the hotel grounds surround... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon W
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff mostly really friendly and helpful. Room was lovely, clean and modern, swimming pools were gorgeous. It wasn't all perfect but we thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks at the Merlin Beach Resort and didn't want to come home! Driving up the hotel was a bit of a shock as there was nothing but building sites around us so would've been... More 

Helpful?
Thank NatalieBrand
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The resort was brilliant - lovely beach behind hotel which we went too daily where there was a little bar (cheap drinks) lovely to sit and take in the scenery! Also had a massage on beach (much cheaper than in hotel ) , also the little tiger cafe was brilliant on the beach great Thai food and so cheap !... More 

Helpful?
Thank ash h
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our two-week stay - most importantly weather was perfect. A few comments: The free wifi was surprisingly good, kid enjoyed Netflix in the room at night and no issues with poolside music streaming. Two iPhones and one Macbook had no issues, while our iPad for some reason sometimes needed a reboot before bringing up the authentication page again.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ToffenDask
Surin L, Manager at Merlin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay and experience at Merlin Beach Resort, it is very informative and useful to all perspective visitors. Thank you for sharing your amazing experience of Merlin Beach and we sincerely hope we will be able to greet you again. Yours sincerely, Surin L Executive... More 

Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1. Our problems started before we even got to the Hotel. This was our 4th visit and a month beforehand we asked to stay in the Terrace Wing overlooking the River pool. We also queried a room upgrade - but all we got was an offer to spend an additional AUD $100 per night for a swim-up room - which... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Peter R
Surin L, Manager at Merlin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, Indeed, a disappointing review but more so for us to realize you did not enjoy your stay with us as planned. Apologies for any inconvenience or misunderstanding over the room request issue on your arrival and please be assured that we will look into our reservation responding and confirming to ensure that the request is clearly confirmed. Other... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In summary we don't recommend this place and wouldn't stay here again. Staying here at the moment. The hotel is dated as are the rooms and I think I'd describe it as more of a 3 to 3.5 star resort. Staff are not friendly. The beach is ok and the pools are good. Examples: Staff look miserable and unhappy and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank MaryandAdam
Surin L, Manager at Merlin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for stay with us and provide the feedback of your stay, it is quite disappointed to learn that our guest totally did not enjoy their stay us. However, we feel that it is so important for our guests to tell us how we are performing either poorly or well as it is only through this type... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We picked Thailand because of the beautiful weather and were not disappointed. The Hotel is in a beautiful bay away from Patong, which is really seedy, but somewhere to see at least once! The Hotel is clean,big, beautiful and with the most happy, kind and helpful staff. Our bedroom was of a high quality. We were on the top floor... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Heather P
Surin L, Manager at Merlin Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Great review! Thank you, sincerely! Great to read of your experience of staying with us and thank you for making us proud of our efforts to make our guests’ stay a memorable and pleasant experience. Thank you for choosing Merlin Beach Resort and please let us know when the time comes if we can be of any assistance... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,817 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1285)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (325)
Viewed
View from room (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (213)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (258)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (340)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (518)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (58)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (10)
Viewed
Pool Access Room (63)
Viewed
Pools (88)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (71)
Viewed
Superior Room (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patong
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Phuket Patong
0.0 mi away
Patong Merlin Hotel
Patong Merlin Hotel
#56 of 297 in Patong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avista Hideaway Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.9 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 297 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 3,182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay