We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses

Hotel website
Koh Kai (Chicken Island) | Chiew Larn Lake, Rachaprabha Dam, Surat Thani 84250, Thailand
Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    7
    0
    5
    14
See reviews for
7
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

This must have been a great place once upon a time. Unfortunately its time has passed, particularly for the tree houses and the "old" raft houses. Our experience at the Tree Houses was one star. The food was reasonably good and plentiful and the staff was helpful. The maintenance and material condition of the Tree Houses was very poor. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greenwoodtravel, employee at Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with Tree Tops Jungle Safaris. As Tree Tops is surround by nature, we try our best to keep our tree houses up to date and insects-free. For our tree houses we use real trees to make our customer's experience more realistic and becoming one with the nature. If you weren't... More 

Putten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We went for 2 days to the raft houses. The nature is just outstanding beautifull. And thats the only positive thing to say about Tree Tops. When we arrived from the night train and arrived at the pier to take the boat to the houses we were told that we would leave in 10 minutes. We had to wait more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Surat Thani hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

This was my first visit to Thailand and I had no expectations. We wanted a taster of the jungle and opted for Khao Sok due to its close proximity to Phuket. We booked Treetops online because it seemed to offer a good range of experiences for a very good price. The resort arranged for a transfer from Phuket town -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

It was a good experience. Very beatifull in the Khao Sok National Park. The Treep tops bungalows were clean bit a bit scary beacause of the power went off for like 4 hours. But the view on de floating bungalows made everything good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Tree Tops Floating Bungalows - Khoa Sok Lake My friend and I were the only guests at the floating bungalows during our stay. The bungalows were fairly basic but OK. The amenities were on the land and up a short hill but very good, clean with tiled floors with shower. The basin for shaving & cleaning teeth is located adjacent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We planned our whole holiday around this experience and we were so excited about being at one with nature and seeing the gorgeous Khao Sok.... it didn't quite work out that way! Tree tops is old, dirty, ghost like, smelly (of cats) place where not only is the chef the driver he is also the baggage boy! The Manger was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were looking so much forward to the so called Rainforest Experience - it turned out to be the worst experience ever. Tree Tops is a dirty, ´ghost-like´, moldy place with absolutely no charm or atmosphere. Food is almost not eatable, the rooms are terrible and smell of mold and hardly any of the tours you are promised to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greenwoodtravel, Employee at Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses, responded to this review

What clients booked for and what they expect is sometimes not the same. Most of our clients enjoy the natural settings and find a real tropical rainforest experience. We are sorry that we cannot please all our clients and we will try harder in the future. More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

After 10 previous trips to Thailand, this has be the most disappointing of all. The rooms were horrible, the cook was awful: our first meal was macaroni drenched in tomato ketchup. Suffice to say, the cook was a better driver. The trips (elephant trekking, walking in the jungle etc) could all have been arranged by ourselves, for a fraction of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greenwoodtravel, Employee at Tree Tops Jungle Safaris - Raft Houses, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear this is your most disappointing trip ever in Thailand. If you are not happy about the room at the moment, you should inform the reception and would change you to other room. We do everything to keep our clients satisfied. The meals are simple and straightforward, you should not expect a luxury meal when you're... More 

Roskilde, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I wish that someone had warned me before I went there!!!! Worst “tour” experience ever! The staff only spoke 3 words of English "Wait, 10 minutes". Those 10 minutes usually turned into several hours. Complete disorganization and lack of any planning by the staff. They would drive us somewhere where there weren't enough seats in the car, so we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paisley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed at the raft houses - basic does not describe the accommodation - read instead dilapidated, and no sign that much needed maintenance is likely to be carried out. Add to that, the fact that sullen and lazy staff who would rather smoke "non-branded" cigarettes and sleep all day than communicate with or provide guests activities promised or details about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surat Thani
0.0 mi away
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
#4 of 8 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
#2 of 8 in Khao Sok National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#3 of 44 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#5 of 8 in Khao Sok National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khao Sok Valley Lodge
Khao Sok Valley Lodge
#2 of 45 in Surat Thani
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
Khao Sok Tree House Resort
#4 of 44 in Surat Thani
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities